We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Kind of Music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante O Violino

Restaurante O Violino
Rua D Carlos 1 | No 36 9050-041, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
291223670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 421 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Restaurant violino can find us in the Old Town (Funchal), near the ski lifts, and the "Almirante Reis" park, overlooking the sea and a car park near our place. Enjoy!!
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Kind of Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Evening meal with my wife and daughter. Excellent service good food and friendly people.Thank you and see you next year. Say Hi to Nydia who greeted us every day when passing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    55
    17
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Terrible food, and The service was even worse. Lied about prices, so we payed more than The menu said. If you complained, The staff was just not caring at all, like they were tired of/used to it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice lunch, good service, good choice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I were walking around Funchal and randomly picked O Violino on our first day in Madeira. We enjoyed a delicious lunch. I had the dorado and my husband had the risotto. The service was very good and while we chose to eat inside the restaurant, we still had a view outside of Funchal and the Cable Car.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable and Very Good Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had been on a trip to the Nuns Valley, when our bus dropped us off near to this restaurant.

We are glad we chose it, as it was very good. My husband and the toasted cheese and ham sandwich and I had the toasted steak sandwich. They were both very good.

The waiters service was very good also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Ate here a few times at mid day and always pleased with the welcome, courtesy and quality of food. A decent outlook and a reasonable price completed the picture.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Violino also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurante O Violino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante O Violino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.