We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the price for bread” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antonio's

Antonio's
Rua da Casa Branca, 39, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #363 of 422 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Portuguese, Pub, Pizza & Pasta, Gastropub
Restaurant details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beware the price for bread”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not very impressed with food but two bread rolls with our meal cost 4 euros and we didn't eat one of them because they were horrible. Would not recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beware of the drink prices!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The food was okay for the price. It's true what they say- you get what you pay for so wasn't expecting fantastic quality food.

The shock of the night was when we received the bill and discovered that my vodka and orange cost €5.90!! It was in the smallest glass, I had to question if there actually was any vodka in there as neither myself or my husband could taste any, and it was mixed with (flat) fizzy orange rather than fresh orange juice.

I would definitely not go back and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food ok but....rats!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stopped by for a late lunch, looking specifically for some grilled sardines. They arrived, and were ok. But, while sitting overlooking the patio below, several rats came out of a drain, obviously familiar with the place and scouting for food. We told our waitperson, and she acknowledged a distaste for rats, but no further action was taken. So, we would definitely not return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice, to repeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

An excellent restaurant with good food, and a great space. The staff are awesome and very helpful. It is not expensive. Drinks cames in large bottles, and food is served in generous amounts. It is a good restaurant that I have to repeat. In the menu is displayed several types of food and we are tempted to prove each one! Everything seems soo good!! Absolutely recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First and last visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Trevor n echoes our thoughts exactly regarding the quality and value of the food served here. This was our first visit to Antonio's, and also our last.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antonio's also viewed

 

Been to Antonio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antonio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.