We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gets better every time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned from our third visit to the Promenade and it just gets better and better. The service from all staff is exceptional. They can never do enough for you but are not sycophantic in their manner. This applies to all of the staff. The housekeeping and maintenance staff are outstanding but not often recognised despite being the foundation of the hotel's success.

The pool area is spotless and the pool very well kept. There are plenty of sun beds and pool towels are supplied and changed daily if requested.

Breakfast is plentiful and has a wide range of choice in drinks as well as food. Service is excellent and a chef is on hand to make omelettes and eggs to order.

Rooms are spacious, clean and you are guaranteed a good night's sleep on the comfortable beds.

There are lots of exceptional restaurants close by together with a brilliant bar on the promenade just to the left of the hotel.

We will without doubt return next year. Nowhere else could compare!

Room Tip: For those with young children or those with limited mobility a ground floor room would be better. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    617
    234
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
174
593
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our first time in Maderia and very pleasantly surprised, there isn't your standard English strip of bars but bars which you can relax and watch the world go by. The Mamma Mia restaurant is very good excellent tasty food. Hotel is very clean and tidy but would agree with others that the nightlife is some what missing every time we returned there would only be one or two couples sat in the bar, drinks can be expensive. The breakfast is plentiful lots of choice and no issues of finding a table, however this can not be said about the sunbeds, there is your usual people who put towels on beds and don't use them all day. If you are luck enough to get a bed overlooking the sea superb views of the sea, there are no beaches. Lots of local cafes offer good choice of food. Helpful reception staff who let us keep our room on hour later to get ready for our flight with no extra cost. Would recommend this group but would stay nearer Funchal if was to go again, although buses and taxis operate. Careful of taxis get quote before you get in them one of ours didn't put the meter on and tried to charge us 12 euros each to Funchal. Apart from this excellent time and weather fabulous.

Room Tip: would recommend higher level of room to ensure sea view we was on the first floor although view not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel from 11th Aug 2014 to 25th Aug. Staff very helpful and polite. Excellent hotel, infinity pool very good, especially now they've fixed the edging. Rooms are well equipped, clean and modern. Free air con and safety deposit box. Free wifi in communal areas. Hair dryer in bathroom. Beach towels free of charge. Breakfast was good but other food and drink quite expensive considering there are some excellent restaurants nearby, ( you should try the Goya which is first class ). Be wary of the note through the door inviting you down to the bar for a free drink. I wasn't sure, but took up the offer to find that a man was waiting in the wings to persuade us to attend a one and a half hour meeting where they would try to sell us some way of booking places at the hotel online at a discount. We were told that if we attended we'd get a 40 euro gift or other similar incentives which gave the impression they would try to persuade us to buy into some sort of deal which had the feel of a timeshare, although he assured us it was not. I wasn't happy about the way they went about it so I didn't attend. Why would they need to employ these sales tactics if it was a good offer in any case. No real beach nearby but a pebble beach not far from the hotel means you can snorkel. Boat are a must. We went on the Sea Born catamaran and saw a whale and about 100 dolphins up close. We had Afternoon tea in Reids which was quite expensive but the staff were excellent and kept bringing extra food so you get more than enough to eat, and all food was great. Thought we'd go to the Ritz for cocktails afterwards but found that disappointing. On the whole, Madeira was excellent and we couldn't have been happier with the hotel we chose.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to have some sort of sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our third visit to the Pestana Promenade and once again the 14 night stay proved to be very enjoyable. This year we stayed on a bed & breakfast basis, having tried half board in the past. This allowed us the freedom to eat out when we wanted and prices in local restaurants were well within budget.

The resort can be a little expensive in that everything has to be paid for, no all inclusive.

In the past we have booked a superior room with a sea view but were a little disappointed on our last stay so we booked a cheaper classic room with a sea view. Not as large a room but a much better view. The room was very adequate and the maid staff were excellent.

Happy hour in the bar proved an attractive offer prior to eating dinner either in the hotel or in the local area.

The pool is heated and one of the best we have ever come across, making you feel you have to swim. On the down side, the pool deck area is clearly too small for the number of guests and over the years the number of umbrellas available has gone down considerably. Wear and tear but they need to be replaced. It used to be one umbrella per pair of loungers, now you are lucky to get one per four loungers.

Obviously, August is a busy time with lots of families so if you want a quieter stay, September is a good month.

On the whole, another splendid holiday.

