We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Xarambinha

Xarambinha
Largo Corpo Santo 29, 9060 Funchal, Madeira, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
291 234 777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 452 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We ate here last night and ordered the Chili Pizza and the seafood risotto! My husbands pizza really had far too much meat and cheese in it - the texture was very "gluggy". Also with no hint at all of any Chili! My seafood risotto was okay however probably not enough. Red wine was nice though. When we arrived we were given two glasses of Madeira on the house. Which was nice. However, the table next to us received complimentary glasses of what looked like Limincello (of which we would of preferred). However, by the reception they got from the waiter they were definitely regulars. We noticed some people had ordered steak on a hot "slab" - looked nice. Would we go here again whilst here? Probably not - there is so much to choose from in that restaurant area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    15
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pasta perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Nice location by the church and we didn't get harassed to go in, and this is always a good sign. Although it doesn't look much as you aproach; the tables are outside are all a bit plastic looking, the meal is a whole lot better. The four of us all had different pasta dishes for lunch and were more than happy. The waiter was very helpful an directed us to his favourite restaurant for a vey good meal. This quality of this restaurant has been confirmed by reviews on Trip Advisor. We had complimentary homemade Poncha which was far superior to anything you can buy comercially. Don't be put off by the look of the cafe style exterior - the food is what you are going for

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agder
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My Funchal favorite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Xarambinha served us our best meal during our Funchal stay! I had tuna steak, my husband beef steak on the hot stones. And it was the only really good tuna meal I had on the island - thick slice, and I could then have it as carefully heated as I wanted (all other places, includung expencive ones, served thin slices fryed to un-eatable condition!).
Nice staff, reasonable prices, good location in a quiet street close to Porto Santa Maria - what more could you ask?? Highly recomended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great variety of pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good location just round from our hotel Porto Santa Maria,did a great pizza and very reasonably
priced with a large selection of toppings,usually we got a take away after a few drinks later in the night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Location, Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great food, great location, friendly staff. In old town. Great for people watching. We were not rushed and had a drink first and then ate. Fantastic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xarambinha also viewed

 

Been to Xarambinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xarambinha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.