We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant, Great Host and Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket

O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket
Rua do Gorgulho, 3 | Centro Comercial Eden Mar Lj, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
291764051
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 411 restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant, Great Host and Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ate at this Restaurant twice whilst on our regular two week break in February. Early in week one there were four of us for dinner. we all ate something different and all went away 100% impressed with the quality of the food and the surperb service that Tony's Team deliver! Having had the "O Chefe" Prawns which were the best I've ever had, I was keen to return and try the fillet steak on the stone three of which I had whatched the family on the table next to us eagerly devour! The following week we booked a table for 8 people having been joined by friends and family for week two. On arrival we were shown to our table again by Tony who made us very welcome and again we all ordered a variety from the menu, myself opting for the steak on the stone. This melted in your mouth and was one of the best steaks I have had for a long time. Everything abouit this Restaurant is superb! and on both occassions was very good value. Tony is an excellent host and Alberto strives for perfection every time! I would thoroughly recommend anyone visiting Madeira to put this Restaurant on their list for lunch or a night out if looking for somewhere that serves excellent food with great service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We are happy we matched your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    149
    51
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited this excellent restaurant three times, twice at lunchtime once for dinner and was more than satisfied with food and service.
Lunch time is particularly good as there is a very good snack menu at very reasonable prices and no pressure to order from an a la carte menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest thank you so much for your review.

We couldnt be happier to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Madeira.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food great friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This has to be a must in Funchal if you enjoy a good steak, ate there twice on our recent holiday . Tony has done a fine job with this Restuarant , the food is by far the best we had on our two weeks in Madeira. Good knowledgeable staff and great wines, I can recommend Steak & Prawns it was fantastic and the sauces are excellent .
But don't just take my word for it "Try It Yersel !".Gerry Mac.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

We are happy to have met your expectations during your visit.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Visited this restaurant on the first and last night of our holiday. Salmon on the stone highly recommended! Steak & prawns excellent. Staff very attentive. Busy and popular restaurant. Very reasonably priced.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest we appreciate the time you took on writing your review.

We always feel extremely satisfied when our guests enjoy their experience with us.

Looking forward to see you on your next visit to the island.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fine Food with Friendly Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We dined here twice on our recent holiday. Food excellant, good atmosphere, friendly staff and great service all at a reasonable price. It may be an idea to book, we did'nt but were lucky to have a table for two near window and were able to watch the sun go down, what more can you ask for!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Chefe R, Proprietário at O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest thank you for the time you took to write your review on our restaurant.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to our wonderful island.

Best regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira

Been to O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.