We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good but not perfect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€79 (EUR)
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Generally good but not perfect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We spent a week here last July for the first time. Nice studio room with smallish,but adequate,sea facing balcony. Hotel is quite new and in good order. We didn't eat in the restaurant at all,as the room had full self catering facilities which we used for breakfast and lunch. There are lots of restaurants nearby and we ate out each evening. It's a bit far to walk into Funchal but there are frequent buses from immediately outside.
Our only gripe was the pool area. Pool itself is fine and beautifully warm but we found the sun beds extremely uncomfortable. Also,the parasols have no wheels on their bases,making them very difficult to move,especially as many are on grassy areas.
Location overall is good,with seafront walks on one side and plenty of restaurants nearby.
We are returning this July but won't be using the sun beds!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Esteemed Guest

We would like to start by thanking you for your latest visit to Madeira and stay at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort.

To acquire our guests evaluation is considered exceptional in a way that we can take in first hand the less positive points which have affected your stay and obtain any recommendations that you would like to convey for the future.

As a resort which aim is to provide to its guests a truly memorable holiday by providing an attentive service of excellence, we will take all this less positive points into account so to do our best to improve for the future.

We will be looking forward for your return visit to our resort so you may bear witness to the positives changes-over made since today and perhaps obtain the extra mark to be a considered by You a 5 star resort.

Respectfully Yours,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    252
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
183
653
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Promenade hotel for 3 weeks over Christmas and the New Year. This was our 1st visit to Madeira. We had asked for a superior room and were very pleased with our 1st floor corner room with large wraparound terrace/balcony with wonderful direct sea views to the front and views to the pool and sea beyond from the side with 2 sets of sliding doors so the room was very light and airy. The bathroom had large sliding windows over the bath, so the views were good from there too. No kettle supplied but I took our own, and as there was a fridge in room, no problem with making tea etc. Check In was quick and very friendly, with a glass of Madeira wine and our cases were in our room before we were!
We had booked with Atlantic Holidays and all the arrangements including transfers were excellent. All the staff were helpful and friendly, all requests (ie more towels, hangers etc) were met very promptly. The beds, 2 pushed together, were exceedingly comfortable, the pillows strange filled with what seemed like foam chips, but soon got used to them. The hotel made a real effort over Christmas with a choir and drinks and canapés we were all given Santa hats! We were B&B so didn't really eat at the hotel, so many restaurants within walking distance , can recommend Leenos and The Brasserie, both on the promenade if you turn left. For New Years Eve we were told that the Pestana Carlton roof terrace was one of the best places to see the fireworks, €40 each plus several glasses of champagne. Can highly recommend as you felt right among them and could see almost 360 deg. Truly amazing! Can also recommend Afternoon Tea at Reids Palace, expensive at €33.50 each but well worth it. The hotels outside pools were a bit chilly, did go in once, but the indoor pool was lovely. Just a couple of little niggles: the shower temp was very variable and would suddenly get very hot, and the breakfasts were ok but the hot food was more Luke warm, although there was a very good choice. We really enjoyed our stay here and loved Madeira, did several tours and saw lots of the beautiful island.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your most recent visit to Madeira and stay at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort.

We are truly rejoiced to know that at the end of your 3 weeks holidays period, everything was considered to your care.

As a resort which the main aim is to provide to its guests with a truly unforgettable holiday, where no efforts are spared, we thank you for providing us recognition towards our daily endeavors.

We apologize for the minor issues towards the outdoor pool temperature, the abrupt shower variation of water temperature and the food presented in our restaurant not being warm enough.
Please rest assured that such minor issues will be looked into, therefore improvements concerning such less positive points may be witnessed in the future for a better customer service.

Looking forward to host you again in a near future,

Respectfully Yours,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this hotel in January & had a lovely time. The hotel was clean, the breakfast varied & good quality & the staff were friendly. The indoor pool was a good temperature, the game's room a nice addition and there were great views of the sea & cliffs.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your most recent visit to Madeira Island and for your accomodation at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort.

It is wonderfull to become aware that we have managed to create a positive impact on your overall stay and that you have found our facilities ideal for your holidays.

In behalf of all the staff, we can only thank ourserlves for such nice comments!

We will be looking forward to host you again on a future visit,

With our warmest regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel. Excelent views. Very warming people working there. Fabulous rooms. Direct access to the promenade. Lots of pools, so you go to the ones with no kids. I've i told abou the killer views...?

Room Tip: The sea rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your most recent visit to our resort at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort, and for your time spent in providing to this site with your travel experience.

We thank you for your kind words conveyed to the resort facilities and to its staff members.

