We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€74 (EUR)
Ranked #15 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. Room was very clean, modern and spacious, ideal when travelling with a 1 1/2 year old. We had a large balcony overlooking the pool and onto the sea, which was lovely. Pool area was lovely and never overly busy when we visited in Aug 12 for a week. No problems getting a sun bed, particularly at children's area of pool which was practically empty. Weather was glorious and it was an ideal spot just to chill out and relax. We went B&B, so can't comment on food. The breakfast choice was nothing great, with a relatively small selection each morning laid out in a rather small space.

Location wise, the hotel is in a quiet area, and the area itself is very hilly. Amenities and places to eat and drink weren't too far a walk, however the hills made it a bit of a struggle in the heat and with a pram. This is definitely something to consider when choosing a holiday in Funchal. It is beautiful and a lovely place for a break, but not ideal for prams!

No complaints at all about the hotel. It fitted the type of holiday we were looking for exactly. Lovely accommodation, beautiful surroundings In a quiet location. Just the thing for a sunshine break away from it all. Would highly recommend, but not if you are looking for entertainment in abundance!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start by thanking you for your support to this travel review website.

It is always a good factor to get the feedback of your guests once they are back home, so they may provide us with their travel experience!

With that in mind we cannot thank you enough for the good words provided in this travel review.

We will be sured to maintain the resort beautifull, modern and spotless.

We will expect a returned visit, as we will be delighted to welcome you again.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    271
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
192
706
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Last year I wrote a good review for this establishment. However, this last visit was not nearly as pleasant, far from it.

Firstly, when we arrived in our apartment and opened the door to our “private and peaceful” terrace with spa, our ears were assailed by the dreadful noise of construction work. Formerly behind this part of the hotel, was a house with several trees screening us from any housing to the rear. No longer. The road that stopped at the entrance of the Promenade is now being extended to make a dual carriage for the heavy and continual traffic along this part of the town. While I appreciate that the decision to do this work was not down to the Promenade/Pestana Group, they could have warned us. The whole apartment shook at times and the noise was unbearable from 8.30 am until 5pm for the first five days of our stay. Had we been warned we would not have come at that time.
We were sold this apartment as luxurious and, being on the top floor, quiet and peaceful. When this was mentioned to Owner Relations during this unpleasant stay, we were told that the road had always been planned and was on a model, somewhere in the hotel! During the sales pitch this road extension was never mentioned, nor the model shown to us.
Apart from the above, the general standard of maintenance and house-keeping is not nearly as good as it was previously. The carpets and chairs in the apartment have many ugly stains, and the walls scuff marks. Surely it is possible for Pestana to wipe these marks off and get the carpets and chairs cleaned.
We had to ask several times for basics such as a sponge for washing up, a cloth for wiping up, and the bin was frequently left without a liner. It would be good if we could turn off the lights on the balcony outside the bedrooms before they go off automatically after midnight, so that we could have the curtains open.

As stated in my previous review, there are only two lifts and on occasions we had to wait for up to 8 minutes to get from the pool area back up to the apartment. We don’t mind walking down six flights of stairs, but do not care to walk up six flights of stairs. The stairwells all smelt of cigarette smoke.
We are returning later this year and are uncertain of what we will encounter.

Room Tip: Check that the building work has been completed before booking at this hotel/resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Managment Pestana Vacation Club at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and we deeply regret the inconvenience caused by the road works behind the Pestana Promenade building.
I would like to clarify that we informed our members about the works in March 2013 when we were informed by the local authorities.
All efforts have been made to minimize the disturbance by offering alternative apartments and we are fully sympathetic with our members and guests affected by those works.

I notice your comments regarding the condition of your apartment and I would like to assure you of our commitment to maintain our usual high standards.

We all look forward to your return later this year.

Yours sincerely,

Managment
Pestana Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here last week of June first week of July and was very impressed with the overall experience.

From the greeting to leaving nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were always friendly and helpful. Spacious room overlooking the pool and sea. Choice of swimming pools and jacuzzi with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. We were half board and found breakfast was adequate until the evening meal. The buffet style evening meal had plenty of choice and catered for all tastes. Remember Gents need to wear long trousers.

Take advantage of the happy hour to try out new cocktails although we didn't find the drinks too expensive anyway.

Towels to use by the pool are supplied in your room, so you don't need to take your own. - This perhaps could be mentioned in the brochure to save weight in your case.

Would definitely recommend to friends and family and will return.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which opened straight out to the pool but we never found it noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your support to this website and for posting here your experience towards our Island and resort.

We are sure this will help other viewers in making their own mind either to visit us.

THANK YOU very much for the polite words conveyed towards the staff, the furnishment of our rooms and the service areas at disposal.

