We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel for a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Conde De Carvalhal, Funchal, Madeira 9060-011, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel for a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Nice boutique hotel. Consists of two parts:one in traditional style one in modern, combined in an a very good style
Not evpensive and close to center of Funchal

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Although a bit of a walk from the restaurants in the old town, especially coming back (uphill) this hotel is in a great position and the staff could not be more helpful. The rooms are very good, the beds very comfortable and there is a kitchen. We made breakfast in our studio room and also eat in some nights.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We expected more of a 'suite' and more of a 'kitchen', but it was really just a hotel room with tiny kitchenette and a railing over the window to justify claims of a 'balcony'. It's true that the place looks good, and the money put into finishing touches and technology is amazing. But this doesn't seem to match the laid-back family running the place, who have spread themselves out into most of the rooms. The bonus of the place is its location above the Old Town, but if going again I'd stay closer to the Cathedral, enabling you to get to either the Old Town eateries or those closer to Reid's in the West of the city. Also, avoid November for the rains.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We worked hard at finding the perfect, affordable hotel for our honeymoon and boy did we find it. It looked good from the reviews and their website but as non seasoned travellers we were a little worried. We didn't believe we would get somewhere as good as this for the price we paid. It had everything we wanted, quiet, beautiful, great views, warm friendly hospitality and an accessible location.

We were warmly greeted by Beatrice who wasn't put out by our early arrival and she showed us our room and the rest of the public spaces. Her friendliness and 'nothing too much trouble' attitude was matched by the rest of the staff.

As for Madeira and Funchal we fell in love and will return again. We wanted a restful holiday after a busy few months and we got it, both mooching from cafe to cafe and sitting on the hotel balcony on an evening. Thankyou Conde Carvalhal

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

Read Tripadvisor reviews before we booked and found all the positive comments made by previous guests to be true during our stay in mid-October. Friendly and helpful staff who make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Once again Trip Advisor came up trumps with this hotel - lovely situation in the old part of Funchal away from the mass of tourist hotels the other side of the city. Excellent rooms - comfy beds and handy little kitchenette. Fantastic views of the harbour and city. Very helpful staff - would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

The Residence Conde Carvalhal definitely deserves the reputation it has built up. Even before arriving, they were extremely friendly and professional, helping with airport transfers and giving advice about Madeira. The staff could not be more willing to help - evenything we have asked for they have gone out of their way to deliver. The rooms are comfortable and clean - stylishly decorated with all the comforts of a four star hotel set in a private estate which makes you feel as though you are guests at a family home. The hotel is not in the touristic hotel district of Funchal (thank goodness), but a 10 minute walk from the centre into the chic residential area with beautiful mansion houses overlooking the old town and port. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal

Address: Rua Conde De Carvalhal, Funchal, Madeira 9060-011, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Conde Carvalhal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.