We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaviao Novo

Gaviao Novo
Rua de Santa Maria, 131 | 9060-291 FUNCHAL, Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
+351 291 229 238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 421 Restaurants in Funchal
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
preston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Madeira. My husband had the steak which he said was very good, I had the scabbard fish with banana which was very tasty. The waiter was pleasant, the restaurant was quiet however it was only 5.30 in the evening as we had been up since 2.00am to get to the airport.
The desserts were disappointing as they were frozen and not freshly made.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    121
    34
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

- especially if you like fish. Pleasant staff who don't hassle you. Appeared to be very popular. Went back for a second opinion and glad we did.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Feel like good food and friendly service?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Even thought we visited te restaurant late (22.something) we were welcomed cordially. The star of the restaurant is definately the older waiter who has an amazing sense of humor, not in a obssesive way but very light and cheerfull! The food was excellent, steaks come with steamed veggies + rice or chips, all of them tasty as hell. We were offered a variety of seductive desserts but we were quite full by that time. The atmosphere of the restaurant itself was nothing special, but the street that it is on is very madeira like intimate and idylic style. Thank You, we had a wonderful time there!
P.S the first serving of the garlic bread ( DELICIOUS!) is free of charge, if you want more its 3.50
Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best on the Rua Santa Maria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Have eaten at this restaurant several times on two trips to Madeira and never been disappointed
Have had both fish and steak and both are as good as each other
Prices are very reasonable for a high traffic tourist area, the staff will have some banter with you and create a bit of atmosphere (they will try to get you to eat there as you pass but so does every other restaurant on the street)
It is not an intimate location with heavy foot traffic passing looking at you having dinner but it is a superb location on the main street in the old town
The tables are close together and there is no gap between them so you may be sat right next to other diners, dont let this put you off it all adds to the atmosphere
I recommend fillet steak in Rouquefort sauce

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stopped here for a quick lunch. She had shrimps and i went for traditional beef on laurel tree stick.
100 % of enjoyment

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaviao Novo also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Gaviao Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaviao Novo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.