We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is very modern and well maintained
We upgraded to an ocean view room which was well worth it
Beautiful views
Good service
Nice bar area and good selection for breakfast, all buffet style
It is quite a walk to the centre of Funhal- approx 1 hour but regular buses and taxis available

Room Tip: worth the upgrade for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your last visit and for your support to this travel reviews website.

We cannot thank you enough for the good words conveyed in this review towards our resort, its amazing views to the ocean, the facilities at disposal and our nicest bar enviorment.

We sincerely hope that this review may hope others which are still undecided to choose to visit our beautifull resort.

We will surely be expecting your return visit,

Until then we present our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    243
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
179
622
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really good location for the Lido area and a nice walk into Funchal. Very clean hotel with excellent staff. The breakfast was fine for us as there was plenty of fruit and cereal options. Lovely view from the balcony. Happy hour is good value! We didn't eat in the hotel because there are so many places to eat near by. A taxi into Funchal was around 8 euros I think but the buses run all day and are regular.

Room Tip: A kitchenette is available in some Superior Twin rooms but you need to request one of these rooms. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your last visit and for providing your travel experience.

It is with great satisfaction that we become aware that you have truly enjoyed our resort facilties and Bars Happy Hour.

We will be expecting your forthcoming visit, as we highly recommend you to try our restaurants, you will surely not be dissapointed.

With our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Amazing hotel. We visited this hotel at the end of Febuary for four nights. Had a wonderful room on the ground floor. We opened our veranda door and walked out into the beautiful gardens and opposite was the pool.

Breakfasts were full of a variety of different foods. Staff were always on hand to help.

Rooms were clean and with enough room to store our clothes etc.

Good variety of restaurants nearby. Basilico and The Brasserie had great menus and good food.

Walk into town took us about thirty five minutes.

Good Bus service to town and back. We walked into town and got the bus back.

We did not use the spa so cannot comment about it.

Try this hotel and you won't be sorry. Would have no hesitation to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for taking part of your valuable time in posting this review.

We cannot thank you enough the polite words towards the breakfast facilities, gardens and pools presentation and towards the cleaniness of the room.

We will surely pass on such polite words to all those envolved in such outcome.

We will be looking forward to our next visit, has the Spa will surely be expecting you.

Presenting our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed her for a week in March 2013. Everything you would expect from a 4 star international hotel. The staff are in general helpful and friendly the accommodation is nicely done and at the moment the decor is up to scratch. The indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna are very good if you can avoid the naked germans ! There is a small but well equipped gym and a games room which isn't very attractive. The out door pool and garden area is very nice indeed although it wasn't the best weather whilst we were there. Breakfast is an international buffet and is plentiful and well supplied even if the quality at times is not as good as it could be. The bar is extraordinarily expensive except between 5 and 7 each day when drinks are half price and as a consequence about the same as the local bars.
You are a good 3/4 hour stroll into Funchal from here so be prepared to walk or get a taxi if you want to visit the town. There are however several good eateries within a short walking distance (see other reviews).
Overall a good standard hotel , i do however have a couple of gripes.
The hotel is 4 years old and in good repair however maintenance is slipping, our main door frame and bathroom door didn't fit properly and the decor needs a touch up in places, The cleaning staff have a lot to do and don't have an enormous amount of time to do their job to the best standards. The biggest problem this place has however is the lifts, there are two serving all seven floors so at busy times (breakfast, dinner, cleaning times) you can be waiting an extraordinary amount of time, if you are reliant on lifts then this can be a real pain. We gave up using them after the first couple of days as it was much quicker to take the stairs.
We also paid for a sea view and it simply is not worth the extra money you can see the sea perfectly well from any of the rooms so be aware of this.
Stay here , be prepared to wait for lifts, don't expect a gourmet breakfast and be prepared for some walking. Pleasant staff and well equipped public areas and rooms make up for any shortcomings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit to our resort and for your support in posting your travel experience.

We are most appreciate for the polite words conveyed in such review towards our staff performance, resort decor and spa facilities.

As for the less positive remarks towards our bars costs, games room unactractive enviorment and lifts slow service, rest assured such points have been adressed to our departments envolved for improvements in the future if these become needed.

