We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely apartments with stunning views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palheiro Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palheiro Village to your Saves list
Palheiro Village
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Estrada do Aeroporto 65, Funchal, Madeira 9060-382, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely apartments with stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week stay at Palheiro Village. Set high in the hills the views over Funchal are stunning. Nicely furnished apartments (and villas) with well fitted kitchens and private terrace. Just a short drive from a couple of good supermarkets but you do need a car.

The staff here are delightful, nothing is too much trouble. The village has a central pool area with toilets, showers, changing rooms (all spotless) There is an outside table tennis table and the poolside loungers are top notch. Also available is a refreshment bar with hot and cold drinks and ice creams etc. You simply help yourself and leave the money in an "honesty" box.

Very close to the fabulous Palheiro golf course where the clubhouse restaurant serves quite excellent food and has a beautiful terrace overlooking Funchal and the setting sun in the evenings

Just one word of warning!! When thinking about car rental in Madeira AVOID (like the plague) an outfit called "Bravacar" who operate from premises akin to a breakers yard with cars that are an absolute disgrace. The service from the staff at Bravacar is the worst I have ever encountered in more than 50 years travelling. Do yourself a big favour----make sure your travel agent (or their car rental agent in Madeira) does not palm you off with this hopeless outfit.

Room Tip: Try for an upper apartment where the terrace faces the setting sun. Also those at the front are quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
81
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was our second visit to Palheiro Village. It is a truly fabulous place & we will be returning again next year. Our apartment (17 ) although close to the road disturbed us little & had a fantastic view of the harbour & Madeira. The only exception was on a days holiday for the island when before 7am some very inconsiderate islanders turned up across the road & had the doors open of their car witrh music playing at full volume. We contacted the police who were useless & made out they had never heard of Palheiro & that they did not understand English ! We then contacted the security at the village & within minutes the offenders drove off.

All the staff are friendly & very helpful & nothing is too much trouble. The maids who come in regularly to restock you with clean towels & clean are lovely. We were shown some of the other viillas & they are all imaculate & really beautiful. Thanks to all but in particular Vera, Amelia & Fatima.

If you are thinking of booking Palheiro, DON'T think, DO IT !! You will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in one of the villas for ten days in Oct 2012 and loved every minute. So much so that we are already planning a return trip next year. The villa was fantastic-very well-equipped and comfortable, and with a simply breathtaking view of Funchal harbour. It's such a lovely setting that we had to force ourselves to actually leave and go out anywhere! The pool is an excellent size and, during our stay, was never too busy or overcrowded. Don't miss the Palheiro gardens above the complex-they are stunning and so peaceful. We walked up, but be warned-it is a very steep climb. We managed to get around perfectly ok either walking or using taxis and the convenient local bus service, but if you are feeling less energetic, then consider renting a car! All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful. This is a super place and we fully recommend it!

Room Tip: It is quieter higher up in the village, so rent a place there if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just got back from a very relaxing stay at palheiro village. This was our 4th time in madeira previous visits were to a 4 star hotel of which we had no complaints but we wanted to self cater.
We chose palheiro from the reviews & were not dissapointed. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, the appartment was very clean, well equipped & comfortable. We will definately be returning. Thank you Vera & your team

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera_proemer, Manager at Palheiro Village, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello Bob!
Thank you for your comment. I apologize for only replying now.

When you were here in October, the sun was shining, as it is today (this week) again.

Hope to have you back. Give the spring a try, it is a wonderful time of the year.
Best wishes and till your next visit!

Kindest regards,
Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent a week at Palheiro in September 2012. We can recommend it : beautiful and well tended property, very nice apartments, very clean & well equipped, cleaning service every other day, great pool, beautiful premises an views, 15 min from airport and 10 minutes from Center of Funchal, a great solution for travellers with a car (indispensable). The ladies of the management office were very nice and helpful (especially Vera). We also spent a day at the spa of the Palheiro Hotel (Relais & Châteaux), very nice experience.

Room Tip: If you are disturbed by noise, try to rent an apartment higher up in the property, or with city view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I just spent a week at Palheiro with my partner and it was possibly the best place I've ever stayed. Staff were excellent; friendly and always helpful, outstanding views and just an all round awesome place. If you are travelling in Madeira you must definitely stay at Palheiro!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at Palheiro together with my boyfriend for a month during June this year, and we couldn't have been more pleased. We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment, which also had a kitchen, living room and a terass (which was massive!). All in all the room was very nice, and a perfect place to come home to at the end of the day, and wake up to at the beginning of next. The pool area was also very nice, and never crowded - which we enjoyed a lot.

Everything went smoothly, which meant that we didn't interact with the staff that much. But on the few occassions we did they were very friendly (once the receptionist even drove away with her car to get us tablets for the dishwasher in our apt.)

All in all - thank you Palheiro for an excellent stay at Palheiro village. Would recommend to anyone, but especially couples looking for a pleasant, romantic, quite stay away from the crowds at large hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palheiro Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palheiro Village

Address: Estrada do Aeroporto 65, Funchal, Madeira 9060-382, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palheiro Village 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palheiro Village is situated within the 120 hectare former hunting estate "The Palheiro Estate". The Palheiro Village offers 43 exclusively built and furnished apartments and villas. The superb sea views and panoramic views over Funchal make this the ideal holiday destination for the single traveller or families and friends. On the Estate you will find two restaurants, an 18 hole golf course,a tennis court, a newly built spa and a sub-tropical garden. A hire car is advisable for the property. Public transport into Funchal is just outside the front door. Welcome to the Palheiro Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, AvailPro, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palheiro Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palheiro Village Hotel Funchal
Palheiro Village Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palheiro Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.