We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antonio's

Antonio's
Rua da Casa Branca, 39, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #361 of 420 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Portuguese, Pub, Pizza & Pasta, Gastropub
Restaurant details
Oulu, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not very impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Even if I’ve read several positive reviews from this restaurant, I personally had a not so very good experience. Actually the personal was not at all polite, as they normally are in Madeira, but kind of showed a bad temper. They seemed to be in a big rush, even if we were almost the only customers. We only went there for a small lunch with a paint of beer, but the price was quite high comparing to the value. With the feeling of not being welcomed we were not happy at all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Smallest pizza in the town...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were here at one evening and both took a pizza. Taste was quite ok, but pizza was very small. My pizza was also little bit burned. On the other restaurant in the city a "small pizza" were much bigger than regular pizza at Antonio's.

Waitress also forgot to bring my coffee. Not so nice experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“They call it pizza, but”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a quick lunch. We were only customers at the end of lunch time. The food was terrible: the 'pizza' dough reminded us more of quiche or something, there was no tomato sauce and the 'salami' was something I did not recognize. For two small pizzalike pies, a beer and a water, the bill was 26,5 euros!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rip-off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We called here for a drink and a sandwich one lunchtime. When the bill arrived I could not believe the charge for the beer, we were charged 2.95 euros for a 30 cl glass of Coral which according to my calculations would make the cost of a litre 9.83 euros. I would expect to pay this sort of price in a five star hotel not in some back street place. Needless to say that during the course of our visit no one else came into the bar or restaurant, obviously other visitors had read the comments about the rip-off prices being charged. This is one place we will not be going back to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Porto, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food in Lido”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Used to visit this restaurant many years ago with my parents and went back recently with my other half.

Food is fantastic and very good value for money.

Stuff used to be more, but the crises effects it but the quality is still GOOD AS ALWAYS !!

BEST STEAK ON THE STONE IN THE AREA !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Madeira, Madeira Islands
 

Been to Antonio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.