We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic first stay.............” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic first stay.............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Having read the excellent reviews and booked we were pleased that the hotel did not let us down. We were allocated a room on the top floor which had a fantastic sea view and over the gardens and pool. The room was very spacious with a great sized bathroom. We stayed on a half board basis. The breakfasts were of extremely good quality with everything you would expect and want. The evening meals were buffet style and varied with there being some themed nights that are well worth going to. We did go out a couple of nights to sample some local restaurants on the Promenade, the Brasserie and La Basilico which were fantastic and great value.

The hotel was always clean and the staff really pleasant and helpful. The pools were clean and very warm! The infinity pool was a great place to watch the passing boats. The gardens made it a great place to sunbathe and relax.

The walk into Funchal is a good 35 mins but 45 mins to the far end, the old town and cable car. Funchal is having a lot of work to divert the water channels and can get very busy but it has some lovely areas to explore.

We did the tour of the west side of the island in an 8 seater mini bus which was a full day but well worth it. There were plenty of stops and chances to stretch your legs. It was great value at €40 each including a 4 course lunch. We booked the tour through the hotel but there may be slightly cheaper deals elsewhere but make sure you go in a minibus and not a coach as you will go to more places.



Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and contribution in presenting your experience in this travel review site.

It is with happiness and great sense of achievement to become aware that we have come upon your expectations and beyond.

We will be sure to keep up the high standards towards the service and resort facilities which is of great importance to us.

Be able to provide you with memorable moments it is our main goal, therefore if we managed to provide you with a breath taking holiday, we have successfully succeeded in our main endeavor.

Presenting our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    238
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
178
608
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Super holiday all round! Few niggles but hardly worth considering in light of all the good points :
Location is great only 30 minutes from the airport and in close proximity to bars, restaurants, The Forum shopping centre and Funchal centre itself (30 minutes walk)
The hotel is contemporary and welcoming with good size rooms and comfy beds. Ours had a sea view which was superb. They have 3 outdoor swimming pools, one really warm, one slightly less warmer and a paddling pool. They are all lovely to swim in and one is an infinity pool with sea views that then drops down to an outdoor jacuzzi. The indoor pool is again amazing and would be ideal in winter months. There is also and indoor jacuzzi and sauna etc..
The main restaurant is buffet style and although our first impression was that there wasn't a huge selection what they did provide was superb . Both breakfast and evening meal we thoroughly enjoyed and at lunchtime there was the deck poolside bar or local bars only a few minutes walk away. You can also swop evening meals for lunchtime which we did on a couple of occasions. There is gate access out from the pool on to the promenade which is lovely. Left takes you towards Funchal centre. Good supermarkets can be found left out of the gates about a ten minute stroll. Also out of reception turn left up the steps on the right hand side of the opposite of the road and walk along the road which then looks down towards the entrance to the hotel.
Pool towels are provided by the hotel and there are plenty of sunbeds even in August !
Now to the best part - the staff!!! Lovely lovely staff in particular carol in the restaurant and a gentleman who I never caught his name but i think he was the restaurant manager. What lovely people. They helped to make a good holiday really great for us.
To sum it up - great hotel with good food in a great location with wonderful staff in a lovely setting . Can't wait to return
Top tip- happy hour between 5 and 7 pm all drinks half price !!

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view or side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for being able to exceed your expectations.

It is with immense satisfaction to become aware of such good remarks concerning our restaurants, facilities and staff performance.

We are sure to know that this review will better help others who decide to visit us in the future.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

