We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have chosen better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€79 (EUR)
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Surrey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Couldn't have chosen better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose this hotel 10 months ago for a mini get-away break and we really couldn't have chosen a better hotel or location. The hotel itself is surrounded by bars, restaurants, cafes all within walking distance. It is overlooking a promenade going towards the Lido and to other sea access areas. There is a bus stop outside the front door for local buses, or the yellow or red open top tour buses. Taxis are on hand, a Spar supermarket is across the road. Souvenier shops are all nearby.

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted with Five Star Customer service. A glass of peach coctail was served as we checked in. We were told all about the area, trips and if there was anything at all we needed, they could sort it out for us. The room was big, and all rooms overlook the pool and the ocean, and what a view! We were on the 3rd floor with a large balcony. The rooms are big and clean. Big wardrobes, sofa, table, kitchen area that was fully stocked and a big bathroom with separate toilet inside the bathroom area. The bathroom is visiable through an internal window, but this does have a blind for privacy. Towels are provided for the pool area separate from your bath towels.

The pool is big and heated. It's split into 3 different areas with a children's play pool. There is also an indoor pool within a glass building. The largest part of the pool is an infinity pool overlooking the ocean, and down onto a jacuzzi pool. The whole pool area is a raised terrace over a promenade below, there are steps and a locked door (room key operated) onto the promenade from the pool area. The pool area has toilets (very clean), and a bar and eating area. There are pool attendants and bar staff all over the place, and again the service is outstanding. It almost seems like anything you want, someone arrives and sorts it out for you. If we wanted an umbrella up and some shade, one of the attendants was there and sorting it out for us almost immediately. There are plenty of sunloungers all around the pool area. We were there during school holidays at the end of July, and no problems at all with finding a free sun lounger.

Breakfast in the hotel is your standard European choices, breads, ham, cheese, yoghurt, bacon, eggs. Something for everyone. We didn't have any evening meals in the hotel as the hotel was surrounded by so many restaurants. There is a bar and it was half price cocktails every night between 5-7pm. Again, always great service.

I just cannot fault any member of staff for the whole trip. Everyone is there to help you and to make sure you have a great holiday. I loved this hotel. The location, the feel, the set out, the staff, everything about this place is perfect for just switching off the second you walk through those doors. The hotel is one of those places that is perfect for everyone, couples, families, groups of friends.

I loved Madeira, and I loved this hotel. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review and we would like to thank you for spending the time to share your experience about Pestana Promenade here on Tripadvisor. We highly appreciate your kind words, Team at Pestana Promenade is proud to keep up with our guest´s your expectations consistently throughout your stays, especially with regards to the warmth of our ambassadors and quality of our facilities.

We certainly look forward to your return in the future!

Your sincerely
Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    248
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
182
641
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spend there a nice Vacation Week (already our second Visit in Funchal) and can recommend this good middle Class Hotel to others. When we made booking, we did not expect anything special, but during the time in the Hotel, we really saw, that they doing there a very friendly Service to the Guests. also the Food - Breakfast Buffet and Dinner - was fresh and nice decorated. Swimmingpool was very clean there. We had a Standard Room and we found that it was in a good average and top clean. Hotel is near Funchal Center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Pestana Promenade team we want to thank you for taking the time to review our resort on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Pestana Promenade and were very pleased with the friendly and helpful service provided by our Team as well as the food we have on offer at our restaurants. We believe that our attentive service is what sets Pestana Promenade apart and we take pride in meeting our guest’s expectations consistently.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Pestana Promenade. We had e-mailed the hotel prior to arrival to request a top floor room and they responded promptly and did indeed allocate us the room we had requested. The room was clean, modern and spacious. There was a free safe, mini fridge, tv with many English channels, toiletries were replenished daily as we're the towels and pool towels. We had a huge bathroom with walk-in shower with two showers! A bath and his and hers sinks. Our room had spectacular sea and pool views. The hotel has free WiFi. We stayed on half board basis and we found the food to be excellent, well presented, tasty and hot. Twice, we had a buffet barbecue on the terrace which was lovely. The swimming pools are excellent and clean. Plenty of sun loungers. All staff were pleasant and efficient especially our maid, who deserves acknowledgement of her friendly and efficient service, her surname was Silva, first name Carma, I believe. She is a credit to Pestana staff. The hotel grounds contain many beautiful plants and are immaculately maintained. There is a lovely promenade to walk along and bars and restaurants nearby. There are a couple of supermarkets and a shopping centre, The Forum, nearby. The hotel is situated out of Funchal centre which we found perfect and is walkable if you want to. Regarding previous people's comments of the two lifts being inadequate for the hotel, we personally did not find this to be an issue. We were also apprehensive about the roadworks which had been mentioned but needn't have been. Yes, we did hear them from time to time but we did not find them intrusive and they did not spoil any aspect of our relaxing holiday. In regard to Funchal town centre, it is worth mentioning that, at present, the whole of the seaside of the promenade is boarded off as they are doing major improvement works and although these will no doubt be advantageous when completed they do detract from the otherwise lovely town. But this does not impact on the hotel whatsoever as it is not located in the town centre. The weather was not very kind to us whilst we were there, being very humid and cloudy with sun only 3 days of our week but on our previous three visits to this lovely island we have had lovely weather.

