We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cantina El Mexicano

Cantina El Mexicano
Ponta da Cruz no 22-24, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103 Funchal, Portugal
+351 291 764 160
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 428 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse, South American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

First night meal in Funchal & was a great start to the holiday!

I wanted a steak & due to where we were, I had the Madeira Steak! Very nice & cooked just right with plenty of veg.

My wife had the swordfish skewer which was again very good - the only problem was she couldn't eat all the veg that came with it!

Liked the interior - they have made an effort to give it a Mexican feel.

Staff were friendly too & one ( I'm guessing the owner), was active in dialogue with customers.

Menu is Mexican + other types of food which only adds to the choice.

Reasonable prices & a sea view location.

Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

After all the scams we've been through in Madeira it was nice to get service without hidden costs and even a complimentary dish of octopus at the beginning. The menu even had a mention that the dish takes time as the oven needed for espetadas takes half an hour to heat up. The waiter took care of our baby by even taking him off the stroller into the high chair. The meal tasted fine and the price was not bad. Very good quality.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lovely Steak Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I really enjoyed our dinner in this restaurant - the steak on the stone was delicious.I would recommend this restaurant and its only a short walk from Hotel Duas Torres.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“opening times not as advertised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Had a very enjoyable meal. Service and food were excellent. We enjoyed it so much we decided to return on our last night (Sunday) having checked from their flyer that they were open every evening. We had a twenty minute walk from our accommodation only to discover that the restuarant was closed! Perhaps this was because it was early in the season but this should have been made clear

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food - enjoy the staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We saw this place on our first night in Madeira whilst walking from our hotel (Golden Residence). The waiter leaped across the road to explain the menu & give us a promotional flyer & we were initially put off by the smiling photo of Ronald Reagan! However, we came to eat there twice later in the week & both times the food was excellent & the service attentive & we found the prices very reasonable. The steaks were first rate, as was the Madeiran skewered meat dish & the sauces & veg were generous & well cooked. Bringing the promotional flyer back gained us a complimentary glass of Madeira wine. We didn't try the Mexican food. No one smoked inside but eating on the terrace you would encounter smokers. Good place for people watching on the marine promenade. It was clear from other diners that the staff remember regular customers & there was excellent banter in some cases but the waiters were good at seeing who wanted to be left quiet too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantina El Mexicano also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Cantina El Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantina El Mexicano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.