We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wines and accommodating to vegetarians” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PVP-Pao Vinho e Petiscos

PVP-Pao Vinho e Petiscos
Rua Simplicio Passos de Gouveia, 24-28, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
291768460
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 411 restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic wines and accommodating to vegetarians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A brilliantly run restaurant and wine cellar. They accommodated amazingly with bespoke vegetarian dishes for my strictly veggie husband, offered fantastic and affordable wine selections for us when eating at the restaurant, and invited us into the cellar when visiting the shop the next day. Brilliant service, fantastic old school charming waiters.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    91
    47
    19
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visit this restaurant regularly when staying in Funchal and are never disappointed. There is a wide choice of food and it's always good whether at lunchtime or evening. The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and the service is excellent and nothing seems to be too much trouble for anyone. Nice to see that locals as well as tourists use this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is about the 5th visit to the same restaurant, over 2 holidays. We were attracted to it in the first place because we saw from afar that there were locals dining there, and a whole famiy was having a celebration in the open area of the place. On the last occasion, I had the dried bacalhau, which came roasted in olive oill, tomatoes, onions and peppers, and it was very substantial. Previously, I've had delicious fish risotto, and meatballs with linguine on another occasion, They will cook you a meal exactly as you want it. The menu is extremely comprehensive and very reasonably priced. Plan on £20 each for lunch, including a cheap starter and a glass of properly bottled wine. They have their own wine cellar next door.They're open from midday to midnight, every day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

One of a kind in Madeira and Funchal for that fact. Excellent for those sunny days, as it offers a nice enviroment in the outdoors and has also plenty of seatings inside for colder days. Lunches and dinners served. Great quality, rapid service, wide choice from menue, and at lunches every meal can be ordered in half portions, which is handy if you wantto have a light lunch!
In addition is a a bottle/licour shop, where you can get all the info in madeira wine. Pleasnt atmosphere and close to many hotels.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Price Great Service Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were recommended this resurante by friends in Maderia, and it was a recommendation well founded. We were after a quick and not large meal. The waiter recommended a small steak. The steak turned out to be a not so small sirlion stake much bigger than that usually served in UK. It was cooked exactly as we asked for it with chips and salad. Service was quick and effeient, as my wife was going to a fado show across the road at the Edenmar, and wanted to catch the begining of the show. We would have used this resturante again except for the fact it was our last weekend in Funchal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PVP-Pao Vinho e Petiscos also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira

Been to PVP-Pao Vinho e Petiscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PVP-Pao Vinho e Petiscos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.