We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quantity rather than quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Londres

Restaurante Londres
R. Carreira 64A, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 420 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Woking
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quantity rather than quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We ordered sardines as a starter, which were very good, but there were too many. It cost 9 Euros, and we would have been happier to have paid half the price and had half the quantity. I then had the Chef's steak - a greyish lump of meat with cheese, ham and a fried egg, accompanied by soggy chips, all barely lukewarm. The waitress did her best and got the meal reheated, but it still wasn't very appetising. My husband had fried cod with onions, which was better, and we had a very good bottle of wine. It all cost nearly as much as the Mozart, but wasn't a patch on that meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    90
    24
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“be wise to the big portions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Popped in to have a lunchtime meal. I had lambs liver and onions and my wife had the fish of the day. As many have said the portions are far too big for one person and is quite off putting as you struggle to eat all the food. However, what the locals do is to order one dish and share between 2. Best option if you both like the same food. Alternatively, what we did was to ask for the food we did not eat to be packed for takeaway which they were more than happy to do.
Service excellent. First time a waiter has shook my hand on arriving and leaving. Very friendly too. The only let down was that the veggie was very bland, otherwise it would have earned 5 stars. I had the salad which was a much better choice and was nice. Overall to be recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Feeling like a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Down to earth restaurant where you will be surrounded by local people, had peppered steak which was delicious, lovely side of salad and plenty of chips, owner and staff very attentive, would recommend if you don't like a formal atmosphere, husband liked the added fact that they had a television with a football match on and another television with the travel channel on, the sound was turned down so did not offend, good choice

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not for Weight Watchers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Busy but welcoming. Large helpings of comfort food at good prices. Main courses tended to be chips with meat (or fish). The surprise was two really excellent desserts, a passion fruit pie (a delicate mousse on a biscuit base) and bread and raisins pudding (an enormous portion but delicious). A good choice for small purses and large appetites.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Busy with locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Down to earth, basic and honest. Have lunch here whenever we are over. Great value and fresh food. Used by the locals, never been in the evening, but imagine has it's regulars.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Londres also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurante Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Londres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.