We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, we came back again during our week in Funchal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lareira Portuguesa

Lareira Portuguesa
Estrada Monumental | Travessa Doutor Valente, No7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-092, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 444 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
wimbledon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So good, we came back again during our week in Funchal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were staying at Cliff Bay Hotel just across the main road from Lareira, so it was an obvious choice if we did not want to have the hotel's excellent buffet every evening. We agree with other Tripadvisor reviewers that Lariera is outstanding, without being an an expensive gourmet place.
On our first visit we had filet steak on a hot stone (our first experience) which was tender and
cooked to medium-rare (by me!). An important point was that the selection of vegetables was very good and they were crisp and not over-cooked as can happen in other restaurants. Service was friendly and attentive. On our second visit, our friends ordered the mixed fish platter which was splendid to behold and of excellent quality. The house wine is good. Although we lingered over the meal and were almost the last to leave, there was no hurry to eject us and the bill came only after requested.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    119
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Food and service excellent.Visited this restaurant after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds UK
Level Contributor
230 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

only downside is that the room is very brightly lit and there is no music, so a bit soulless. But the food and service are very good. We had scabbard fish (two fillets) and it came with plenty of accompaniments. House white wine also very good. A little more expensive than some other places, but worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltmann, Deutschland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very nice little restaurant - a bit posh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

the little restaurant just up a small road, away from the main hotel route serves fantastic fresh seafood, unfortunately for a pretty high price. Service was helpful and kind.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Sunny Island
Level Contributor
133 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Always eat here at least once a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I used to live in Funchal,this is one of my favourite restaurants., when on holiday we always eat here at least once a week. My mother had steak on the stone about €20 and I had fish espada its about €14 which was 2 fillets. The meals came with chips, fried maize, sweet potatoes, fresh carrots, fresh runner beans, cauliflower. Deserts are around €4 each. The bolo de cacao is €3. the restaurant is always busy with tourists and some locals. The restaurant has fresh fish counter and a tank with lobsters etc staff speak several languages. There is an open kitchen upstairs which specialises in chicken.

Location from monumental lido hotel stay on the same side of the street and walk in the direction of Funchal city, on the other side of the road you will see restaurant "tokos" opposite that restaurant is a road turn left and lareira is the first one you come too. It's not the restaurant with the parrots that is a different one.

I ate here with my mother

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lareira Portuguesa also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Lareira Portuguesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lareira Portuguesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.