We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 11 nights at the end of June. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and the hotel upgraded our room and sent us champagne which was a nice surprise.

The hotel bedrooms are great, lots of space and we had a lovely sea view. We really enjoyed the hotel grounds, large pool areas and lovely garden areas.

We stayed on a half board basis and this was the only thing we were disappointed with. The breakfast was good with a range of cold and cooked foods and limited pastries - all self service (including the hot drinks) which we found surprising for a 4* hotel, some mornings it was very busy and there were queues for everything and certain things did run out and it took a while for them to be replaced. We found the evening buffet to be limited and there was no show cooking the whole time we were there, which we would expect from this standard of hotel, in fact we saw very little of the chefs. We had two meals in the Deep Blue restaurant, although pricey the food was absolutely wonderful and it was a shame that the buffet food did not compare. On reflection we should have gone to this restaurant every evening and given the buffet a miss, but we kept hoping the buffet would improve. I have re-read the reviews on the food at the hotel and there doesn't seem to be much said about the buffet, perhaps we have been spoiled at other hotels and were comparing to them!

All the staff were very helpful and all areas were kept very clean.

There are only two lifts for the whole hotel and these were inadequate and there is no main stair case, only fire escapes.

The hotel is about a 30 minute into Funchal town centre and it is a very pleasant walk. The hotel is on the sea front and there is a nice promenade walk.

We attended a Pestana presentation about the time-share scheme and were very impressed with what was on offer and felt that the Pestana group is appealing to this type of customer rather than a package holiday customer and perhaps that is why the food at this hotel is letting them down. It seems that the time-share customers do not eat at the hotel, most reviews confirm this.

We will definitely return to Funchal and may try another of the Pestana hotels just for a comparison.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to start by thanking you for taking part in posting your review to this website.

We are sure that by sharing your travel experience, not only we get an accurate feedback of the guests who have visit us, as we are able to rectify any minor details which was incorrectly regarded.

In this in mind, please rest assured that the less good points here conveyed towards the limited choice and the quality of our buffet has been forward to those in-charge for changes in the future, if they become needed.

As for the lift being inedequate, we have forwarded this matter to our resort engineer.

We thank you for the polite words towards the staff, quality of resort and other services at disposal.

We hope you may visit us again in the future,

We will be delighted to welcome you again.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    581
    212
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
155
529
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodicote, Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

we have time shares here and we are never disappointed, lovely surrounding, great staff and wonderful service, nothing is too much trouble. and looking forward to spending new year here for the first time

Room Tip: you need a room with a sea view to relax and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your review and for such positive comments.

It is always of a great pride and success to be able to provide to your guests memorable moments and an excellent service.

Looking forward to your return visit,

We present our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in June this year. Lovely pool and plenty of sunbeds. Room very spacious and great to have free wi-fi and BBC TV channels to watch. Quirk of the layout with a glass wall to the en-suite meant I could watch TV from the bath - not so good for those who like privacy, Access between floors was limited to 2 quite slow lifts - stairs not for public use labelled for staff only? I would rather walk than take stairs when only one floor to travel. Breakfast buffet had plenty of food choices and I definitely overindulged - but would have liked better quality sausages and pasteurized milk rather than sterilised milk in my tea

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your experience towards our resort.

This not only enables us to evaluate ourselves towards the service given and also to be aware of our guest’s satisfaction being perceived or not, therefore we cannot thank you enough.

All the recommendations posted here will be forward to the departments in questions for changes in the future, if they are find needed.

We hope we may welcome you again in our resort in the future,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Booked in January 2013. The week prior to my visit I e mailed the hotel with some room requirements to discover that I was no longer staying there but at the Pestana Grand up the road.
Talking to others and looking at the reviews it would appear that I am not the only person this has happened to since several of us were relocated from other Pestana hotels.
My concern is had i not e mailed them when would I have found out they were moving me?

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
Allow us to apologize for not being able to host your stay and for all the inconvenience caused.
unfortunately overbooking ocasionaly does occur in travel, due to a numerous reasons and unexpected situations.
When something like this happens our main concern is to find the best alternative solution to offer to our guest´s.
We contact the travel agency with options, and all of these options are for Pestana hotels which category and prices are superior to what was booked originally.
As our main concern is to ensure the best holiday experience for all our guests, and we are very sorry if we have failed on this goal with you on this occasion.
Once again we regret this situation and any disruption that it may cause to your travel plans but we are sure that we are offering a high quality alternative.
We do sincerely hope that our apologies are well accepted and that we will be able to restore our good reputation with you.

Presenting our utmost regards,
Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed there last year for our honey moon escape and were surprised by the awesome service: we got an upgrade of our room when they found we're just got married and a bottle of wine together with their specific cake. It was a great beginning of our stay! We enjoyed a lot our vacation, even though the hotel is quite far from the center of Funchal, the bus station is near the hotel and you're in the center of the city in a few minutes. There are also good restaurants around the hotel with great food and service. The most I enjoyed each day of the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel was the outside pool! We loved the hotel and Madeira itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for such great comments. It is of great pride to us and increasing endeavor to read such review which makes us excel now and in the future.

We present once more our congratulations concerning the past wedding anniversary celebration. Lots of continuous love and hapiness in this new union is our sincere wishes.

We will await for a return visit,

Until then,

We present our kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I chose Pestana Promenade for its location [just away from the centre of Funchal] and it being on more level ground. We then also checked other details with Trip Advisor and could see that the bulk of comments [such as cleanliness and food] were very favourable. So we went expecting something good.
I write to let you know that after a great week with this hotel, we can honestly say that it exceeded the highest of our expectations; the location was, indeed, superb, the room wonderful but it was the staff who offered a level of service that - despite a lifetime of travel to most continents - these good folk consistently exceeded the very best. Nothing was too much trouble at reception, in the dining room, by the pool or the young boy at the door.

A truly remarkable place.

Room Tip: If waiting for a few seconds for a lift - really bugs you - then you may better on the lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your support to this travel review website and for providing your travel experience
to us and others which in the future may choose to visit us.

We are extremely glad and overwelmed with such good points conveyed to us towards the service provided and our resort friendliness.

Rest assured such comments will be treasured among all envolved, to keep not only the good work but continue to exceel in our daily tasks!

Presenting our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

As reported by my husband 18/6/13 we booked 3 rooms in January and 3 days before we were to travel 2 of our rooms were offered an upgrade the the Pestana Grande. It took several phone calls to our travel agent and a considerable amount of stress to reject this up grade as it was important our party stayed together. The hotel did upgrade our rooms on arrival as compensation but offered no explanation why this had happened. During our week stay a large party of prospective guests arrived, which resulted in certain areas being cordoned off for "a private function' and one evening there was a cocktail party for these guests with copious amounts of free wine. It was obvious from the guided tours around the hotel for these guests that Pestana were hoping to sell time share or similar and this was why we had been asked to move to the Pestana Grande we have stayed on several occasions at both the Grande and Promenade and was somewhat disappointed to be pushed aside in favour of this group. The holiday was excellent and we will stay at the Promenade again as the location and facilities are excellent, but please don't treat existing customers less favourably than timeshare potentials.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your comments on this website and please allow us to inform our cocktail party is for existing members of the Pestana Vacation Club and visitors on exchange from other resorts and is held on weekly basis at all the Pestana Resorts on Madeira . By no means are these guests being favoured as all Pestana Guests are special to us

Conveying our sincere regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa, this Modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.