All in all this was an excellent hotel which made our stay in Madeira a wonderful experience, We stayed with my two (early 20s) daughters and their boyfriends and although one of the boys thought the Island was a bit quiet, we all enjoyed the stay in the hotel. We paid the extra for a full sea view room and this was well worth it as the other 2 couples had side views and although the rooms were the same, the location was nowhere near as good as ours. We were B&B and the breakfast choice was excellent and we ended up having a family meal at 0900 everyday for an hour while we feasted on the expansive choice available. The pools were excellent and extremely an extremely relaxing place to be. The rooms were well appointed and extremely comfortable. The hotel is just outside of the main town but it is only a 20 min walk, or short taxi or bus ride, both of which leave from right outside the hotel. The staff were all friendly and only too eager to help and advise. We used a local company called: maderiaspecial tours.com to take collect us from the airport and take us to the hotel and it was very reasonable at 30 Euros which was cheaper than local taxis. We used the same company for 2 half day trips with our own guide all for 65 euros, which for 6 of us was excellent value - a bit thank you to Nelson and Fernando who treated us well and Fernando's knowledge of the Island was great. There were a few negative points though. Evening entertainment was poor and probably explains why the hotel and bar area was so quiet after 2100. More Bar Staff are needed during happy hour as it gets quite busy and on one occasion by the time we got served it had passed 1900 and we did not get the drinks at the happy hour prices. Internet connection was very poor and does depend on where your room is located. I thought it was a bit tight for a hotel of this size to charge 5 Euros for the loan of an iron and ironing board. Despite signs being visible all around the pool about reserving sunbeds this was ignored by the staff and it was very frustrating to see so many beds reserved with towels and people not using them until mid afternoon. If the hotel has gone to the trouble of having the signs made and displayed, then the policy should be enforced. Finally, arrangements for leaving luggage on our last day were unsatisfactory. We were told to leave it by the reception and it would be put in a safe place, but when we came back to get changed at the end of the day prior to leaving, our luggage was still in the same place meaning that anyone could have tampered with it during the day. The reception staff told us that the room they usually used was too full. Despite these negative points, we would certainly return.

Good local transport. Excellent range of shops and supermarkets. Good range of restaurants and bars. Nice walks along promenade. Lovely views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and away from the noise of the ground floor with the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for posting your review.

We are glad to read that your stay with us has been satisfactory and although not perfect as we hoped for, as not been spoiled for less positive points.

Please rest assured such less positive comments and faults raised in this review will be promply looked upon, as it has been forwarded to all departments in question for changes in the future.

As for the lugage storage, we sincery apologize for being unable to store it safely, as we assure you it was an off situation which as been rectified, for better customer service in the future.

We hope you may continue to entrust in us in the future to come, whenever you decide to visit our beautifull Island.

Presenting our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We both spend there a very good Madeira Holiday. Awesome and large Hotel - with avery good Interiour. My Friends am me have been there for 14 Days. The Beach at Hotel was very clean with clear Water. Swimmingpool Area have been nice, but mostly much Guests there, so we decided to go better to the Beach. In Evening the Buffet for Dinner was very good and there have been a large Choice of Meals. Especially the Desserts have been very tasty. Reception Staff was very friendly and did gave us good Recommendations for Daytrips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your latest visit to our Island and resort and for your time in writing this review.

We are much obliged for such comments raised.

It is rewarding for us as your hotel of choice to be able to exceed your expectations.

With this in mind, we hope you may allow us to continue to be your hosts, ever you decide to visit our beautifull Island.

