We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always have at least one meal here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Real Canoa

Real Canoa
Rua Ponta da Cruz, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
291762396
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 420 Restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Clevedon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“always have at least one meal here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Enjoyed our meal, never have been disappointed. Bruno and his staff make for an enjoyable evening. We did have to wait awhile for our food but not complaining. This was the first time we used the free lift there and back but our hotel this visit was further away.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    112
    33
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Recommenable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Good food and wine. We had main course and dessert. The service is excellent. We had a really great evening there. We'll visit this restaurant again. Do not be surprised if there's no free table. All six of us agreed this was a good choice.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Madeira!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Just back from another exceptional meal at this restaurant. Staff really have the X Factor and make you want to come back time and time again. Food consistently delicious. Atmosphere uplifting. Value for money is the unrivalled. Overall, a fantastic experience and we can't wait to go back! Don't miss it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Happened to be staying nearby and thought we'd try it because it had lookrd busy on a couple of evenings. Good decision. Good food and service. An error was corrected graciously. Even the bloke playing guitar is a cut above. Worth makingsome effort to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You wouldn't expect it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The restaurant is just next to our hotel and every time we are coming back in the evening we notice that it's full. So today we tried it and we loved it! The prices are competitive for the island and the menu is really interesting. You can try local stuff, great fish (and as I saw around - meat) food. I had a Portuguese style of a fish I never heard or tried before and I loved it. The service is fast and great, and all the people were more than welcoming. Complementary drinks for welcome & goodbye are offered.
A musician came and played on guitar amazing songs from all genres - from Metalica, to Guantanamera, through Beethoven... And it was beautiful, quiet enough for everyone to speak and listen, an mystical enough to make you sing and dance in your dreams. And believe me I'm not a fan of live music in restaurants particularly but this one - right on spot!
Oh yes, when we were paying the bill the manager asked us if we need a drive - apparently the restaurant offers pick-ups and drive-backs!
Half of it reserved and the other half filled within half an hour.
Loved it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Canoa also viewed

 

Been to Real Canoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Canoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.