We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casal Da Penha

Casal Da Penha
Alley Ataide 1, Funchal, Madeira 9000-604, Portugal
291 227 674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 407 restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $28 - $28
Cuisines: Latin, Mediterranean, Portuguese, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This family-run restaurant is quite simply excellent and knocks into a cocked hat the more pretentious ones in the immediate vicinity. We found this restaurant on the very first evening of our holiday and couldn't help wondering where we would possibly find somewhere to better it! The clean, pleasant, light décor sits well with the friendly and, indeed, vivacious staff, whose happy and attentive attitude helps to create a warm, welcoming atmosphere, without being overbearing. I was struck by the quiet busy-ness and relaxed murmur of conversation, whilst I addressed the most delicious plateful of pork marinated in wine and garlic - preoccupation with which rendered my own relaxed conversation with my husband non-existent for quite a few minutes! In all, we visited this restaurant 3 times in 10 days, which is really quite something for two people a bit obsessed with trying to eat somewhere different every night (on holiday, that is...)! We did go to some of the other restaurants neighbouring this one, and found them sadly lacking, in comparison. The quality of the fish here was particularly good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    133
    55
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the best restaurant in madeira! Just perfect! Staff very nice and pleasent! The chef is one in a million! Everything very clean!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food lack atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This restaurant has an extensive menu with some interesting items. The food is well prepared and does not stint on quantity.

Service is efficient but so efficient and impersonal that it add to the lack of atmosphere of the already stark room. If you are a couple this is noticeable but less so if you re a group.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Although we have visited Madeira five times this was our first visit to this pleasant restaurant.Upon arrival we had a friendly welcome,and then shown to our table on the terrace.Although the staff were friendly and helpful we did find the service was on the slow side,they must have realized this as we did get an apology at the end of the meal.
The food was tasty,hot and plentiful and my banana split was the biggest i have ever had.Will return again next time in Funchal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bit of a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This restaurant is one you'd have to go looking for. It's not on the main strip and when you get there there are a couple of other options. I would recommend eating on the terrace on the roof, a nice relaxing environment and not too crowded. The food was excellent and the service also. The main host (I didn't get his name) is extremely good and has great knowledge of everything on the menu. We had a couple of kids with us and he was careful to steer them away from some speciality dishes they may not like, which was great for us. We all really enjoyed our meals and will be going back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casal Da Penha also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Casal Da Penha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casal Da Penha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.