We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've tried the rest, now......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Do Forte

Restaurante Do Forte
Rua Portao Sao Tiago, Funchal, Madeira 9000-031, Portugal
351 291 215 580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 444 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“You've tried the rest, now......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

Already fans of Goya and Mozart, the sister (brother?) restaurants, we had to come to the beautifully set Forte (by vintage car too) and were not disappointed. Beautiful food, well cooked, loads of little extras and wonderful service. Can't wait to get back here.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    205
    94
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal - and a great bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

First of all, this is the first time, when booking a restaurant online, I've been asked to select an actual table from a plan. Worked really well!
We chose the special evening meal, which offered numerous courses for 49 euros - as this is fine dining, it proved to be a real bargain. Excellent food and wine, and very friendly, helpful staff.
Will definitely return!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good, but not as good as it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

We have had a special night out at the Fort with a group for the past 5 years or so. The food is still excellent as is the presentation. However, the things that made it extra special were wonderful flower arrangements and sophisticated service. Despite putting the cost of the set meal up to 42E, including aperative and copious wine, we were left with the impression that it is still one of the best places to dine in Funchal, but that it has let its standards drop a tad. Having said that, would still recommend the excellent value set menu - available with or without special wines with each course.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fabulous food, service, and above all value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

have been to funchal a number of times but never discovered this restaurant. It would be classed as fine dining but in a splendid, relaxed and smart environment. The fixed price menu - 43 euros if I remember correctly - included white wine with the starter and red with the main course. I'm sure you could have remained with one or the other. It was not just a glass either - the wine waiter just kept arriving and topping up. The food was wonderful. Just because it is the fixed price does not mean a separate menu - you just select fromhe a la carte. This couples with the glass of fizz on entry, amuse bouche, bread and sorbet finished with coffee and petit fours made for a wonderful evening. A must in our opinion.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo Forte R, Manager at Restaurante Do Forte, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

We have all been flattered by your kind words which without a doubt, deserved our best attention. Our team is constantly striving to improve, so it is great to have appreciations towards our efforts.

We look forward to have you with us once again, so we can provide you more memorable experiences.

Cordially,

Restaurante do Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

This was our second visit and nothing was too much trouble. We had the concept meal with associated wines - really good value for money as all inclusive at 42 Euros. Wines and water constantly topped up and extra courses added. Special diets easily catered for. Staff are very professional and attentive but not intrusive. All the dishes were presented beautifully and tasted just as good. We will be back. They even booked us in to their sister restaurant, Goya, for another night

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grupo Forte R, Manager at Restaurante Do Forte, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

Please let us take this opportunity to thank you for submitting this review. Your feedback is vital to us, so we can overcome our faults and continue to work towards excellence.

We look forward to welcome you back, hopping to be able to demonstrate upon your next visit that we can do even better, if possible, exceeding your expectations.

With our kindest regards,

Restaurante do Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Do Forte also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurante Do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Do Forte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.