We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect day to go there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doca do Cavacas

Doca do Cavacas
Rua da Ponta da Cruz | Ponta de Cruz, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
291 762 057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 428 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Obidos, Portugal
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Perfect day to go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The weather was quite extreme, raining and windy, big waves coming and breaking right there. The seafood and the wine, just great combination. We started and stayed just on the starters : fish soup, lapas, octopus and others...and it was just great to watch outside and feel the nature. The staff was friendly and efficient as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    107
    29
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch first time round during an afternoon stroll , it's a bit hidden but once you've found it you will go back again. I don't think you'll find another restaurant with such magnificent views of the ocean.
We went two days later for supper (2 adults and 3 children) and they accommodated us well. I thought it wasn't overpriced and the food was great . The staff were friendly too.
Already looking forward to going back next year!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Grilled squid to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We ate here to break up a walk along the coastal path from Funchal to Camares de Lobos. I had the most delicious squid that I've ever had - hadn't been a huge fan beforehand, but definitely a convert! Absolutely delicious with garlicky chips to accompany it. My companion has eaten here many times, it was my first visit. The service was friendly and attentive. Food was delicious. The accompanying wine was tasty - hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“We had a drink here often and love the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We did niot eat here, but the poncha is freshly made and the welcome is warm. The location is great and it is a very good walk from Funchal - up and down hills and steps - so we were ready for our drink when we arrived.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Unfortunately we only found this restuarant on the last day of our holiday otherwise we would have visited more often. A great sea view, ecellent food at a reasonable price and friendly staff. We will be back there the next time we are in Madeira. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doca do Cavacas also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Doca do Cavacas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doca do Cavacas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.