We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 hotels in Funchal
kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A really lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and most helpful. Stayed half board and whilst the food was of excellent quality it was a bit 'samey', expecially the breakfast. Nice that poolside towels were provided. However there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. If you enjoy your tea, take a travel kettle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your last visit and for submiting your review in this website.

It is an honour to receive such good comments about our resort and staff performance.

Nonetheless, we will take good note of the less positive aspects so we may improve in the future.

We will be looking forward for a return visit,

Until then...

We present our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    580
    212
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
154
529
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a week here in March. The weather was a bit hit and miss but having the indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and turkish bath passed the days away when we were unable to sit out.
Staff were absolutely lovely. Rooms spotless and roomy.
Nice to be shown to your table for breakfast. Definitely a good class of hotel and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience to others.

It is a shame the weather as not been the greatest, next time surely will be better.

Thank your for such kind words concerning our resort and staff, we will make the best to keep up the good work and continue to provide memorable moments.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We usually stay at the Pestana Madeira Calton but this time stayed here for the first time.
We had a lovely 2 bedroom suite on 3rd floor with a fantastic two aspect wrap around balcony with fantastic views of pool and ocean.
The staff were friendly and the efficient.
The only disappointment was the lack of dining. During the day the only food was provided at the pool desk bar, the food was nice but limited and there was no other resturant within the hotel to provide an alternative.
Also no room service !!!!
Recommend you look into a room service option.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your latest visit to our resort, and for posting your travel experience.

It is with satisfaction that we read such comments concerning your stay in our resort.

Nonetheless, as for the less positive aspects mencioned concerning our restaurants, please rest assured such will be adressed to the person in charge in this area for improvements in the future, if such are required.

Presenting our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambuslang, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the loveliest hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff are very helpful and efficient. The bedrooms are very spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had rooms on the 1st floor, overlooking the lovely pool area, but we still had a good view of the ocean as well. The public areas are very nicely decorated and comfortable, with plenty of seating, including double beds! We spent every evening in the lounge, as there was some entertainment, ranging from a singer at a piano to a viewing of an Andrea Bocelli DVD. There was a very relaxed atmosphere, very low key and never noisy. The pool was great, especially for our 7yr old daughter. It was quite cool when we were there, so the outdoor pool was usually too cold, but there's an indoor pool too, so she was happy with that. There were no organised activities for kids, which we were aware of before travelling (don't know if that's different in high season), but, as expected, my daughter was content with what was on offer for her, i.e. the pool and the music in the evening. She was made to feel very welcome.

We stayed on a B&B basis. We found the food at the breakfast buffet to be very good. There were cooked items (eggs, bacon, potato rostis, beans), a good selection of cereals, meat, cheese, lots of fruit, bread and sweet treats too. There was a constant supply of food, thanks to the efficient staff. There was a good selection of drinks too. We had a buffet dinner in the hotel too, on one night. It was very nice and quite good value, considering what you could eat, if you were really hungry. But it was our most expensive meal of the week. We aren't huge eaters and one or two courses is sufficient, which we could get in one of many local restaurants. I could not fault the hotel food on quality or quantity.

The location of the hotel might put some people off, due to the distance from the centre of Funchal. My husband and I had visited Funchal 10 years ago and stayed in a hotel even further out. Then, the walk to the centre and back was fine for us, even though there's a huge climb back (we were 30 and 35 and fit). This time, we were travelling with our 7yr old and my parents, in their late 70s. They could walk down to the centre, but not back. Fortunately, there is a very good bus service and it's inexpensive. Therefore, I would not let the location put me off next time. My parents are talking about returning to the same hotel, so they've not been put off either.

I would also like to mention that I felt very grateful to the staff for a incident that they helped out with. My husband was a little sick (due to a long journey, definitely not related to the food in the hotel). I asked for a bucket, which was given immediately and a receptionist came to our room with extra towels, without us asking for them.

I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our Fl1 room was lovely. We had a view of the pool, but a good view of the ocean beyond that too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your support to this website and for submting your travel review.

It is of enourmous pride and joy to read such polite and wonderfull comments towards the level of service and facilities provided. We will be sure to pass on such polite words to all the Team.

We will be looking forward to your visit and family again in the future,

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Loved the hotel itself. We had a ground floor room which was great as it was clean, spacious and quiet and the sliding doors opened up straight onto the garden and pool area which are every pleasant. The hotel is well equipped with gym, spa and games room, all clean and well maintained. Only had breakfast at the hotel, which was very good, but there lots of bars and restaurants in the area to choose from. Funchal and the countryside around are nice enough but the lido and promenade aren't much to write home about. Forget swimming in the sea or relaxing on a beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for submiting your review and for your last visit to our resort.

