We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of X Tonel Restaurante

X Tonel Restaurante
Estrada Monumental 188-lj 17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
291 773 247
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 432 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: On the road out of Funchal towards the former Football Ground
Dorset, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Small but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Well situated opposite Reids Palace this little restaurant is quite a find. We were unable to get in for an evening meal as it was always full , however we were lucky at lunch time. The menu is quite unusual in its mix of local and "British" fare and is reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    45
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

You need to book to get a table in this tiny restaurant and for a very good reason - the food is excellent and good value too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“The food is good if you are prepared to wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went with some friends. Admittedly the place was busy but an hour's wait for the main course after giving the order was too much. The fish was good when it came ( I think we all had fish) but by that time all of us were beginning to lose interest. Perhaps a little more explanation for the delay would have helped the hungry diners or was it a ruse to increase the bar bill!
Am I being too critical? Try the place and judge for yourself

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Recommended by travel rep we were lucky they had a table that evening on my birthday. We opted for a mixture of local and British cuisine and the assorted vegetables were cooked perfectly. Great service added to the whole experience. We were only there for a short break but will be back if we ever visit Madeira again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best meal in two weeks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were surprised at our random choice proving to be such a good meal! The fixed menu options were limited but all were terrific choices.
The vegetable soup, sorbet, entree and dessert were lovely, but the hit was the plate of six different vegetables to accompany the main. We were delighted to find such an assortment and so thoroughly enjoyed our evening, we booked to go back again tomorrow night before we leave! Great place in a lovely city.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed X Tonel Restaurante also viewed

 

Been to X Tonel Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X Tonel Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.