We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in all respects” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Experiences
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Superb in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Reid's Palace in Madeira has a long history of Royalty and celebrity patronage - it was one of Sir Winston Churchill's favourites - The memorabilia on show is fascinating
Afternoon Tea was a good as expected and on a par with The Ritz in London and the Waldorf Astoria
The grounds and views are amazing and the old world charm well worth the high price of staying and eating here
A "must" when you are in Funchal !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    61
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
110
400
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have visited Reids twice before for afternoon tea and dinner in the Italian but not to stay it was supberb, one cannot fail to be impressed by the opulance of the decor and surroundings.
As a treat for my wifes 70th we stayed for a week in march.
Whilst most of the facilities could not be faulted the gym is very poorly equipped. Staff,rooms and service were fantastic sheets changed daily towels galore for sun beds and swimming.
However what should have been an outstanding holiday was spoiled by minor niggles such as, cold hot food and drinks at breakfast even when ordered rather than buffet,and our major disappointment we booked a table for the champagne dinner on my wifes birthday, this takes place in the main dining room which will seat up to 300 people, there were about 20 people dining more staff than diners by 10pm we were the only people left the event should have been cancelled, we had requested a birthday cake which we would gladly have purchased but were told the hotel would provide one when it arrived it was a 6in sq sponge with one candle.
This experience completely ruined my wifes birthday. In general the whole atmosphere in the hotel was non existant so be careful to check that this is the type of hotel you want to stay at.
Go to the Castle House hotel in Dingle if you want really good food and a 6 star friendly holiday better rooms for a quarter the cost.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so it is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

+ Majestic location with amazing views at day and night time
+ Wonderful wellkept and inviting garden
+ Excellent breakfast selection and courteous staff
+ Clean rooms with balcony, confortable beds, and well equipped bathrooms
+ Free parking
+ Magnificient afternoon tea
+ Well-equipped gym and beautiful spa facilities
+ Beautiful pool and lounge area

Cannot be faulted at all. Friendly staff throughout. Clearly best choice for a stay in Funchal. Would recommend whole-heartedly to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Afternoon Tea is a wonderful experience at Reid's Palace. We were made to feel very special by the lovely staff. It is a formal but not stuffy occasion in luxurious surroundings.
The ever so fresh sandwiches and scones were excellent. The cakes a little disappointing.
A definite treat.

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albenga, Italy
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I used to work for Orient Express several years ago. When we decided to go to Madeira we immediately looked at Reid's Palace. We stayed only 4 nights during February. It was faboulous!
In the world there are many luxury hotels but some of them are truly special because they represent the history of the destination where they are located and their service is simply a step above the other five stars hotels. Well, Reid's is all that. It perfectly embodies the mission of Orient Express with classical comfort, romance, class, luxury. From check-in to to check-out staff were all very professional and service minded, from Nelia @ reception, to the chambermaid, the lady at the boutique and the lady maitre d' at breakfast. You feel they are going the extra mile to please you but they do it genuinely and that makes the difference. The room we had was nicely decorated with charming views on the gardens and the harbour. It was not new (like many parts of the hotel) but it was so well cleaned and maintained that it was perfect for us. All the amenities you expect were there...and much more. The class of little details (such as slippers, menus, flowers, etc.) was superb.
Breakfast was the best (together with the one of Verdura Resort) we have ever encountered. The tea in the afternoon an experience you cannot miss. Their formal dining room is open only twice a week in winter time. We left at 4.00 am on Sunday and I regret we could not enjoy their gala dinner on saturday. I hope we can go back to Madeira one day and stay again at the best hotel on the island.

Room Tip: Push the boat out and chose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Escaping from the snow in Ireland to the warmth of Madeira was like entering another world! This along with the luxury of Reids made it a very special holiday. It is virtually impossible to fault this wonderful hotel. We had a splendid room with superb views from our balcony over the sea and Reids beautifully tended gardens,The staff were friendly, courteous and very efficient without being intrusive, Breakfast was a superb choice of fresh and beautifully cooked foods and also highly recommended are the pool side restaurant and of course Villa Cipriani, a short stroll from the hotel,
Reid's airport transfer service was really convenient and once again staff couldn't do enough to help us.
If you are visiting Madeira treat yourself to a break in this amazing hotel....you won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We returned to Reid's Palace for another birthday holiday at this wonderdul hotel.
And once again we were not disappointed. Cannot fault it for attention and helpfulness of the staff.
Weather glorious, as per usual I think. Lovely view of the gardens and sparkling sea from our roomy balcony. Pampered in their superior spa - birthday treat not to be missed.
This time around I didin't leave the hotel due to mobility problems but now know Reid's offer morning yoga/pilates classes and other harmonous activities so no chance of being too
bored. Looking forward to another birthday there - loved the cake with candles and
champagne and flowers to help us celebrate, what could be more special.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.