It is with satisfaction that we become aware that your stay in our resort was up to your standards and the Island to your affection.

We will surely expect for your return visit,

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel and Location:
We arrived to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel after spending a week in Lisboa.
The hotel is about 30 minute drive away from Madeira Airport. The first thing I had noticed upon arrival and that really impressed me was amazing panoramic sea view from reception area (you can see it on one of my pictures). The views of the sea and the mountain were truly breath-taking.
Hotel is located in first line directly on the promenade going from the Lido to Praia Formosa. You should notice that ”first line” here doesn’t mean that hotel is near the beach. Madeira doesn’t have beaches per se… definition of beach here is a stone area with stairs that help u to get into the ocean ( which is + 21- 23C at the best times rocky bottom included- that makes swimming in the ocean really unpleasant).
All local tourist destinations as well as shops and restaurants are walking distance away from the hotel (about 30 mins). If you don’t like walking (mostly along the ocean with amazing views you will be able to enjoy while getting to the center or shopping areas) you can get a cab for about 10 euro or use local buses (bus stop is right in front of the hotel).
Rooms:
We stayed in ocean view room that was very large, modern and well equipped with nice new and clean furniture, flat-screen TV with a number of satellite channels and a mini bar (check the photo). There was free Wi-Fi available on the territory of the hotel as well.
Service:
I really loved outdoor pool and Jacuzzi that looks like infinity pool and let you enjoy swimming (or just chilling) and gazing at the ocean) while being surrounded by tropical plants and palm trees, but there was also an indoor glass-enclosed pool, sauna and spa.
More active guests can work out in the modern gymnasium, with cardiovascular equipment and free weights or relax in the sauna and Turkish bath.
There is also a very small gym with cardiovascular/ weights equipment available.
I’d say that the biggest problem there were lifts (just two of them for seven floors) they were really slow! We were staying on the 2nd floor so we didn’t mind using stairs but I guess that could have been a problem for elderly people staying on the top floors.
Food:
Breakfast is an international buffet and is sufficient to get you going through the day but there was lack of fresh fruits and vegetables. I should also notice that the outdoor breakfast area is pretty nice and allows you to enjoy sun and the sea view  No complaints about dinners, they were really nice plus there were theme dinners with entertainment like music and dancers.
There is also a bar where you can enjoy a drink and relax. If you don’t want to eat at the hotel you won’t have any problems as there are a number of restaurants and cafés within a five-minute walk.
I should also notice that Madeira is an extremely beautiful place so don’t stay much time at the pool/hotel- go and explore!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent visit to our beautifull Island and for providing through this website your travel experience.

It is with great pleasure that we read such good review and such good reccomendations to others that may decide themselves to visit us.

We hope you may decide to visit us again in the future,

With that in mind,

we present our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Pestana Promenade is part hotel and part Timeshare, which we have. The hotel which is at the quiet west end of Funchal is built against the cliff with the impressive reception hall at the 5th floor. All rooms have views. The staff are amazing, always helpful and cheerful. This applies to everyone from the particularly smart reception staff, the bar staff (one of whom welcomed us with the words "two beers?", remembering us from our previous visit) and the cleaners. We mentioned, in passing, that our rooms did not get early morning sun, immediatly a new one was found for our next visit. Impressive. The hotel is well fitted and immaculate through out, as are the gardens and pools. The majority of the occupants being either elderly or couples with young children who appreciate the relative peace of the surroundings. Mainly British with some Scandenavians and Germans. There is a house rule that says sun beds can not be reserved!

Tips 1. We suggest that you avoid going during school holidays, British and Portugese (dates on internet), when we gather there is more noise than usual.

2. You should try and get a room at the west end of the hotel where it is quieter and gets more sun than those at the other end. East facing rooms do not have such good views or sun .

3. About 300 metres to the west of the Hotel there is Papa Manuel, close to the sea, which serves good pasta and genuine pizzas.

Finally, if you have read this far you are probably considering Madeira, do go. Ask anyone who has been and they all say how much they like it, no where else, other than, perhaps New Zealand, is in our experiance appreciated so much.

Room Tip: As mentioned above choose a south facing room at the west end of the hotel, higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for your testemony which is far appreciated.

It is with great pride that we come upon a review that shows that our Island is treasured from so many and considered the ideal place for peace and quiet.

We will be sure to pass on the good comments made to all staff so they may keep the level of attention and dedication to the highest level.

We will be looking forward for your next visit,

Until then we present our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa, this Modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.