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Below is the mail I sent to Pestana after the room we had requested was not available. Now over 4 weeks later I have not had an answer to my questions. Have been in contact with customer services 4 times but still no official reply. Is this the way Pestana operate? Most disappointed since they show all the awards they have received for customer service. I had booked the Junior suite back in October 2012 after much research on tripadvisor and Pestana website to make sure we had a holiday to remember. Unfortunately now it is a memory that is disappointing and confusing.

Upon checkin we were offered an ordinary seaview room, I immediately said this was not what we had booked. We were then shown a bigger room with separate bedroom and living area but with a view of the hotel next door, again I was not happy. Then we were shown another room ( our 3rd ) with sea view and separate areas but overlooking building works next door and obviously not in use, again unacceptable. By now I was confused and not happy the start to our holiday had been severely compromised.

The Pestana Promenade reception then offered us a room at a sister hotel The Pestana Grand and arranged for a taxi to take us there. The room offered was the best option so far but still not what we had reserved 5 months ago. Seeing that we were getting nowhere and after being up at 4.00 am to catch flights we decided to take the Pestana Grand room offered, we felt we had no other choice. We then had to pay for a taxi ourselves back to the Pestana Promenade to get our bags.

Our stay at the Pestana Grand in room 1403 has been good but not perfect, having only afternoon sun and being on a mid floor with lots of noise to wake us early in the morning.

I am mailing you to try to get an explanation on why our reservation was not honored after all the preparation and care I had taken to secure it, even mailing you to get details on the finer points.. No explanation was offered from the Pestana Promenade only that it was not available.

I cannot express our disappointment enough and before leaving reviews I would like to give you the chance to maybe enlighten me on the situation and how it went so wrong.

Looking forward to your reply.

Kind regards

Scott Martin

Room Tip: Be careful of over booking, it is a common theme in the reviews.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

An e-mail regarding this situation has sent to you.
We truly appreciate your understanding on this subject.

If there is anything else we can do for you, please don`t hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards

Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Chose this hotel from the Altlantic Holidays brochure which proved to be a great choice. The hotel was situated overlooking the Altantic which truly gave great sea views as advertised. The pool area and gardens were excellent as was the room and communal facilities. The staff were very helpful, good fun and always welcoming especially at breakfast time. We visited at the beginning of March for 2 weeks and the weather wasn't great but the indoor pool and also the gym helped on the wet days. The free wifi vouchers for the holiday duration was an added bonus and most unexpected! With a few extra drawers for storage the bedroom would be perfect.
Definately will return to this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for submiting this travel experience and for your latest visit to our resort.

We are all thrilled to know that we have exceeded your expectations.

Concerning extra drawers for storage, rest assured such point has been taken into account for future improvements, therefore was conveyed to the department in question.

We surely will be expecting for your forthcoming visit,

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A really nice hotel with excellent staff, nice rooms and good food. Our hotel also served drinks at sensible prices so consequently the bar was generally quite busy. Be prepared to feel old, Funchal is full of the aged due presumably, to the pleasant climate and many good hotels. Having said that, there is nothing wrong with older people and of course Funchal does not attract the hooligan element of society.
Excellent public transport takes one into town in minutes. Funchal old town has many many good restaurants so lot's of choice. Compared with many other tourist destinations Funchal is not an expensive place whether eating or drinking. Take a cable car trip (make sure it is a clear day) and enjoy the lovely views.
There is much serious construction work taking place around the harbour where major storm damage happened some time ago. Funchal enjoys a good road network with mile upon mile of tunnels, so, getting around is relatively straight forward.
One downside to the hotel was the Wi Fi reception or, lack of it. Like many hotels, they let themselves down because of this, one ends up wandering around the public areas trying to get a signal. Speaking of Wi Fi, the main public square in Funchal offers this service free, just log on on the street. The only other time I have come across this facility is in San Pedro de Atacama in Chile.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views are much sought after, we paid a £70 surcharge for a week when making the reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank your for your last visit and for taking your valuable time in submiting this review.

It is with great pride that we receive such polite comments towards the rooms equipment and furnissment, in-house restaurants at disposal and staff performance.

As for the less positive remark towards wifi-reception, there was an issue at the time with the signal which was already reactified by the outsource provider.

It is comments such as yours that makes the difference and enables us to continue to excell by doing our uttmost to exceed the expectations of those who decide to visit us.

We will be looking forward to your next visit,

Until then, we present our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.