Presenting our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My 3rd visit to Madeira and my friends first time. Not stayed in hotel for summer holiday before so apprehensive about constraints and it not feeling like a proper holiday however wanted the standard and this did not disappoint at all. We had a studio with kitchenette, fully equipped for want we needed, breakfast and lunch. Lovely sea view and quiet. Whole environment peaceful and meticulously clean and maintained. Pools excellent and very warm, could even been cooler for the heat we had as it was August, would be great if the temperature was maintained in cooler months. Only negatives were the sun bed reserving by everyone, so annoying to have no choice as towels were on most beds by 9 am but no bodies, recommend they monitor this and take action. Spa was great and had a treat but is expensive. Plenty of restaurants nearby and the promenade in front was great for walks and more restaurants, these away from the traffic so slightly higher prices . Do not expect cheap dining, much the same as here, average £20 for main and half bottle of wine pp. worth seeking out the restaurants in the old town slightly cheaper and good quality . A tip, go to the newsagent and get a pre paid bus card, E1.30 as opposed to E1.90 on the bus. Buses good for getting around. Also check out the tour companies, same trips but prices vary, down on the prom we were offered euro 35 for a day trip but found in the precinct nearby for Euro 20!, same trip, excellent value. Looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Standard high, studio great for two, but the one bed apartments are lovely and spacious, if spending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pestana Promenade Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a very relaxing experience with us.
It feels so special to receive such feedback from our guests. We have shared your compliments with our teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a brilliant holiday with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Pestana Promenade Hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Cannot say anything bad about this hotel. We holidayed as a family of 2 adults and a five year old boy, as part of a group of 12.
On arrival we were told they had upgraded us to a room with kitchenette. Staff take your cases to your room. Some others in our party were asked if they would like to have half board in return for changing their side sea view rooms to a different room. Beware if you ask for a side sea view room as you may only see the sea by standing on your balcony wall as the lower floors have heavy growth of plants outside the balcony.
The rooms are spotless and well maintained. The kitchenette has everything you need, dishwasher, tea towels, washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets. The rooms have a window into the bathroom and the bathroom has surround sound so you can listen to the radio/tv whilst showering. Plenty of towels are given and you get pool towels too.
Rooms have two single beds pushed together and our little boy had a sofa bed.
Rooms have air conditioning but this is quite noisy.
The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast has a vast range of choice and all well prepared. We stayed for dinner one night, a Madeira themed night and the buffet was fantastic. It cost about €28 per person and our son ate for free.
Bar staff are lovely and happy hour starts at 5pm until 7pm everyday where prices are halved.
Poolside restaurant has lovely food, a little pricey though.
There are 2 large pools and a childrens pool. One of the pools has an infinity section which looks out to sea. There is also a jacuzzi and a indoor pool and jacuzzi.
Getting a sunbed was never a problem, plenty for everyone.
Watch out if you are getting a taxi as the prices vary a great deal, and increase a lot more if you get the hotel to call you one!
All in all a fantastic hotel, wish I could pick it up and put it in another resort next year!

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 1 are so handy because you don't need a lift to the pool or restaurant or bar, ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Pestana Promenade.
We were delighted to read your review with regards to your stay with us. We would like to thank you for your kind words about the hotel and the rooms, as well as the hotel’s Poolside restaurant.
Please allow us to personally thank you for your positive comments about the hotel staff whom you have kindly mentioned were very friendly and helpful. We will ensure that these compliments are shared with them.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Pestana Promenade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from our first stay in Madeira.The hotel is in a lovely and in a quiet setting. The staff are very helpful and attentive

Our party was a family of 4, including 2 over 18yrs old children and we all said would love to return to this hotel

There was a broad range of ages staying in the hotel. i.e. few months old upwards

If you are not on half board, then the hotel is close to several good restaurants and shops for buying food. Buffet breakfast excellent choice of hot and cold food. Evening meals had a good selection but if you are staying for longer than a week then you may find the menu a bit similar.

We had superior seaview rooms on the 4th floor. The bedrooms was large, and the bathroom had large separate shower and large corner bath. The hotel provides extra towels for the pool

If you travel into Funchal the cost of buses approx 1.80 euros. It may be cheaper to catch a Taxi or walk If your party is more than 2. Walking into Funchal takes approx 25 mins at a reasonable pace. Note: Hotel to Funchal is mainly down hill and the promenade walk does not go all the way into Funchal.

A couple of very minor gripes - there is a laundry service which is very good, but is costly i.e. 35 euros for a bag of washing (bag is about the size of a pillow case). You can wash your smalls in the bidet and hang them on the line over the bath.

Poolside sun loungers - The hotel has signs stopping people from reserving sun loungers. Unfortunately people still find the need to reserve a sun lounger at 08:00am and don't return until late afternoon.

Room Tip: Although none of the rooms face the main road; which is quite quiet after dark and will be one way i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Pestana Promenade
It was lovely to read your review, and we were happy to know that you would love to return in the future!
I would also like to thank you for your positive remark about the hotel which you have kindly mentioned was lovely and in a quiet setting with very helpful and attentive Staff .
Please rest assure we already foward your comments about the Laudry and sun loundgers to the management and to the departments concern.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to Pestana Promenade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.