We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loja do Cha Tea House

Loja do Cha Tea House
Rua do Sabao, 33-35 | Praca do Colombo, Funchal, Madeira 9000-050, Portugal
+(351)-91-6500418
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 444 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Small tea house behind the Cathedral Se, opposite the museum.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming and tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Escape the heat and business of Funchal here. A massive range of teas, scones for the ultra Brits. And yummy cake for others. An excellnt spot to take a relaxing hour in the afternoon. I had a stunning muscat Assam and a great cheesecake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    35
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Still fab...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a charming place for an afternoon cuppa. They do a lovely creamy baked cheese cake which goes well with any tea. Excellent teas, lovely fruity mixes. Treat yourself to a few packks to bring home, to remind yourself of your holiday!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quiet cup of tea and cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stumbled across this tea shop and were enticed by the daily special of orange cake with a tea or coffee for 3.50 euros. We weren't disappointed, the cake is homemade and delicious. The range of tea was wonderful and first class service too. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best place for tea in Funchal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A great place for a cup of tea and a snack. We always visit Loja do Cha at least once when we visit Funchal. Sitting outside enjoying the world pass by in the square is relaxing and fun. Our recent visit was no exception and the standard remains high. We will return soon!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A nice place to buy tea and its accessories. You will get help from the staff that speaks English and will explain you all about tea species and tastes. Located in Funchal - Madeira Island

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loja do Cha Tea House also viewed

 

Been to Loja do Cha Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loja do Cha Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.