We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous - Just Do It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now to Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Dublin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Gorgeous - Just Do It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Afternoon Tea is a wonderful experience at Reid's Palace. We were made to feel very special by the lovely staff. It is a formal but not stuffy occasion in luxurious surroundings.
The ever so fresh sandwiches and scones were excellent. The cakes a little disappointing.
A definite treat.

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Albenga, Italy
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I used to work for Orient Express several years ago. When we decided to go to Madeira we immediately looked at Reid's Palace. We stayed only 4 nights during February. It was faboulous!
In the world there are many luxury hotels but some of them are truly special because they represent the history of the destination where they are located and their service is simply a step above the other five stars hotels. Well, Reid's is all that. It perfectly embodies the mission of Orient Express with classical comfort, romance, class, luxury. From check-in to to check-out staff were all very professional and service minded, from Nelia @ reception, to the chambermaid, the lady at the boutique and the lady maitre d' at breakfast. You feel they are going the extra mile to please you but they do it genuinely and that makes the difference. The room we had was nicely decorated with charming views on the gardens and the harbour. It was not new (like many parts of the hotel) but it was so well cleaned and maintained that it was perfect for us. All the amenities you expect were there...and much more. The class of little details (such as slippers, menus, flowers, etc.) was superb.
Breakfast was the best (together with the one of Verdura Resort) we have ever encountered. The tea in the afternoon an experience you cannot miss. Their formal dining room is open only twice a week in winter time. We left at 4.00 am on Sunday and I regret we could not enjoy their gala dinner on saturday. I hope we can go back to Madeira one day and stay again at the best hotel on the island.

Room Tip: Push the boat out and chose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxuryhotelsdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Escaping from the snow in Ireland to the warmth of Madeira was like entering another world! This along with the luxury of Reids made it a very special holiday. It is virtually impossible to fault this wonderful hotel. We had a splendid room with superb views from our balcony over the sea and Reids beautifully tended gardens,The staff were friendly, courteous and very efficient without being intrusive, Breakfast was a superb choice of fresh and beautifully cooked foods and also highly recommended are the pool side restaurant and of course Villa Cipriani, a short stroll from the hotel,
Reid's airport transfer service was really convenient and once again staff couldn't do enough to help us.
If you are visiting Madeira treat yourself to a break in this amazing hotel....you won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We returned to Reid's Palace for another birthday holiday at this wonderdul hotel.
And once again we were not disappointed. Cannot fault it for attention and helpfulness of the staff.
Weather glorious, as per usual I think. Lovely view of the gardens and sparkling sea from our roomy balcony. Pampered in their superior spa - birthday treat not to be missed.
This time around I didin't leave the hotel due to mobility problems but now know Reid's offer morning yoga/pilates classes and other harmonous activities so no chance of being too
bored. Looking forward to another birthday there - loved the cake with candles and
champagne and flowers to help us celebrate, what could be more special.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birthdaygirlWare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, Surrey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

On our last Funchal visit, TA had Reid's ranked 2nd after Hottel Albergaria Dias. We then went for the small family hotel option at the far end of the old town and loved their relaxed and wonderfully friendly atmosphere. This year, en route to Porto Santo (another first) we decided on the other end of the town and the other end of the hotel luxury scale. You can tell the key Reid's clientele at the airport - they're the ones with bright sand-coloured slacks, a nice blazer or tweed jacket and even a cravat. The photos in the multi-various days rooms of the rich and famous of the past 100 years in their suits and ties, and the dress code requirement for one of their restaurants might seem off-putting for casual easy folk like us and we feared some down nose looks. Not at all - we we treated as royally as royals. Arriving very early on the classless EasyJet flight, we were greeted with a smile and an extensive tour of the facilities, followed by complimentary coffee on the famous tea terrace while our room - upgraded from our cheapest option to one with balcony facing the pools and the sea and harbour beyond - was being prepared. We dined at the adjacent Italian restaurant but Reid's breakfast was to die for. Sadly our departure on the second morning for Porto Santo was too early but the night porter had prepared a freshly made take-out breakfast, had given us two very gentle wake-up calls and, like all staff we met, seemed genuinely interested in our well being. The perfect hotel for a few days pampering and it's obvious that everyone is made welcome. In true Alex Polizzi style, the management and staff of Hotel Porto Santo need to come here for a day and learn how it should be done!

Room Tip: As the hotel was not full, we were upgraded to sea view, which even for two nights, was probably wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinylman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I returned to Reid's after a break of approximately 15 years with some trepidation. Would it be as wonderful as I remembered it, and would my teenage daughter appreciate it? I needn't have worried. We had a perfect three night stay in a superior room with a beautiful view of the sea & across to the harbour.The weather was pleasantly warm & mostly sunny. The staff were simply outstanding - warm, friendly & anticipating our every need. There is an overwhelming choice for breakfast & we had lunch each day by the pool in the sunshine.
Our room was so comfortable - crisp pure linen sheets & we requested the aromatherapy pillows, so our room smelt heavenly when we returned each evening.
The spa is as good as any I've experienced. I tried the Haven of Peace two hour treatment & floated back to the room!
Thank you Reid's for a memorable stay. My daughter is already asking when we are returning - soon I hope.

Room Tip: The Garden Wing rooms enable easy access to the pool & Garden room for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GardenerCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were treated like Royalty from entering the hotel to leaving a week later. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were most helpful and obliging at all times. We would love to come and stay longer next time. Enjoyed the champagne breakfast everyday, and the stroll through the gardens each afternoon. Totally relaxing.

Room Tip: room 312 or 314 ideal value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BerylSBirchington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
1.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Belmond, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing