We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, food and child friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real Canoa

Real Canoa
Rua Ponta da Cruz, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
291762396
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 411 restaurants in Funchal
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, food and child friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

After walking along the waterfront from Petsana Carlton Madeira with two young boys (age 4 and 2) we were looking for somewhere to eat.

The Real Canoa was the first restaurant we found, it was empty (perfect for us with two noisey boys). Both boys and ourselves were given complimentary drinks - the attention to detail and the food were outstanding. They even had the common sense to bring our boys meals out before our own. My husband had the Monk Fish in Curray Sauce (beautiful), I had the Tagliatelli and Prawn (even lovelier) and the boys had Pirates Fish Fingers and Chicken Nuggets - the chicken nuggets were huge!

After our meal we walked down to the end of the road and on our way back an hour later, our waiter came out to greet us and offer a complimentary van back to our hotel! We were thoroughly impressed!

We would highly recommend this restaurant to families.

Looking forward to eating there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    318
    90
    29
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Oh Dear Oh Dear.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We are young in comparison to many people who visit Madeira and a night at the Real Canoa highlights that fact. The over efficient staff are annoying to the nth degree, the kitschy entertainment (man playing old tunes on organ and accordian , tulips from amsterdam was the worst) is abysmal. The fact is its so terrible its good if you are in your sixties !! The do ply you with cheap Madeira wine and after dinner liquers which i am sure adds to the experience for some !!

On to the food, we had the skewered beef, we asked for medium to rare just pink as we like it !! one was perfect, the other was still half alive, i am sure it would have mooed if it could !! There was a choice of veg which was ok. The waiter brought the wrong water , the waitress brought the wrong wine, they did both with a lot of enthusiasm though so you cant fault that.

Dont like to be critical ever, and i dont mean to be. However if you are in the younger set who visit Madeira i.e. under 50 avoid this place. Otherwise go for your life ...................

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb meal with friendly & helpful staff & good atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Whilst looking for another restaurant we came across Real Canoa where even in the pouring rain people were sat outside enjoying live music and eating traditional local food. The place was buzzing. There was attention to detail which makes all the difference to a good experience, where staff were friendly and bringing small tasters to try out which included complimentary drinks of Madeira wine. Would recommend this as a must do!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to eat here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This little restaurant tucked aware near the Pestana Grand Hotel is a gem. The staff are great fun, the food is very reasonable and the service excellent. Good choice, tasty food. It's sort of place where you feel important and cared for.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We came back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Last time we had dinner, this time lunch. The fish stew was amazing: full of fish and great flavour. The great thing about this restaurant apart from the food is the attention given by staff/management. Little nuggets of advice, like nearby walks etc, the local knowledge that you only get from the locals!
Also the extras, like 10% off if you pay cash and the complimentarybefore and after drinks (Madeira wine & liquors).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Canoa also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira

Been to Real Canoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Canoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.