We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriage celebration.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Save Saved
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off suites
Ranked #6 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Marine on Saint Croix, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Marriage celebration.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The perfect place to celebrate our marriage. Just what we love, hiking during the day, black tie dancing in the evening. Understated elegance with scenery and weather to die for. Funchal is a Throwback to the British Empire with many customs and way of life intact. Plenty to do in the city yet secluded enough to miss out on the noise. The gardens are spectacular, semi tropical with attention to detail. If you are looking for an out of the beaten path experience to call your own, this is the place.

Room Tip: The suites with a sitting room are perfect, get one overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    57
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
104
369
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It's truly 5-star luxury hotel, but it's also a very traditional 5-star.

The service was very good and almost perfect, swimming area with gorgeous view and relaxing area by the cliffs which are to die for. Breakfast was lavish, did not try their afternoon tea, it does not seem to offer anything special. Hotel offered you 4 selections of pillow, but it doesn't seem to offer the features it say tho, still it's nice to have something different than flat standard pillow. The housekeeping was top notch, every day we come back we feel like home cause they tidy the place so well.

However, it's just that the guests staying there could be quite unfriendly. Some folks seemed to have some sort of entitlement and definitely give looks to you when you don't fit into their "profile"
We are late 20's, definitely would be considered the young crowd. Every morning at breakfast, the guy next to us with his wife give us very bad look, and stared at us in unfriendly. One particular gentlemen in the concierge was quite like this, and show unwillingness to help me (as an Asian) yet was very helpful to my husband (Caucasian) on the exact same issue. But this was very exceptional case, everyone in the hotel was actually very very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

What more can you say - The Best High Tea in Madeira. Delicious sandwiches, lovely cakes, multiple choice of teas. Just perfect. Waiters all very smart and guests all dressed up. Simply perfect and a nice view from the 'tea terrace'. Only problem if you arrive too early you are restricted where you can go. But read the English newspapers in the lounge to pass the time. Advance booking required!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Reid's Palace in April and it was a wonderful experience from afternoon tea on the terrace, cocktail parties and sumptuous dinners to the opulent Flower Ball. Expensive but well worth every penny!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great services, food and ambience. The two pools were warm or warmer and the wind was blocked from where you sat. The spa was terrific and my husband and I were able to have some private time in our own outdoor hot tub.

Room Tip: We were situated (5th floor) so that we could walk right out our back door to two chaises (that were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a ten day holiday in Madeira and stayed the last three days at Reid's Palace.
What a wonderful occasion - we had a top (9th) floor room in the old part of the hotel, overlooking the pool and Funchal.
Everything magical about such well known and historic hotels comes true at Reid's. Elegant, friendly service, great food, lovely pool and rock swimming area, delightful gardens - we even managed a couple of games of snooker.
Afternoon tea on the Terrace is a definite must.
Couldn't be better. Here's hoping for that Premium Bond to come up so we can go again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I went to reid's to celebrate my 50th birthday following a recommendation from a relative so I had extremely high expectations of the hotel, staff and service. Everything about the hotel surpassed even my high expectstions. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were treated like royalty and as though we were the only people in the hotel and the most important. There is nothing at all i could criticise about the hotel. It was spotlessly clean, the staff were the most curteous you could ever meet and genuinly nice. From the booking they clearly noticed my birthday so on the Saturday I had champagne and flowers delivered to the room. The flowers were beautiful. Then, following our dinner the most delicious cake arrived along with the band playing happy birthday. Such a lovely gesture.
The food was outstanding with an excellent variety to chose from and with very satisfying portions.
You simply cannot as for more from any hotel. I would recommend everybody visits Reid's at least once within their lifetime!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orient Express, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.