We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Do Forte

Restaurante Do Forte
Rua Portao Sao Tiago, Funchal, Madeira 9000-031, Portugal
351 291 215 580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 416 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A slice of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

A unique chance to eat in an old fort. We, family of 4, with 2 kids aged 10 and 7, had a great evening at one of their (4) seaview tables. Service is a little slow as others have noted but this is part of their plan; they allow you to keep the table for the entire evening. Food delicious and good value. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    841
    167
    76
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistant Standard-Excellant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

We again ate at the Forte,in fact three times during our two week stay in Madeira. On each occasion we ate with different people,but the response was the same from everyone, excellant, its not just the food,although that is of paramount importance, its the welcome you receive, the excellant service and the wine. What encourages us to go back again and again is the total attention to detail that the restaurant provides to every guest. That standard is there every year and we have eaten hear for the last 6 years. We will be back again in 2015 and my first dinner reservation will be the Forte.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

My wife and I were staying at the Savoy Gardens. It was a 'Landmark Birthday' for my wife whilst we were there so I wanted to arrange something special for her. Paula the Thomson Rep at the Savoy was very helpful and arranged the meal for me and also for us to be picked up in an Austin 12 vintage car.

When the car arrived at the hotel for us my wife was totally in shock. As we drove through Funchal to the restaurant people were stopping and looking at the beautiful Austin 12. When we arrived I discovered that Paula had told the Forte that it was my wifes Birthday and so they gace us a special table which had a lovely view.

The evening began with a glass of champagne and was followed by some of the best food I have ever had in a restaurant. There was a different wine with each course and the wine just kept flowing!!!

We finished the evening off with a return journey in the Austin 12.

I must say that for €39 each including all wines etc this is tremendous value for money in a wonderful setting. The staff are very friendly and yet professional. The car costs €15 each way.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Fort is still the best in Funchal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

We have visited Madeira for many years, and the Fort still remains the best restaurant. It may not have the Michelin star of one of the hotel restaurants, but the atmosphere is fantastic. Located in the old fort, right on the beach by the Old Town in Funchal, diners are sat on old battlements with h the privilege of a view over the sea through arrow loops. The food is reasonably priced, and includes several delicious fish dishes, can recommend the dourada with prawns and subtle curry sauce.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exquisite ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

This had to be the best restaurant in Funchal. Fine dining at its best.

We arrived in a 1920s open topped Chevy after booking it with the restaurant and had 6 amazing courses and all the wine we wanted for a fixed price.


The food and the presentation was a complete work of art and worth re-visiting Madeira just to eat here.

Fantastic!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Do Forte also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurante Do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Do Forte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.