We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casal Da Penha

Casal Da Penha
Alley Ataide 1, Funchal, Madeira 9000-604, Portugal
291 227 674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 407 restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $28 - $28
Cuisines: Latin, Mediterranean, Portuguese, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bit of a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This restaurant is one you'd have to go looking for. It's not on the main strip and when you get there there are a couple of other options. I would recommend eating on the terrace on the roof, a nice relaxing environment and not too crowded. The food was excellent and the service also. The main host (I didn't get his name) is extremely good and has great knowledge of everything on the menu. We had a couple of kids with us and he was careful to steer them away from some speciality dishes they may not like, which was great for us. We all really enjoyed our meals and will be going back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    133
    55
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Storrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent food and very friendly staff. We ate here on three occasions during our week stay. The fish was very good and the upper outside section had a great atmosphere

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We always eat here at least twice during our visit. Sadly, the first day of our holiday when we ate here the service was very poor, we waited for the food for a long time and and the food not as good as usual. We decided not to go there again, which is a shame as we always liked this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaikelF, Manager at Casal Da Penha, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
I truly regret the fact that being a regular guest for so many years you didn't had a wonderfull experience as it is usual here at Casal da Penha.
For that I am tryly sorry please do accept my apologies.
Instead of trying to justify that I would only like to refer that the staff and the chef are the same for at least 17years so the reasons that made you love our restaurante are all still here.
Taking that I would like to invite you to visit us again on a future holiday at sunny madeira, I am sure we won't dissapoint you twice.

Best Regards,

Maikel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Have eaten here a number of times including 2 visits last week Because of poor weather both evenings, we ate indoors. Tables well spaced. Large menu offering a range of mainly meat and fish dishes. Staff friendly and efficient and willing to explain about the local specialties. Portions were generous and food quality good and served on hot plates - other restaurants take note! Very drinkable house wines. Cannot really comment on the desserts as we never got that far! Generally good value overall. Looking forward to return visits next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaikelF, Manager at Casal Da Penha, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, and thank you for noticing the hot plates it's a big investment and I am very pleased to see that our guests notice and enjoy that.
Next year the challenge for the desserts it's on!
Thank you very much.
Best Regards,

Maikel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Good quality food in a nice atmosphere. We were on the roof terrace which we would recommend. Good value for money and good sized portions. Just wish the waiter would smile more!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaikelF, Manager at Casal Da Penha, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your review.
I am very glad you enjoyed our food and our terrace.
I can garantee on your next service our waiter will be smiling a lot more.

Hope to see you again.

Warm regards.
Maikel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casal Da Penha also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Casal Da Penha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casal Da Penha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.