We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket

O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket
Rua Do Gorgulho | Centro Comercial Eden Mar Lj 3, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
+351 291 764 051
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 428 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome from the owner on arrival decided on the steak on a stone as the main course. On arrival the steak was huge and to top it off I got to cook it on a sizzling stone great spectacle and very tasty other food also looked superb with many varying dishes. Can highly recommend the raisin and honey tart simply stunning will definitely go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest thank you for the time you took on writing your review on our restaurant.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Island.

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    68
    21
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Return visits to a most welcoming restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Having visited Madeira six times and having accommodation adjacent to the O Chefe this is a perfect eating place. An extensive menu to suit all tastes, a warm welcome from the most helpful staff and food of very high quality beautifully presented.

During our recent two week stay we dined at the O Chefe six times and no matter what we chose each dish was equally good whether it be starter, main course or sweet. The passion fruit mousse and the crepes can only be described as deliciously good.

Value for money the O Chefe is an excellent place to dine.

We very much look forward to our next visit to Madeira and we will definitely be returning to O Chefe to dine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed all your meals at our restaurant.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS O CHEFE AND SEA BASKET.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We first found O Chefe about 10 years ago and returned several times during each holiday. Not to be confused with O Chefe in the shopping centre, 2 completely different restaurants. Tony used to own O Chefe which is no bigger than a shop along the passageway but since we were last there 4 years ago he has moved to bigger premises above the Supermarket Pingo Doce overlooking the sea. Same very high standard, in fact better, if that is possible. I started with avocado and prawns which was a perfectly ripened large whole avocado, Yes, 2 halves!, a superb sauce (not out of a bottle like some restaurants serve). The prawns were huge and plentiful and this was served with a salad which contained slices of fresh orange etc. Our mains was an assorted fish platter for 2 people (about 4 or 5 different fish grilled to perfection) served with delicious perfectly cooked vegetables. Tony's prices have increased but as they say, you get what you pay for. Superb! 10/10 for everything. Thanks Tony! we look forward to returning.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your support along the years.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and look forward to your next visit to our wonderful Island.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“First visits will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Despite visiting Madeira for eleven years this was the first time of eating at O Chefe. The first visit in the week we both had the picanha which was cooked to perfection as it was on the third visit! Second visit I had the chicken which melted in your mouth and my companion had a sirloin steak which was declared as cooked exactly right. The accompanying salad and potatoes were amongst the best we have ever had on the Island. Good choice of quality red wines at good prices. For once I actually had a desert - homemade chocloate cake - which was absolutely delicious. We will definitely eat at this restaurant again on our next trip in May.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear we met your expectations on your visit to our restaurant.

We look forward to your next visit in May.

Best Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Great Host and Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ate at this Restaurant twice whilst on our regular two week break in February. Early in week one there were four of us for dinner. we all ate something different and all went away 100% impressed with the quality of the food and the surperb service that Tony's Team deliver! Having had the "O Chefe" Prawns which were the best I've ever had, I was keen to return and try the fillet steak on the stone three of which I had whatched the family on the table next to us eagerly devour! The following week we booked a table for 8 people having been joined by friends and family for week two. On arrival we were shown to our table again by Tony who made us very welcome and again we all ordered a variety from the menu, myself opting for the steak on the stone. This melted in your mouth and was one of the best steaks I have had for a long time. Everything abouit this Restaurant is superb! and on both occassions was very good value. Tony is an excellent host and Alberto strives for perfection every time! I would thoroughly recommend anyone visiting Madeira to put this Restaurant on their list for lunch or a night out if looking for somewhere that serves excellent food with great service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We are happy we matched your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket also viewed

 

Been to O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.