We will be looking forward to welcome you again in our resort and provide you with another memorable holiday.

Conveying our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elwyn
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband Mark and I always try and get away just after Xmas/New Yearar for a week away from the cold and often go to Madeira. We have been to this hotel a number of times and it is always very good.. It is still of the same high quality. A couple of years ago I became a wheelchair user. The staff are always so helpful. Unfortunately, I broke a bone in my leg recently and had to have a hip operation. I asked for some other equipment in our room before we arrived and the management sorted it out. This was so helpful. One thing I should mention, which is common practice in many hotels - accessible rooms are almost always basic. We always book.a superior sea view room, but accessible rooms are standard side seaview rooms and not something we would book. Consequently having to ask for other equipment.
Next refurbishment please do something about it.I am sure a lot of guests would benefit.
Room good, gardens have matured and plants look lovely, good breakfast buffet and when weather good enough can eat outside with lovely view of sea, Palm trees etc. All staff smiling and helpful. Very well situated. Although most of the time we eat out at many of the lovely restaurants Funchal has to offer, we usually have the dinner buffet - we did this year twice and it was fine, especially the large choice of wonderful desserts.
This hotel is also great value for money. Obviously this has been found out as usually at this time Funchal goes quiet and so does the hotel. Not this year, as the hotel has lots of guests although funchal is much quieter. Well done.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your most recent visit to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for your support to Tripadvisor so to submit your past travel experience.

We are truly rejoiced to know that your holiday in our resort has been pleasing and that all was up to your enjoyment.

Concerning refurbishment, please rest assured that such point will not be disregard, as we will do our best to always be attentive to such details at all times for a better guests benefit.

We thank you for the polite words given towards the staff level of professionalism, which is one of our best significance, by the important role they play in showing our Group aims and beliefs through their excellent service.

We will be looking forward to welcome you back again in a near future,

With our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been coming to the Promande at New Year since it opened. It is beautiful modern hotel in a superb setting. Most of the new Pestana hotels have interesting architecture and this is no exception. Usually the staff are very good, but this time, on arrival, we were merely greeted with "your room is not ready" and told when it would be ready. We went to breakfast the next morning and the hot food was barely warm because the burniers were not on fully. There have also been cut backs on the hot offering at the buffet. The "Madeira evening " buffet vegetable offering was restricted to rice, sweet potato and Brussel sprouts and we only got our drinks order taken when we were completing our starters. In general, the staff numbers seem to be down and they seem to be showing the strain of coping with this very busy time of the year.
We will be back next year because this is a fabulous place to spend New Year. And for many more years to come if the service is back to Pestana's old standards. But we will probable stick to dinning out.

Room Tip: Top floor is best! All rooms look out over the sea. Avoid the rooms on the East side as these are by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your most recent visit to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for taking part in providing to this site with your own travel experience.

The major purpose of existence of our Group and in particularly of the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort is to provide to its guests nothing more that the best holidays possible, by presenting a wonderful and reliable service by its staff.

All in all, as a resort focused to excel at all times for the best customer service, some of the points here brought to our attention will surely be looked upon and the necessary measures taken to always give the best service to those who chose us.

Therefore, we will be looking forward to welcome you back again in the future so you may see in firsthand the progress made since your last visit.

Respectfully yours,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The resort was completely full over Xmas so on arrival we were upgraded to one of the premier rooms on floor 8, which was absolutely huge with wrap around sea views and a his and hers showers with a porthole!! Below us we espyed a room with a free standing bath with its own seaview...luxury abounded all around at the Pestana Promenade!
Staff were very polite and efficient, you could vote for the most helpful one via a ballot that came through the door..so that kept everyone on their toes!! I voted for the wonderful smiley girl who made fresh pancakes for us at the breakfast bar.
The illuminations around the pool at night were wonderful and made everything look really special. I swam in the outdoor pool but it was so cold I couldn't believe it was actually heated. The inside pool in comparison was super hot and the hotel had the biggest jacuzzi I have ever seen tucked away in the spa area, at least 20 people could comfortably get into that.
We didn't partake in the 75 Euro xmas dinner but opted for the pool bar which although expensive compared to other cafe's in the Lido area was a whole lot cheaper that the xmas buffet indoors!

Room Tip: There is a back door out to the promenade which is helpful behind the pool. Everyone wanders around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your most recent visit to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for taking part in submitting your review to this website.

We cannot thank you enough for the polite words here given towards the resort well kept facilities, and for the professionalism of our staff which is one of our main prides.

Looking forward to welcome you again in all resort we remain,

With our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.