We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and lovely food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Do Forte

Restaurante Do Forte
Rua Portao Sao Tiago, Forte de Sao Tiago, Funchal, Madeira 9060-250, Portugal
351 291 215 580
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante Do Forte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 443 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and lovely food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having not made it to this Restaurant whilst in Funchal last year, we were keen to try it out as the Forte comes well rocommended and having opted for the set price menu we were not dissapointed! The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly and we were shown to our table where we were provided with a pleasant glass of sparkling wine whilst we browsed the menu. with all four of us choosing different starters and main courses we were able to see a variety of dishes all of which were very well presented. My meal was superb and the four of us had a very enjoyable evening, so much so that we returned the following week with friends and family as a group of eight and we were very well looked after, again enjoying another superb meal. As a suprise, I had booked the restaurant's two cars to pick us up and return us back to our accommodation. As the cars arrived, all were impressed with the experience of travelling to dinner in a 1959 Rolls Royce Silver Cloud and a Vintage Morris. It made the evening! The restaurant has been housed in temporary accommodation adjacent to the main restaurant whilst refurbishment work has been progressed through the Winter. We now can't wait to go back for another meal on our return in June.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    237
    111
    34
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretentious and poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited Do Forte guided by TA. We had already had a meal at the sister restaurant Mozart and were recognised by the manager - he promised us better food than the Mozart.
We had booked in advance but were seated next to a window overlooking the smoking area, from here the only ambience was from watching people puff away and counting the mice scurrying around.
We chose the 39 euro meal, but refused the wine which was almost undrinkable - and we are not wine conoisseurs by any means. A bottle of supermarket plonk suits us at home. We were then given the wine that they served at Mozart - at least this is what they claimed, it was marginally better.The service was attentive but the food delivery very slow .After we had been there 90mins we had only had a muse bouche and the starter and were ravenous.
The muse bouche had been more substantial than the starter. My husband had the trio of mushrooms, and literally this was all it was. 3 button mushrooms on a plate with a multicolour of sauces on the plate. Apart from a smear of balsamic vinegar and a slice of dried orange it was totally tasteless. I had parma ham with blue cheese - consisting of half a slice of parma ham and some cream cheese. This was followed by a muse buche of a pebble on blue jelly and a pink sorbet on top. The sorbet was fine but why the pretentious rubbish? The manager came & asked if we were enjoying the food and we admitted that we were not really impressed - we mentioned the small starters and the blue jelly having no flavour, at which point he said it wasn't meant to taste of anything and ignored us for the rest of the evening.
This was followed by a long wait for the mains, I had the sea bream, which was gone in two mouthfuls and chose the cheese board for dessert as I was still hungry. This was served with a sweet jam and no butter which we had to request. My husband had the creme brulee which was fine but not a patch on the one served at Armazem do Sal.

We left feeling quite resentful at having paid nearly 40 euros each and still being hungry. One of the worst meals we had all holiday. Go to Armazem Do Sal for a much better meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Even Better than Last Year !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a super meal at the Do Forte in February 2012 but, this year, it was better still ! We ate in part of the Old Fort Building rather than the normal conservatory attachment to their usual Restaurant and, other than the Toilets being across the yard back in the normal Restaurant, they had created a super ambience to enjoy a truly creative & enjoyable meal. It was in a different league to the Arazem that has deposed them of the Number One spot and I got the impression that the owner had set out to up his game still further in an attempt to retake the top slot. Often in the UK these days we struggle to find anything different on menus but, at the Do Forte, we could have selected several different choices for each of the courses. The first time we visited we were nearly put off by the somewhat gimmicky all inclusive with wine price offering but it is a truly exceptional offering at a very good price. Can't wait until next February !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We visited this restauarnt whilst in Funchal last week and thoroughly enjoyed our evening. A new menu was being served that evening and the chef came out following our meal and chatted to the diners. We were greeted from our taxi by maitre'de and the service that followed was excellent. Sparkling wine to start followed by top ups of wine on several occasions well worthe the 39 euros

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
229 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Very good evening out. Almost excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Restaurant do Forte could be thought a bit kitsch - vintage cars outside, the "old fort" setting, welcome from girl in traditional clothes, waiters with immaculate white waistcoats and bow ties etc. Appearance very up-market and most of the customers dressed up to suit the occasion,

We had the €39 four course dinner menu which included unlimited and very good house wine and coffee. Really good value

The food was very good - so I don't quite know why I'm not rating the restaurant higher. The service was just a bit off the pace - although still pretty good.

Trouble is we fell in love with the competition.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Do Forte also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Do Forte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.