We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still offers great food and service - and they have softened the decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Osteria

L'Osteria
Rua Casa Branca, 63, Funchal, Madeira 9125-117, Portugal
+351 291 768 358
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 421 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Colchester, UK
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Still offers great food and service - and they have softened the decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We last visited two years ago, returned a few days ago and are pleased to report that the owners have retained their high standards. They did not have the wine we chose from the menu but the one recommended (Marques de Borba, from Alentejo) was excellent. Three of us ordered the mango with shrimps in tomato tartare to start followed by an excellent mixed fish of the day. As before, a little more imagination is needed here - as elsewhere in Funchal on the cooking and presentation of vegetables (boiled is the default). Also the creme brulee on the fruit salad does not quite work. Plain fruit salad would be much better.

Service was again excellent starting with the friendly welcome from one of the owners, who remembered us from two years ago. The little snacks, cake, and drink in between course were also excellent. All in all, another highly enjoyable evening. Will we return? Absolutely

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    111
    37
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This restaurant is not the most attractive from the outside but is comfortable and plainly set out inside. There is a reasonable menu choice and the food is well prepared and cooked. Whilst not top gourmet standard this is nevertheless a very good tourist restaurant and represents good value. The staff were friendly and efficient and complementary madeira was appreciated. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A hidden gem not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Visiting Madeira with friends who go there regularly we were lucky enough to draw on their past experiences when dining out. This restaurant is one of their favourites and now we know why. From the friendly welcome to the cheery goodbye, nothing is too much trouble. A complimentary drink while browsing the menu was a very nice and welcome touch. The menu has enough choice to please everyone and everything we had was delicious....only empty plates were returned to the kitchen! Their extensive knowledge of wines means you will only be provided with the best to accompany your meal, and a complimentary taster-size glass of a different daily 'cocktail' is provided while you rest awhile before leaving. There are meat, fish and vegetarian choices on the menu, all with a different twist from the routine restaurant meals, as are the bread with dips and spreads that are provided while your meal is being prepared. Being winter, no-one sat outside and the atmosphere was nice and intimate, but there is plenty of room for more diners. Just prebook and then you too will not be disappointed, and I am sure that once you've been, you will return.
L'Osteria is on the Rua Casa Branca,No 63, which is a small hill opposite the Eden Mar Hotel. Check out the map and even if staying in the center of Funchall it is worth the short taxi ride.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Maureen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This is an intimate restaurant where you are given a very warm welcome and the quality of food excellent. It is off the main road along the coast up a short hill but well worth the small effort. We will always return on an future trips to Madeira.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First class and special restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I find this special restaurant to be intimate, with both an excellent wide menu and wine selection. We are always given a warm and personal welcome every time we return. L'Osteria is a hidden gem in Funchal - in a classical setting, splendid food which is expertly prepared and one is served every time as if for a special occasion. It is our favourite restaurant in Madeira.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to L'Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Osteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.