We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sadly we could not afford to stay at the luxurious Reid's hotel but we did enjoy a fabulous afternoon tea there. We had a brief stroll around the gardens and hotel and it was beautiful. Perfect afternoon tea with great service. A real treat which i heartily recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    72
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
122
463
28
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The unexpected upgrade to a junior suite was just the start of week of pleasant surprises. The whole week was about attention to detail. My travelling companion and I enjoy being pampered and this is just one of the pleasures at Reids. Staff are obviously very well trained and we were given everything we asked for. Breakfast is sumptious with real tea leaves in the pot... I know!

The general manager was visible each day and spent time with the guests. I guess it will appeal more to the over 40ies, but who cares? Concierge was extremely helpful and well informed. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Pay for the best room you can afford, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Leaving Reid's tomorrow sadly after a fabulous week staying in this heavenly hotel. Staff so lovely helpful without being intrusive nothing too much trouble . Food superb from breakfast to dinner dance , the champagne buffet was gorgeous still full the following day and when they say the champagne keeps flowing until you say 'no' they mean it!
Worth upgrading for the best room you can afford views are stunning
Have stayed in 5 star before but this is simply the best
My traveling companion suggested a slogan ' Reids the hotel that always says 'yes' ,sums it up really

Room Tip: Junior suite well worth it sea view a huge plus too. Didn't use the spa so can't comment sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

An amazing hotel in one of the best location in Funchal. Great views, excellent service - good old days standard, amazing pools and direct access to the sea. I also tried the spa and liked very much. Keep in mind you have o take a suit for the formal dinners, business casual for lunch and shorts for the pool.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Amazing views, great service
We did not stay here but went one evening for cocktails which was a real treat
The views over the ocean are fabulous and the service was excellent
The decor could do with updating- although it is grand it is not as breathtaking as you would expect- some places looked a little tired

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Reid's Palace in Madeira has a long history of Royalty and celebrity patronage - it was one of Sir Winston Churchill's favourites - The memorabilia on show is fascinating
Afternoon Tea was a good as expected and on a par with The Ritz in London and the Waldorf Astoria
The grounds and views are amazing and the old world charm well worth the high price of staying and eating here
A "must" when you are in Funchal !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have visited Reids twice before for afternoon tea and dinner in the Italian but not to stay it was supberb, one cannot fail to be impressed by the opulance of the decor and surroundings.
As a treat for my wifes 70th we stayed for a week in march.
Whilst most of the facilities could not be faulted the gym is very poorly equipped. Staff,rooms and service were fantastic sheets changed daily towels galore for sun beds and swimming.
However what should have been an outstanding holiday was spoiled by minor niggles such as, cold hot food and drinks at breakfast even when ordered rather than buffet,and our major disappointment we booked a table for the champagne dinner on my wifes birthday, this takes place in the main dining room which will seat up to 300 people, there were about 20 people dining more staff than diners by 10pm we were the only people left the event should have been cancelled, we had requested a birthday cake which we would gladly have purchased but were told the hotel would provide one when it arrived it was a 6in sq sponge with one candle.
This experience completely ruined my wifes birthday. In general the whole atmosphere in the hotel was non existant so be careful to check that this is the type of hotel you want to stay at.
Go to the Castle House hotel in Dingle if you want really good food and a 6 star friendly holiday better rooms for a quarter the cost.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so it is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Belmond, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.