We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket

O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket
Rua Do Gorgulho | Centro Comercial Eden Mar Lj 3, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
+351 291 764 051
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 420 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

As with the other post , one of the best steaks i have ate , no doubt about it been meaning to visit the last 3 years . glad we did .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Owner at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    61
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good meal with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We enjoyed the first visit so returned for a second a few days later. On both occasions the food was reasonably priced and the service friendly and efficient.

The outside seating area has been added since last year and you no longer have to access the restaurant from the supermarket car park which is a bonus.

On the first visit we had the almost mandatory steak on a stone which earns such rave reviews. We have previously has this elsewhere in a downstairs restaurant where the smoke from the steak was almost unbearable. Fortunately the outside seating removed this problem and the steaks were excellent quality.

The second visit we had espetadas and again the meat was very good. Tony and the team run an excellent restaurant so we will be returning on future visits to the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Owner at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed both your dining experiences with us. We will do our best to meet your expectations on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great meat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The espatardas are really mouthwatering. The service is excellent and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Owner at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the island.

Warm regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Huge meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely food but don't order a starter. We were very impressed with the selection and quality of food- complimentary starters and huge portions.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Manager at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the island.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Been here many times over the years.
Best steaks in Madeira great views out to sea too.
Well worth a visit and very reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Owner at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and the photos you posted.

We are always glad when our guests enjoy their dining experience with us. Thank you for returning to our restaurant over the years. We will continue to do our best to meet all your expectatons.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.