We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Conde De Carvalhal, Funchal, Madeira 9060-011, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Estoril, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This has been the first time I have booked a hotel from Booking.com that I did not like. Usually, the reviews are right on par with the hotel, but I have no idea why this hotel is rated so high. The costumer service is terrible (the hotel staff avoids you at all costs), and you have literally no help on tourist information. I called ahead to make sure our room had internet (I had an online work conference to attend), but when I arrived, that was no internet service in the room. I had to wake up in the middle of night to get internet in the communal room with no AC. The breakfast is also the biggest waste of 7.50 euro I have ever seen. My husband decided he couldn't take it anymore, and we booked another hotel for the remainder of the week.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the view have internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel was clean and the rooms were a good size however the towels were not changed very often. We were kept a wake a number of times during our stay by dogs barking throughout the night. Not just one but a number.
We believed that we had booked our holiday direct with the hotel and paid well in advance. However when we arrived we were asked to pay again as we had apparently booked with a agency called 'Strawberry World' who had just gone into administration. According to locals they are now trading under the name of Lido tours. We suggest if you book very carefully if you book on the internet as we were convinced we had accessed the hotel site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matosinhos, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Madeira island has its ups and downs, being a mountainous place, and all of them are a must-see.
The Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal is a great place to base your camp. Away from Lido's hotel center (although you can walk there easily, if you want to), makes you believe your one of the locals. If you treasure your independence, stay there, in the old manor or in the design studios (with a nice kitchenette), full of light, space and garden views that goes as far as Funchal and the busy harbour. The staff is precious in giving away great tips for good food (Olives and Venda da Dona Maria are not to be missed) as well as in how to get your appetite back, trekking away in the 'levadas' and other official paths (we recommend the PR1 trek from Pico do Areeiro to Pico Ruivo). Great breakfast (if you want it), good indoor parking and a lovely walk to the old town and center (don't take the car, it's hard to find a parking spot in town). Luxury made simple.

Room Tip: Our Garden View room, 105, on the ground floor, had a great sea and harbor view, although being next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

+ nice and clean rooms
+ great location
+ friendly staff
+ garden for relaxation
+ kitchen with accessories
+ garage

the only "con" I can think of is that free wifi does not cover all rooms, but is available. Definitely very nice hotel with friendly staff!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in a garden view studio for 3 nights over new years eve. The accommodation was stylish, comfortable, and most importantly, clean. The views over the harbour for the new years fireworks were superb.

The in-studio catering facilities are good, with a kettle, two ring hob and combi oven and fridge. Plenty for the snacks and bits of self catering we wanted to do. The only negative here was the lack of provision of any pans or utensils. We got what we wanted no problem when we asked for it, but considering the effort they've gone to building and furnishing this place beautifully, sticking a pan in the room to begin would seem a small expense.

The location is great and different to a majority of funchal hotels bundled into the Lido area. It's a short (though fairly steep) walk into funchal centre and old town. The negative part of the location is that the residential neighbourhood the hotel is in is well populated by dogs, so although it is 'quiet' there can still be quite a lot of noise! It didn't bother us too much though.

The other factor worth mentioning is that the location would be a nightmare to drive in and out of. We hired a car when we departed the hotel, and were glad we only had to drive out of that area once. So while the provided parking facilities are great, this isnt the best location to be driving from.

This shouldn't put you off though. Just do what we did, see Funchal on foot(easy from this location), then hire a car when you leave to see the rest of the island.

All staff we're very friendly and happy to use English with us, both in our communications prior to arrival, and during our stay. Excellent.

Any negative points i've made are just advisory. I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again, especially considering the very high standard of accommodation for a great value rate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We booked the suite with balcony which was fantastic - A very stylish 'apartment' and the balcony had terrific views of Funchal. The hotel also had a very convenient 'James Bond' style underground car park for guests. We didn't want to stay in a big resort hotel, and liked the privacy of this hotel. However, a few things were disappointing. The bathroom just had budget sized soap dispensers and could have done with small bottles of shampoo and conditioner. Luckily I'd brought my own. We ordered room service for dinner - my partner liked his steak sandwich, but the burger I had was disappointing - it was small, looked like something you'd get from a frozen meal and was just serviced with some crisps. For breakfast we were surprised to be given satchets of coffee, and had to ask especially to get fresh coffee which on one morning they had run out of. They only had one choice of cereal (luckily we like bran flakes) which was served with hot rather than cold milk. They provided a generous bread basket of fresh rolls, which was nice and a couple of cakes which we ate in the afternoon. It would have been nice to have fresh juice rather than squash too. On our last morning we paid extra for an 'English breakfast' - which we were disappointed with. We were given scrambled eggs (there was no choice), beans, sausages (from a can) and very fatty uncrispy bacon. The food could easily be improved if they took the trouble. We thought about offering to show them how to make a proper English Breakfast. Another thing to bare in mind is, on hot nights if you decide to leave the windows open, you can hear lots of dogs barking in the neighbourhood if you're not a deep sleeper.
The place has lots of potential. However, for an upmarket hotel, it lacked the finesse and detail one would normally expect.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Nice boutique hotel. Consists of two parts:one in traditional style one in modern, combined in an a very good style
Not evpensive and close to center of Funchal

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal

Address: Rua Conde De Carvalhal, Funchal, Madeira 9060-011, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.