We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Reid's Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Reid's Palace
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 20%
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Reid's is simply beautiful in every respect. A lovely, elegant, comfortable hotel, beautiful gardens, spacious rooms, outstanding service and a perfect setting. Certainly one of the very best hotels I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: The ninth floor rooms have wonderful views over Funchal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    69
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
118
443
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I went at the begining of October with my mother. The staff are as usual so kind and courtious. Reids is really a place where every day troubles simply melt away. A real retreat when life is busy, and frenetic.

Room Tip: Get a room in the old wing, much more atmospheric, with charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Gerente geral at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your contribution to this forum.

I am delighted to read that year after year, we have been able to deliver the expected service and hospitality, from a grand dame hotel. For sure your kind words would reinforce our desire of always doing more and better, never sitting on laurels of the past.

With best regards from the island of flowers and eternal Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed in many wonderful hotels all over the world, but Reid's has to be in the top 3. The sevice, all the faclities, the gardens all make this a very special place to stay. We should have spent less time on the Portugal mainland and more time at Reid's on Madeira Island.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I visited Reid's Palace in late September for vacation. We stayed at the hotel three nights before departing to Porto. Overall, the property is beautiful and the majority of employees are polite and attentive. A few things that stood out (both good and bad):

The Good
- The saltwater pool at the the base of the cliff is amazing. I've never experienced or seen anything like it. We only had one good day of weather, but this was the highlight of the visit.
- Everyone we met at reception was outstanding. They are informative, welcoming and a pleasure to be around. LIkewise, the bartender and piano player were both great.

The Bad
- Our room (and our floor for that matter) were warm compared to other areas of the hotel. Our bed was two Temperpedic twins pushed together rather than one king or queen. The two twin beds coupled with a warm room made for sleepless nights.
- A few Reid's employees were less than friendly. One pool attendant and one restaurant server were standoffish. These were exceptions to the rule overall.

Reid's is a large property with a good bit of history. We were lucky to stay there. Not good or bad (more of an FYI), the crowd skews a bit older and the hotel can be very formal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExperienceManager, Gerente geral at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience in this forum. Your feedback is much appreciated.

I was glad to read that you have enjoyed our pool area and the great team we have in general.

We also have king size beds in the hotel and once we would be informed in advance we could have allocated such a type of room and mattress. The quality of sleep is of high importance for our us and our guests, reason why we do have sealy matresses specially designed for Orient - Express.

Reid's is definitely a multigenerational hotel, with space for all the ages. The demographics would vary on the time of the year. The only formal venue we have is the two events on the main dining room that we reinforce jacket and tie, or tuxedo, for the gentlemen, although it is not compulsory and you will have another 3 options to dine in the hotel. All the rest is smart casual.

Once again many thanks for your visit in a nice place to stay.

With best regards from the Pearl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Most of the Cruise Ship tourists elbow for space for "tea at Reid's" but a very good light lunch with one of the best views in Funchal can be obtained on the terrace of the Cocktail Lounge without prior booking. This is very good value for a luxury hotel - better than the more substantial meal at the poolside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived at Reid's following an exhausting few weeks. It is a grander hotel than we usually pick but it was everything we wanted -- service was exceptional. We found the restaurant a bit too formal but that was no probelm as there were lots of good pleaces to eat just a cock's stride away. Breakfast was to die for! A remarkable place and strongly recommended for rejuvenation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The most marvelous hotel at the outstanding part of this amazing island . Exciting views from the room balconies. Very helpful staff, smiling, friendly and sincere. Strong Housekeeping team: the room was perfectly cleaned and tightly groomed. Absolutely nothing to complain on. Take a chance to visit this miracle!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Reid's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.