We will do our very best to keep up high the standards of the resort and to continue to provide to all those that visit us with a memorable stay.

Presenting our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights at the end of June. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and the hotel upgraded our room and sent us champagne which was a nice surprise.

The hotel bedrooms are great, lots of space and we had a lovely sea view. We really enjoyed the hotel grounds, large pool areas and lovely garden areas.

We stayed on a half board basis and this was the only thing we were disappointed with. The breakfast was good with a range of cold and cooked foods and limited pastries - all self service (including the hot drinks) which we found surprising for a 4* hotel, some mornings it was very busy and there were queues for everything and certain things did run out and it took a while for them to be replaced. We found the evening buffet to be limited and there was no show cooking the whole time we were there, which we would expect from this standard of hotel, in fact we saw very little of the chefs. We had two meals in the Deep Blue restaurant, although pricey the food was absolutely wonderful and it was a shame that the buffet food did not compare. On reflection we should have gone to this restaurant every evening and given the buffet a miss, but we kept hoping the buffet would improve. I have re-read the reviews on the food at the hotel and there doesn't seem to be much said about the buffet, perhaps we have been spoiled at other hotels and were comparing to them!

All the staff were very helpful and all areas were kept very clean.

There are only two lifts for the whole hotel and these were inadequate and there is no main stair case, only fire escapes.

The hotel is about a 30 minute into Funchal town centre and it is a very pleasant walk. The hotel is on the sea front and there is a nice promenade walk.

We attended a Pestana presentation about the time-share scheme and were very impressed with what was on offer and felt that the Pestana group is appealing to this type of customer rather than a package holiday customer and perhaps that is why the food at this hotel is letting them down. It seems that the time-share customers do not eat at the hotel, most reviews confirm this.

We will definitely return to Funchal and may try another of the Pestana hotels just for a comparison.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start by thanking you for taking part in posting your review to this website.

We are sure that by sharing your travel experience, not only we get an accurate feedback of the guests who have visit us, as we are able to rectify any minor details which was incorrectly regarded.

In this in mind, please rest assured that the less good points here conveyed towards the limited choice and the quality of our buffet has been forward to those in-charge for changes in the future, if they become needed.

As for the lift being inedequate, we have forwarded this matter to our resort engineer.

We thank you for the polite words towards the staff, quality of resort and other services at disposal.

We hope you may visit us again in the future,

We will be delighted to welcome you again.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodicote, Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

we have time shares here and we are never disappointed, lovely surrounding, great staff and wonderful service, nothing is too much trouble. and looking forward to spending new year here for the first time

Room Tip: you need a room with a sea view to relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your review and for such positive comments.

It is always of a great pride and success to be able to provide to your guests memorable moments and an excellent service.

Looking forward to your return visit,

We present our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in June this year. Lovely pool and plenty of sunbeds. Room very spacious and great to have free wi-fi and BBC TV channels to watch. Quirk of the layout with a glass wall to the en-suite meant I could watch TV from the bath - not so good for those who like privacy, Access between floors was limited to 2 quite slow lifts - stairs not for public use labelled for staff only? I would rather walk than take stairs when only one floor to travel. Breakfast buffet had plenty of food choices and I definitely overindulged - but would have liked better quality sausages and pasteurized milk rather than sterilised milk in my tea

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your experience towards our resort.

This not only enables us to evaluate ourselves towards the service given and also to be aware of our guest’s satisfaction being perceived or not, therefore we cannot thank you enough.

All the recommendations posted here will be forward to the departments in questions for changes in the future, if they are find needed.

We hope we may welcome you again in our resort in the future,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Booked in January 2013. The week prior to my visit I e mailed the hotel with some room requirements to discover that I was no longer staying there but at the Pestana Grand up the road.
Talking to others and looking at the reviews it would appear that I am not the only person this has happened to since several of us were relocated from other Pestana hotels.
My concern is had i not e mailed them when would I have found out they were moving me?

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
Allow us to apologize for not being able to host your stay and for all the inconvenience caused.
unfortunately overbooking ocasionaly does occur in travel, due to a numerous reasons and unexpected situations.
When something like this happens our main concern is to find the best alternative solution to offer to our guest´s.
We contact the travel agency with options, and all of these options are for Pestana hotels which category and prices are superior to what was booked originally.
As our main concern is to ensure the best holiday experience for all our guests, and we are very sorry if we have failed on this goal with you on this occasion.
Once again we regret this situation and any disruption that it may cause to your travel plans but we are sure that we are offering a high quality alternative.
We do sincerely hope that our apologies are well accepted and that we will be able to restore our good reputation with you.

Presenting our utmost regards,
Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.