We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it a lot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casal Da Penha

Casal Da Penha
Alley Ataide 1, Funchal, Madeira 9000-604, Portugal
291 227 674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 421 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $28 - $28
Cuisines: Latin, Mediterranean, Portuguese, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
windlesham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had seen the reviews on this site and as it was next door to my hotel I went on my first night to have the mixed 4 fish dish (it is a chef's special on the menu - 18 euro).
I was very pleased with it. On another night I had the "Espetada", Madeiran Beef Kebab - also very good. I actually went a third night as my initial destination turned out to be closed on Sunday (something to watch in the old town.)
One reason I was pleased but others might not be is the choice of vegetables. Being a bit choosy with vegetables, I was happy to see carrots and green beans served with potatoes (boiled and sweet). Prompt and friendly service. Looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    65
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We are always pleased to return and are never disappointed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The quality of the food, wine and service is without doubt exceptional.

Over the years we have been fortunate to enjoy many holidays in Madeira and have visited lots of different restaurants but we have always frequently returned to the Casal Da Penha.

This is because where other restaurants are perhaps known for having the freshest fish, the tastiest steak or the widest choice of vegetables this restaurant always serves the best of everything.

We are always assured of a warm welcome, a good selection of wines at fair prices and once you have chosen your food you know each dish will be cooked with finesse and presented with great care by friendly and efficient staff.

We recently returned and for the first time with our daughter, her husband and our first grandchild, of 7 months, Phoebe and whilst Phoebe slept thorough most of Dinner the caring attention she received was more than pleasing.

It is a real mystery why this restaurant isn't consistently in the Top 10 of Funchal restaurants, it deserves to be and if you haven't eaten here I heartily recommend that you do so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just Right for Us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We ate there three times in our eight day break - a great accolade for an excellent restaurant when there is so much choice. It's very popular with tourists and even at this 'quiet' time of year it's best to arrive by 715 unless you have a reservation. Very friendly staff, good service, good food and wine. About 15 minutes from the town centre on foot - best to have a look at a good map before setting out as it is down a small side street.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinross
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Another one of our favourits We call it the girls place as we have been going here for a few years The staff recognise us when we go in and ask after our family and we do
likewise They do a wonderful starter of smoked swordfish We also like that they serve the vegetables at your table so you can decide how much you would like The roasted sweet potato is a delight.They do a good red that is decanted go by their recommendation

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A new discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We recently returned to Madeira for our winter sunshine break. Over the years we have visited many restaurants but, never the Casal do Penha very conveniently located behind our hotel The Madeira Regency Club. One leaves the hotel by an inconspicuous small side entrance, which we named the "Cat Flap" and the Casal do Penha is just a few paces up the small rough side road.

We found it an excellent find. A very smart and immaculate dining room and a small but, very attractive outside terrace with the choice of shade or sunshine.

We came, both at lunchtime and chose from a comprehensive snack menu, and in the evening when we tried the main menu. On our day of departure we lunched from the main menu to set us up for an evening flight back to Gatwick. I chose a speciality of the house, Filet Mignon Casal do Penha. A good a meal as I have eaten for a very long time almost good enough to cancel the flight and stay another week in Madeira!

The staff were the correct balance of friendliness and efficiency, service attentive and courteous and I thoroughly recommend trying the Casal do Penha.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casal Da Penha also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Casal Da Penha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casal Da Penha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;