We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€79 (EUR)
Ranked #15 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Purley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just come back from a 1 week stay at this hotel.Everything was really great. All of the staff are helpful especially in the restuarant. The room that we had was top rate although it was a bit cool too use our own jacuzzi. We used the Spa facilities every day, which were very welcome as we did a lot of walking (indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna). The hotel is about 30 min walk into the old town of Funchal or a 5 min bus ride which stops outside the hotel. The hotel food was very good for both breakfast and dinner with a number of delicious local fish dishes.
Without a doubt this is a hotel worthy of their rating and if this is your first time in Madeira then this is a grat choice. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room but they provided us with a kettle. Also very good onsite tour information office where Elizabeth is very helpful. Make sure you at least do the West Island tour and take the cable car to Monte.

Room Tip: We went for the Junior Suite. Rooms on the 5th and 6th floors at the front get the best views. All h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We present our sincere gratituide for presenting your travel review, which we believe to be of great help to all those who may choose to visit us in the future.

We thank you for the positive comments conveyed to our staff and resort facilities.

We will be sure to pass on such polite words in your behalf.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    248
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
182
641
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week in feb. Having seen this hotel from previous visits & location booked last minute. Excellent facilities & location . Thoroughly enjoyed indoor pool as weather no great. Happy hour in bar is excellent. Stayed on B&b basis which I can say was excellent as plenty of restaurants nearby . Would gladly return

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Desk at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for your support to this traveler's review website.

It is with enourmous satisfaction that we become aware your stay went accordingly to plan and behond what you inicially expected.

We will be looking forward to your return visit,

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of time now whilst visiting Madeira with my Grandparents, and I can honestly say I love this hotel! The rooms are beautiful! The reception area is breath taking and you cannot fault the staff one bit! Its fairly close to the local supermarkets and extremely close if you'd like a dip in the sea. Would return to this hotel over and over! Its like a home from home! The only little niggle is, the pool can get fairly warm, however they may have sorted this out by now. A beautiful hotel on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit to our resort and for submiting our travel experience.

It is with great pleasure that we receive such good comments concerning our hotel facilities, its location and good service provided by our staff.

As for our outdoor pool, we apologize for this being fairly warm.
Due to the fact the outdoor pool is heated by solar panel, the water temperature will vary accordingly with the weather temperature on the day.

Nonetheless, please rest assured that this point will be adressed to the department in question for improvements that may be needed in the future.

With our warmest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

as everyone says, the hotel is a fantastic building and the staff really are excellent. we had a few reservations about the room, mainly no tea making kit and lack of storage space. the classic side sea view room was huge but had a lot of wasted space, which was filled with furniture that didnt need to be there. the wardrobe was big enough but needed more hangers, but there are only 3 small drawers which is not enough for 2 people. it seems that the lack of kettle is a pestana policy in all of its hotels, which is a bit petty considering that this is a 4 star hotel. we took our own but this took up valuable suitcase space. we also took beach towels, not being aware that these were provided. so, more wasted space! the safe is free, which is good and you get 7 days free wi-fi, which is availiabe all over the hotel, including the bedrooms. it seems that they used to charge 18e for this, so that is another good point in their favour. the breakfast comes straight from central casting, being the buffet type that you will get anywhere in europe these days, but not bad.
it was our first time in madeira, and we were very impressed that it felt clean and safe , everywhere that we went. it caters mainly for older people, so if you are expecting magaluf you will be dissapointed. we also thought that we were going to break a world record by not seeing a fat man wearing a replica english football shirt for an entire week, but we spotted one on our last day. still,you cant have everything! as everyone says, there are lots of places to eat near the hotel. we liked the 'hole in one' pub, more relaxed than restaurants and with good live music.
we did the ' being pulled down a hill in a basket' thing which was was a bit of a tourist trap, but where else do you get the chance to do it?
all in all, a fantastic hotel but those couple of quibbles stopped it getting 5 out of 5. we had a fantastic holiday and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you your latest visit to the Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort and for your time in submiting this review.

It is with great satisfaction that we come upon such good comments concerning our building and its staff performance.

As for the less positive comments, we assure you such will be adressed to all departments envolved for future improvements.

We take the opportunity to clarify some points. Indeed we do not provide in all our rooms coffee and tea facilities or/and kettle upon arrival, however such item may be requested to the main reception of the hotel, or even before your arrival by e-mailing to the reception of the hotel. Such item depends of availability, however we always do our very best to provide it.

As for the lack of storage space, rest assured such matter has been already adressed to the department in question so to better serve you in the future.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I spent a week at this fabulous hotel. The facilities were wonderful and best of all the welcome and service we got exceptional. I would truly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing, 'posh' but great value hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for submiting your travel experience.

It is with great joy that we come aware that you have throughly enjoyed you stay in our presence.

Conveying our uttmost attention at all times,

With our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Thank you for a fantastic 1st wedding anniversary visit, with your kind complimentary champagne in our room, discounts on massages in a beautiful couples room so we could enjoy them together and a room upgrade to sea view, what a fantastic experience. Your staff were extremely professional and accommodating throughout, and we have recommended your hotel to all of our friends interested in visiting madeira in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for submiting your travel experience.

It is with great pride that we come upon such excellent review.

We cannot thank you enough, we can only promise to keep up the good work and continue to provide memorable moments to those that choose to vist us.

With our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, west midlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for the last few days of January into February. The weather was lovely and sunny. This is the first time in Funchal and also the first time in a Pestana hotel, but I can definitely say, we would consider coming back. We stayed B&B and our room was on the ground floor. We had a lovely view of the sea through the gardens. We were also 2 minutes away from the indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. My fiancé used these more than I did, but I did use them and they were great. The outdoor swimming pools were extremely cold, but after a few hours in the sun, it was just what you needed. The food for breakfast was plentiful, varied and good tasting. You could not ask for anything else. The location of the hotel is also good. You can get to the promenade from the door by the pool and this takes you on some lovely sea view walks. I would recommend this hotel to others, but be prepared for the fact that madeira is a quiet place, where eating and having a few gentle drinks at night is the way of life. Lovely relaxing spot to go on a weeks break.

Room Tip: A lot of people think you need to be high up to get good views. We had a lovely secluded spot on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank for posting your review in this website and suport in a better customer service.

It is overwhelming to hear that you have celebarated such a special occasion and that the experience was enjoyable to your liking.

Concerning the less positive point conveyed towards our outdoor pool being cold, we hereby inform that such pool is heated by solar panel, therefore the water temperaturte will always vary depending on the climate temperature on the day.

Once more we thank you for your last visit and for your testomony in this review.

Peresenting our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.