Room Tip: Definitely book a sea view room on the 4th floor upwards, a great view of the pool and the promenade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not long back from Pestana Promenade and glad to say it was a lovely hotel and quiet holiday.
Fantastic sized suite with living room, bedroom and 2 bathrooms (which was a surprise). Great double balcony and view was was great although wasn't fully facing the sea. Defo recommend room 1533 however the only gripe we had was with the air conditioning did not work well (we weren't the only ones). They sent in an engineer a few times who didn't seem to make anything better. It so happened that the air con worked better between 5-8pm then stopped working as strong. One of the reception staff managed to get us a fan which was great but shouldn't have been required. Also the movies did not work in pay per view which was something to do with the mainland?
We stayed B&B and the breakfast was great. Excellent choices including fresh omelettes and crepes. The lunch at 'The Deck' was highly over priced €11 for a club sandwich. We were also served by an older guy who seemed like he really didn't want to be there - soooo rude!!! Again we were not the only ones to comment on this. Plenty of other choices on the promenade that are cheaper and polite and friendly staff.
Getting a sunbed was a joke however if we never got a bed we walked down to the sea and swam there. A lot of kids but it is a family hotel and will definitely consider this booking next holiday.
1/2 price happy hour every night at the bar between 5pm and 7pm, which was affordable however too expensive after that. This is evident when the bar is empty (unless an event on) from around 8pm onwards.
Rooms immaculately clean, reception staff welcoming and breakfast staff polite and friendly.
Funchal itself is very beautiful. Not many people mine and my partners age though (30). Families and over 50s I'd say. There was hardly any music in the bars and restaurants which we found bizarre. Too quiet for us.There is not really a strip of bars as such but I'm assured if you took a trip into the old town, you would find some.
Good bars - The Hole in One and Trap (mix of music and club upstairs)
Excellent restaurant - Hotel Cipriani (amazing views, ensure to book before sunset)

Hope this helps and not too long winded.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I recently returned from 10 days staying in Funchal at the Pestana Promenade Hotel. We had not visited Madeira before but after reading reviews on this site we opted for this hotel and were generally pleased with our choice. On the Plus side, the Hotel is very modern and sits in a very nice position with good views of the sea and with pleasant walks along the promenade. It is about a 35 minute walk into the centre of Funchal although there is a very frequent bus service with stops right outside the hotel (€2.20 per person per journey) and there were also taxis sitting outside the hotel which we used on a couple of occasions which only cost €5. We were half board and the food was excellent but we found local restaurants were plentiful and very reasonably priced so we may opt for B and B only next time. There were plenty of eateries within 5 minutes walk and a cheap supermarket. There was an empty fridge in our room but no kettle or espresso machine which we have had in similar quality hotels elsewhere. We had a superior room on the top floor with superb sea views and a nice private terrace with table and chairs. The room was large and airy with a large bathroom. The bed was king sized and very comfortable. We liked the 3 pools and the heated indoor pool and large jacuzzi but there were quite a few children there most of whom were well behaved but with the odd badly behaved one!!! Balls being kicked about!
We loved Funchal and visited many times both day and evening and there is plenty to see and do with lots of bars, shops and restaurants. We took the cable car to the Tropical Gardens and spent a very enjoyable day there.
When staying around the hotel we never had a problem finding two sun beds but they were in need of replacement and also the towels were rather thin and worn. There is a very helpful Pool attendant who would move parasols for guests etc
We would certainly go back to Madeira and would consider this hotel although one slightly nearer to Funchal centre would be nice .
There are a lot of time sharers at this hotel with their own apartments which often meant that the dining room was nice and quiet. We were invited to a short presentation from a time share representative who was not at all pushy and we got free drinks and an invitation to a longer session at another Pestana Hotel in the resort but we passed on this.
All in all a very enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor but lifts could be slow!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just arrived home from a lovely holiday in Madeira, having spent 11 nights at the Pestana Grand. We were very impressed with the hotel. It was modern and had all the facilities that you would expect. We had a room with a side view of the ocean, which was fine as really once you stood on the balcony you had a good sea view. Despite over looking part of the pool area, it was generally very quiet. Th room was very spacious and comfortable, housing a super king sized bed, sofa, arm chair, desk, tv and fridge. The bathroom was excellent with both a bath an desperate shower plus bidet. The room was immaculately clean and clean towels were put in daily, along with towels for around the pool. There were dozens of beds around the pool so never a problem in funding a bed if you needed one. Breakfast was very good, excellent choice of both cold and hot choices. Seating was not a problem and it could be in or outdoors. If you required a lunch then the pool bar served very reasonable snacks, that weren't over priced. Initially when the hotel was booked, I did wonder if it was a little too far away from the restaurants etc, but in actual fact it was fine. The hotel provides a free bus service every half hour into Funchal. Taxi's are available easily. We would certainly stay at this hotel again. The staff are friendly and accommodating, and always eager to meet the needs of residents.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit to Madeira Island and for staying at the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort.

It is with lots of content that we become aware that your stay in our resort has been to your entire satisfaction, enabling we hope in the future many return visits.

We cannot be happier when reading this excellent review.

In behalf of our staff we thank you for the kind words!

Please be advised that our resort does not have a free shuttle bus into Funchal.

Instead there is outside the main entrance of the resort a Bus Stop where the guests may use the Public Transportations Bus into Funchal. To use this service is required to purchase a bus fare on the bus or on our Customer Services Office.

We will be looking forward to welcome you again in our resort,

With our utmost regards,

Tânia Felgueiras
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.