We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
gillingham kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at the pestana promenade in late april. Were very lucky as it coincided with a weather front from the sahara making it one of the hottest weeks in april. Have to say its probably one of the best 4 star hotels my wife and I have stayed in. The decor were very contemporary and overall spotlessly clean. Our room was on the ground floor which turned out to be very convenient. The gardens outside our room were lovely and ideal for setting up a sunbed with the pool only a few metres away. Although the gardens were communal because of the way the flower beds were sited they created an invisible barrier which meant that other guests didn't invade your space or walk past your patio. The staff were very efficient and helpful and overall would recommend (as I have done already) this hotel to anybody coming to madeira. My only criticism would be the area where the food is served. All the food is sited on this one gondola which meant that everybody was crowding around this one area whether you were wanting soup , salad, main meal or dessert. However, in saying that, the food was overall very good,

Room Tip: Would recommend the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your last visit to our resort and for sharing your travel experience.

We are enchanted by such kind words conveyed in this review towards the resort and the way our
teams develop their daily work.

Your sincere gratitude for recommending us to others, we appreciate such gesture and surely will do our best to keep up providing nothing less than an excellent service, so others may entrust in us as their resort of choice.

Yours faithfully,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    244
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
179
634
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beautiful setting and well maintained. Our first visit was just after the opening so the gardens were in their infancy. Now established, they are lovely! Fantastic view out to sea from our balcony. Staff - Reception, Members Services, cleaners and poolside staff etc - friendly, helpful and efficient. Set about a 45-minute walk from the centre of Funchal so quieter than hotels nearer the centre, but an efficient and frequent bus servicefrom 50 yards from hotel. Thanks again for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view from Floor 3 or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for your contribution to the Tripadvisor website!

It is with great pride that we read such great words conveyed in this review.

We will surely continue to do our best to continue to excell on the guest's expectations of us.

We hope you may visit us again soon,

Until that time, we present our kindest regards,

Yours Sincerely
Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stay here every year so do not have a great deal to add. The fabric and facilities of the hotel are being well maintained although the pool lighting that I mentioned last year still does not change colour at night and the missing palm tree beside the pool bar is still missing. So much for the management assurances then! Small points, however, as the hotel is still a marvellous place to stay with such spacious accommodation and such helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and most have good sea views. For sunbathing go for those with no overhangs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your Loyalty to our resort and for posting your travel experience.

It is important for us and surely for other guests that intend to visit us in the future to have knowledge of previous travel experiences in our resort.

In that way, we must say that every review is highly important to us.

Concerning your comments about the pool lighting, this is a matter of programing the lights as pool lightning that has various settings, therefore can be adjusted, but in some opinion´s it´s nicer to keep it on one color setting; we will however present your comment to the management.
Regarding the palm tree, please rest assures that we already spoke with our garden engineer to check the possibility to have a small palm tree to replace the other one.

We will do our very best to continue to provide you memorable moments with the help of this entire wonderful staff, so you may continue to entrust in us as the resort of election.

Yours Sincerly

Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk--uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely hotel--position, views, staff, facilities, food,all very good.Has indoor pool if needed. The only fault I had was the glass door in the bathroom knocked onto wc when opened inwards. The rooms with side (ocean) views look onto another hotel.

Room Tip: get pool view & central
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your latest visit to our resort and for your time spend in posting your travel experience, which we are sure to be usefull to others that may decide to visit us.

We cannot thank you enough for the polite words conveyed in this review towards the resort and its staff.

Concerning the downside towards the glass door in the bathroom, please rest assured that such has been rectified.

We expect you may visit us again in the future.

Presenting our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a wonderfully equipped Hotel, great Pools, Spa facilities and very modern.
We stay here every year in June - and Madeira is a wonderful Island anyway. Very efficient bus service to Funchal town and plenty of Restuarants and shopping in the area.
beautiful views out to sea.
Never tire of being there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for submiting your review in this travel review site and for your continuous preference in our resort.

It is wonderfull to become aware that we have had along the years a positive impact in your visits to our Island, and that such positive impact still prolongs in your mind for the future to come.

Therefore we are happy to say.... See you in June!!!! Looking forward.

Until then,

We present our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Could not fault this hotel, beautiful clean rooms, nice helpful staff, good food, great pool. I went for a holiday with my wife and friends to get away from the stresses and strains of life at home in the UK. This was perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms by the pool are brilliant, I was worried about late night noise but there was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all, let us start by thanking you for posting your travel review and for your support to this web site.

Each word conveyed by you had a strong impact in our owns pride and in our daily job by the service which we provide to your guests.

It is not only a pride to be able to provide memorable moments to our guests, as it is a pleasure to do so.

Therefore, we cannot thank you enough for such polite words as it is a culminate of the job of our teams given back by you in such a wonderfull review.

We sincerely hope you may continue to visit us in the future and that you may continue to entrust in us for such commitment in the future.

We say Goodbye for now....

With our most respectfully regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spent a week 22nd-29th April at Pestanta Promenade, room no: 1136 which was on the left hand side looking from the front of the hotel. Our room, which was on the 1st floor overlooking the pool, had an ocean view. The balcony was in the shade for most of the day which was fine by us as we didn’t sit out very much, preferring to be out and about visiting the island. The room was just above the entertainment and this sometimes didn’t finish until after 11 o’clock. The room was huge (10m x 4m approx) with a very big bed which was comfortable enough but had lumpy pillows. TV had many channels with many languages but did included most BBC and ITV channels as well which was an added bonus Asked at reception about WiFi and was given free access for the week. The bathroom was spacious with the shower over bath and a glass screen. No shower curtain to wrestle with. The hotel was absolutely spotless; people seemingly cleaning all day. The staff were so very friendly and helpful and always smiling. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss; some days the ‘hot’ food was stone cold. Unfortunately we only found out on the last day that freshly cooked omelettes were available. The lifts were a constant nuisance. There were only 2 lifts and one of these broke down twice during our stay which left only one working lift and since we were on the 1st floor and reception was on the 5th floor it could be a long wait for space in the lift. The stairs were not easy to find and more like emergency exits and consequently few guests used them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for submiting your travel experience in this travel review site.

We cannot thank you enough for the polite words given towards our staff performance, the maintain of your resort and rooms spotless and the resort's location.

Concerning the less positive remarks, we apologize for the entertainment some nights lasting a bit more on request of some guests. However, if you decide to visit us again in the future we take the opportunity to inform that at any time during your stay you may inform the main reception so we may help you in what is needed. That is our main purpose of existance in the resort.

As for the lumpy pillows, please be advised we may change them if they are not suitable to your confort.

As for the lifts, we present our sincere apologies, as during the time of your stay we encountered a fault which is now resolved and all back to normal.

As for the lack of signs showing where our stairs are located, please rest assured such point is being promply adressed to our management for review.

We hope you may decide to visit us again in the future.

With that in mind,

We present our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#14 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.