We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponta de Sao Lourenco

Ponta de Sao Lourenco
Baia da Abra, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 55 attractions in Funchal
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Easy and magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Easy access, well made path these days with hand rails where you need them. Spectacular views. Choose weather carefully as no shade

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    122
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilleleje
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Madeira's Lands End”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Must be seen. This piece of our beloved island should be seen many times both in sunny days as well when in night time. In stormy weather. Sights that will be remembered at all times!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good coastal walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Got the 113 bus from funchal which took about 1.5 hrs to reach the destination of Baia de |Abra. Quite a few people on the bus doing this walk so you could hardly get lost. Good coastal walk with dramatic views. I dont like heights but the walk was no problem. Where was the ice cream van at the start/end of the walk? The walk should take between 3 to 4 hours depending on your speed and how much stopping you do.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant walk in nice terrain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Not very challenging walk, but ~8km roundtrip from the bus/parking lot. Not much elevation difference. Lots of birds at the far end of the trip, and hut (which is apparently closed off season? At least, it was on a December Wednesday I visited it).

After that, if feeling up to it, Caracal is ~4km away along the road, and then there's old donkey trail from Caracal to Machico (~8km more). I did the whole thing, GPS recommended for the donkey trail (I lost the trail two, three times).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Navarra, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impressive landscape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We engaged a tour to visit the island al arround and it was very very interesting! We were accompanied by a guide that explained very well all the interesting items for the different places we visited.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponta de Sao Lourenco also viewed

 

Been to Ponta de Sao Lourenco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponta de Sao Lourenco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ponta de Sao Lourenco to your Saves list