We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, location and different to typical funchal hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Conde De Carvalhal, Funchal, Madeira 9060-011, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, location and different to typical funchal hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in a garden view studio for 3 nights over new years eve. The accommodation was stylish, comfortable, and most importantly, clean. The views over the harbour for the new years fireworks were superb.

The in-studio catering facilities are good, with a kettle, two ring hob and combi oven and fridge. Plenty for the snacks and bits of self catering we wanted to do. The only negative here was the lack of provision of any pans or utensils. We got what we wanted no problem when we asked for it, but considering the effort they've gone to building and furnishing this place beautifully, sticking a pan in the room to begin would seem a small expense.

The location is great and different to a majority of funchal hotels bundled into the Lido area. It's a short (though fairly steep) walk into funchal centre and old town. The negative part of the location is that the residential neighbourhood the hotel is in is well populated by dogs, so although it is 'quiet' there can still be quite a lot of noise! It didn't bother us too much though.

The other factor worth mentioning is that the location would be a nightmare to drive in and out of. We hired a car when we departed the hotel, and were glad we only had to drive out of that area once. So while the provided parking facilities are great, this isnt the best location to be driving from.

This shouldn't put you off though. Just do what we did, see Funchal on foot(easy from this location), then hire a car when you leave to see the rest of the island.

All staff we're very friendly and happy to use English with us, both in our communications prior to arrival, and during our stay. Excellent.

Any negative points i've made are just advisory. I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again, especially considering the very high standard of accommodation for a great value rate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
25
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We booked the suite with balcony which was fantastic - A very stylish 'apartment' and the balcony had terrific views of Funchal. The hotel also had a very convenient 'James Bond' style underground car park for guests. We didn't want to stay in a big resort hotel, and liked the privacy of this hotel. However, a few things were disappointing. The bathroom just had budget sized soap dispensers and could have done with small bottles of shampoo and conditioner. Luckily I'd brought my own. We ordered room service for dinner - my partner liked his steak sandwich, but the burger I had was disappointing - it was small, looked like something you'd get from a frozen meal and was just serviced with some crisps. For breakfast we were surprised to be given satchets of coffee, and had to ask especially to get fresh coffee which on one morning they had run out of. They only had one choice of cereal (luckily we like bran flakes) which was served with hot rather than cold milk. They provided a generous bread basket of fresh rolls, which was nice and a couple of cakes which we ate in the afternoon. It would have been nice to have fresh juice rather than squash too. On our last morning we paid extra for an 'English breakfast' - which we were disappointed with. We were given scrambled eggs (there was no choice), beans, sausages (from a can) and very fatty uncrispy bacon. The food could easily be improved if they took the trouble. We thought about offering to show them how to make a proper English Breakfast. Another thing to bare in mind is, on hot nights if you decide to leave the windows open, you can hear lots of dogs barking in the neighbourhood if you're not a deep sleeper.
The place has lots of potential. However, for an upmarket hotel, it lacked the finesse and detail one would normally expect.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Nice boutique hotel. Consists of two parts:one in traditional style one in modern, combined in an a very good style
Not evpensive and close to center of Funchal

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Although a bit of a walk from the restaurants in the old town, especially coming back (uphill) this hotel is in a great position and the staff could not be more helpful. The rooms are very good, the beds very comfortable and there is a kitchen. We made breakfast in our studio room and also eat in some nights.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We expected more of a 'suite' and more of a 'kitchen', but it was really just a hotel room with tiny kitchenette and a railing over the window to justify claims of a 'balcony'. It's true that the place looks good, and the money put into finishing touches and technology is amazing. But this doesn't seem to match the laid-back family running the place, who have spread themselves out into most of the rooms. The bonus of the place is its location above the Old Town, but if going again I'd stay closer to the Cathedral, enabling you to get to either the Old Town eateries or those closer to Reid's in the West of the city. Also, avoid November for the rains.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We worked hard at finding the perfect, affordable hotel for our honeymoon and boy did we find it. It looked good from the reviews and their website but as non seasoned travellers we were a little worried. We didn't believe we would get somewhere as good as this for the price we paid. It had everything we wanted, quiet, beautiful, great views, warm friendly hospitality and an accessible location.

We were warmly greeted by Beatrice who wasn't put out by our early arrival and she showed us our room and the rest of the public spaces. Her friendliness and 'nothing too much trouble' attitude was matched by the rest of the staff.

As for Madeira and Funchal we fell in love and will return again. We wanted a restful holiday after a busy few months and we got it, both mooching from cafe to cafe and sitting on the hotel balcony on an evening. Thankyou Conde Carvalhal

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Read Tripadvisor reviews before we booked and found all the positive comments made by previous guests to be true during our stay in mid-October. Friendly and helpful staff who make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal

Address: Rua Conde De Carvalhal, Funchal, Madeira 9060-011, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.