Room Tip: If you pay for a superior room you are placed on higher floors so can see the spectacular sea and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Pestana Promenade among the many options available in Funchal and for acknowledging so many positive elements during your recent stay here with us. We always strives to achieve our commitment to provide our guest with the best of service and products,
we are delighted that you had a great stay with us and we sincerely appreciate your comments especially regarding our team of colleagues. I have shared your feedback not only with Carmo but also the rest of the team and they are very happy to learn that their efforts are highly appreciated by our guest´s.

Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel, we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Pestana Promenade in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Been here 3 times now and hoping to return soon. Great hotel, in a lovely location on the outskirts of the main town. The staff are great and can't imagine that you'd find a nicer hotel in Madeira if you like modern, contemporary style. Make sure you try 'Solar da Adjuda' restaurant up the hill just off the main road - the steak on a stone option is fantastic!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a two bedroom apartment then the majority of rooms are duplex over two floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you immensely for your recent visit and for the nice comments posted in this review.
We will keep up to do our best to provide to our guests memorable moments and enjoyable stays, so you may continue to visit us and entrust in us for such demand.

We hope you may continue to believe in us and visit us in the future,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel as a Timeshare swop through RCI. Great welcome from the 1st encounter - a glass of Maderia wine at reception. We arrived early and our rooms were not ready, we were given a token for a glass of bubbly and asked to return at 2.0pm. they looked after our cases. We went to their pool bar and had a bite to eat + the bubbly and then collected our key and went to our room where our cases had been taken. Room was very clean and tidy (we had a studio with a partial kitchen, fridge, dishwasher, hob, microwave etc, plenty for our requirements. Balcony was ample size for sitting out with a table and great ocean views + views of the 4 pools. 3 outdoor + 1 indoor. The pools were excellent with an infinity pool and all were heated. Beds were made every day and bins emptied + cleaning on all but 2 days. All staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. WiFi was available for free and I could get it OK in our room which was quite away from the public areas, not fast but fine for e-mail, Facebook etc. The ac in the room was good with 3 speeds and you could turn it off if you don't want any noise at all. The hotel has a Happy hour 5 - 7pm with reasonable prices for all drinks. The hotel room was very quiet at night and great for a good nights sleep. Funchal centre is about a 50 min steady walk away, but there is a bus stop just outside the hotel. Taxi is approx 7 Euro's from the centre depending on the lights and exactly where you are. The promenade front area walk is very nice but hilly in places. There are lots of very good restaurants nearby, would recommend Real Canoa, X Tonel & Olives. From the airport we caught the Aerobus shuttle 5 Euros each and were dropped off at the hotel, Taxis were approx 25 - 30 Euros. The Aeorbus is just outside the airport doors so easy to get, although you have to lift your luggage on and off, so could be a problem for some.
As we had been to Maderia before we just did one trip to the Sunday market over to the East of the Island - this was a waste of time and money. Basically only half the stalls were in use and the rest was more like a rummage sale. There also was a Famers market which was better but only if you want food, veg or flowers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Guest

it is with immense pleasure and satisfaction that we become aware that we managed to provide you with a great stay at our hotel and on our island.

We thank all the polite words mentioned here about our staff and our facilities.

We hope we may have another opportunity to host you in our hotel in the future.

With this in mind, we await your visit in the near future.

With our utmost regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

When we arrived we received a warm welcome from very helpful staff. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are comfortable and the TV had good selection of English channels. The breakfast and the evening buffet meal was excellent, with plenty of choice. As a keen gym user I spent an hour before dinner each evening using the small gym which had a good selection of well maintained, good quality equipment.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of Funchal with plenty of bars and restaurants on the way.
I only had a couple of minor quibbles, the lifts seemed very slow and in our room the WiFi was very weak, however if I returned to Madeira I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your support to this website and for taking part in posting your travel review.

It is with a sense of pride and achievment to have been able to provide you in our resort with a memorable stay.

Concerning the less good points conveyed here, please rest assured we will do our very best to rectify them in the futures to come.

Presenting our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights and had a great time.

Hotel grounds were great and our room was large and clean with a balcony and see view.

We were B and B and the breakfast was good we did not eat in the restaurant at night as it was quite expensive usually 29 Euros per person + drinks.

You can walk to funchal in about 25 minutes but there is a bus stop right outside hotel and plenty of taxis which are cheap if walking is difficult.

They have a happy hour 5 to 7 where drinks are half price .

All the staff from the check in to the bar and waiting staff were great always happy and plenty of time for you. We visited most of the other Pestana properties and think this was the best one by far.

Would stay here again if visiting Maderia again.

Room Tip: Try to get see view in front as some back rooms look onto road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your travel experience, which may help help others to decide either to visit us in the future.

We thank you for the compliments made towards the staff performance and sympathy, we will be sured to forward to all envolved so all may keep up the good work and positive actions.

As for the less good point towards the cost of the dinners, rest assured such point was conveyed to the person in charge for this department for changes in the future, if they become needed.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.