We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub grub.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Rua do Favilla 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-021, Portugal
(+351) 291 764 370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 420 Restaurants in Funchal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pub grub.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Had evening meal,very handy after being out all day and convenient next to the hotel. The food was the usual pub grub nothing special. Staff friendly enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    65
    51
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Handy pint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Called in for a quick pint on our way back to our hotel.
Quick service typical pub wouldn't eat there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What Can I Say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Have been going there for 10 years and loved it until last year and what a disappointment. Last year meal was terrible and staff slow.

This year was on a Weds night when no boss around and you could tell. Service was terrible and well the food ?

I love Maderia Tomato with onion soup & egg, I have it ever night in Maderia and doing so for the last 10 years so I do know my soup

This soup have no egg just bread crumbs and if I didn't know better it tasted like tin soup

The Maderia Beef Steak was ordinary with no sparkle

When we came to leave we had the bill and paid but had no free liquor like we always had.

All the other restaurants we went for the rest of the week we had liquors after our meal.

The next day speaking to a couple who went there the Monday night had cake and liquor after their meal. So if the owners ever read this ask the staff why on that night the 25 June 2014 we and no other person was offered this. Think because the boss not there they couldn't be bother

So we won't be going there again as its a pity because it used to be a lovely place and we always looked forward to going but all the old staff has gone and the new staff just don't care so sorry but bye bye

Also the price was the highest all week

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice cold beer, average pub food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had lunch here, very average , my wife had a lasagne that tasted "vinegary?" I had Scabbard fish that, to be honest, could have been any white fish.
Service was so-so, but, for a meal and two drinks each for 40 Euros, can you expect more?

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Visited this restaurant many times over the years and we are always sure of a warm reception and efficient service. The food is of good quality if not exceptional. There is an enclosed and partially covered garden area if you prefer eating outside. Inside, apart from the dining areas there is a large bar area if you just want a nightcap or pre-dinner drink.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.