We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too bad weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
merchtem
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“too bad weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We did book a week at the Reid's Palace .in Funchal last week of April.
The hotel is nicely situated on a cliff at a 10 minutes walk from Funchal city center, in a spectacular garden due to the special climate of Madeira .
The hotel itself is of the old palace style , a bit old-fashioned with antique furniture , pictures of all the famous guests who stayed there: service is perfect; the champagne breakfest rooom has a spectacular view towards the sea ; there is also a Cipriani restaurant in the grounds of the hotel where we had very tasty diner and the buffet for lunch at the swimming pool isperfect .
After 5 days of clouds and rain we left 3 days ahead of our stay because of the weather after seeing all the gardens , museums and churches of Funchal

Room Tip: I suppose all the rooms have see view ( not sure )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    63
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
111
407
25
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We thought a lot about staying at the Reid's -firstly because of our 4-months old daughter, secondly because it is so very expensive, thirdly because the hotel's faded glory and service might not be worth it's price...
We didn't need to be worried: this is a spot on old style/ old class luxury hotel with dedicated, very friendly and helpful staff.
They even sent my sunglasses home to us after we had left/lost them in the hotel!
Everybody made us feel very comfortable and at ease with our baby and instead of getting any angry or worried looks from either staff or the (mainly very old) guests, everybody was very friendly to us and almost happy about the baby.
She took her first swims in the heated pool and Mummy&Daddy enjoyed the beautiful gardens and delicious cocktails on the terrace with stunning views over the port and the sea or inside the bar area.
Breakfasts were a feast and included everything you could possibly wish for ( even Champagne and/or Bloody Marys).
Everything is very well taken care of and we quite liked the faded old glamour of the hotel which is not surprisingly part of the Orient Express group.
This is a charismatic old Lady, who is very friendly and not arrogant at all, and beautiful in a real way, without any plastic surgery. This makes her very real and loveable and you like to hear and live her story.
Even though staying at the Reid's is very expensive indeed, we did not regret but had an absolutely lovely time and would like to thank all the staff for being truly exceptional.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were not hotel residents but attended the dinner dance at Reid's as a treat to finish off our holiday in Madeira. Can't fault it. Great fizz, appetisers, meal, band, ambience, service. My partner had not taken a tie on holiday so the charming Hotel Manager selected the perfect one for him. A truly special evening was topped off by a tour of the hotel and garden by another charming gentleman who I believe (excuse me if I am wrong) was the maitre d'. Thank you all for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very professional and helpful staff, pool great with wonderful view of the ocean, close to the city centre and even though semi formal attire is required for the dining room, it is worth it to enjoy the food and Brisa do Mar restaurant on the cliff is amazing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I are in our early 30s so probably my fault for booking a trip to an island that caters to a much older crowd without researching it. Still, the hotel looked amazing on the edge of the cliff, so I booked it. Quick rundown:

Pros
1. Views of the ocean
2. Service when we checked in- got there at 10am and were told our room wasn't ready, which we fully expected... They told us to wait on the beautiful terrace where we had drinks and snacks on the house! Nice touch given we were the early ones and waiting was no fault of theirs. Plus the food is very pricey so saved us about 25 euros.
3. Cipriani restaurant was delish with amazing views and service!

Cons
1. Concierge and pool service was really spotty, from indifference to annoyance coming from most of staff. Concierge was not helpful, like pulling teeth to get info for what we wanted to do.
2. Hotel is very very old fashioned... Some people love this but we didn't. It bordered on feeling like a retirement home, complete with very musty odors and a bridge room! Again just not our taste and my fault for booking it, but be aware if you even remotely like modern, this likely isn't the place for you

In general, Madeira was not our cup of tea, would much recommend Capri or Santorini for an island in Europe but it was okay. Didn't feel authentic to Portugal, rather felt like a British island for a very specific age group. Don't mean to offend but just my take on it as I want others to know what you're in for since we didn't research enough!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to 762 which was nice sized with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This really is an old-style luxury hotel with none of the stuffiness you might find in similar ones. Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful. The pool area has a wonderful outlook over the sea. We didn't pay for an upgrade, just opting for the standard 'Charming' room. We were given 728, which is certainly not large but beautifully appointed, with room for both cases. It has two lovely armchairs looking out through the French doors, but it has has to be said, we found them 'snug' - and we're not large! The bathroom is also lovely. However, the really fantastic thing about this room (and the one next door 730) is that it has an amazing terrace, which is bigger than the room. It faces east so is bathed in morning sun, which makes it is possible to spend the morning sitting there enjoying the view over the harbour where the cruise ships are berthed.
If I were to make a criticism it would be that the Afternoon Tea is not good value if you are staying in the hotel. If you are not, then you do get the opportunity to see at least some of the lovely public rooms and sit on the famous balcony. However, the lucky guests can do this all the time.
We didn't notice much formal wear around although the older guests were less casually dressed for breakfast than you might expect.
I do hope this hotel is successful in attracting the younger age groups to keep the tradition of staying at this historic hotel alive for many more years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haynes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We go to Reids every July for 14 nights, and have the same room. Everything is just right. The staff are freindly & helpful.

The main dining room (jacket required) is magnificent. The open air restaurant Brisa do Mar is on a high cliff overlooking the Atlanic, Funchal Bay and fantastic sights of Funchal. The breakfast in the Garden Room Restuarant with massive windows has an excellent choice with every imaginable item you could want, buffet style + options cooked to order. The only negative in the whole of Reids is the awful sausages for Breakfast, and Mainland Europeans putting towels on loungers before 8 am (can you guess which Nationalty most of them are ...?). The good thing is, the pool attendants move the towels if they are there for very long. The pool atendants move the loungers for you and change the position of the sun shades as the sun moves round. The Pool Side restaurant has a fantastc Dinner buffet on a Saturday. The Villa Cipriani, an Italian themed restaurant, next to Reids, is built on the cliffs. The Afternoon Teas on the Balcony are legendary, sandwices, cakes, scones. Choose the Great Affordables package, which includes 3 Dinners + an afternoon tea per week of stay. The other days, you can go to some of the fantasic restaurants where the locals eat, the specialites being Espada and Espetada.

We are going again this year.

If you like noisy brash places, then stay away from Madeira. There are some truly dreadful hotels on Madeira, especially to the West of Funchal. As Sir Henry Royce of Rolls-Royce said, "The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten", = "You get what you pay for".

Driving a hire car around the Island is easy, much better than mainland Europe, the locals drive well.

The conclusion - If you like great qualty in beatiful surroundis and freindly but unobsequis staff, then go to Madeira and stay at Reid's Palace.

Room Tip: All the rooms aree excellent and overlook the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.