We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than the photos and reviews can convey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Even better than the photos and reviews can convey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Thank you for a fantastic 1st wedding anniversary visit, with your kind complimentary champagne in our room, discounts on massages in a beautiful couples room so we could enjoy them together and a room upgrade to sea view, what a fantastic experience. Your staff were extremely professional and accommodating throughout, and we have recommended your hotel to all of our friends interested in visiting madeira in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your visit and for submiting your travel experience.

It is with great pride that we come upon such excellent review.

We cannot thank you enough, we can only promise to keep up the good work and continue to provide memorable moments to those that choose to vist us.

With our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    616
    233
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
173
591
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, west midlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for the last few days of January into February. The weather was lovely and sunny. This is the first time in Funchal and also the first time in a Pestana hotel, but I can definitely say, we would consider coming back. We stayed B&B and our room was on the ground floor. We had a lovely view of the sea through the gardens. We were also 2 minutes away from the indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. My fiancé used these more than I did, but I did use them and they were great. The outdoor swimming pools were extremely cold, but after a few hours in the sun, it was just what you needed. The food for breakfast was plentiful, varied and good tasting. You could not ask for anything else. The location of the hotel is also good. You can get to the promenade from the door by the pool and this takes you on some lovely sea view walks. I would recommend this hotel to others, but be prepared for the fact that madeira is a quiet place, where eating and having a few gentle drinks at night is the way of life. Lovely relaxing spot to go on a weeks break.

Room Tip: A lot of people think you need to be high up to get good views. We had a lovely secluded spot on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank for posting your review in this website and suport in a better customer service.

It is overwhelming to hear that you have celebarated such a special occasion and that the experience was enjoyable to your liking.

Concerning the less positive point conveyed towards our outdoor pool being cold, we hereby inform that such pool is heated by solar panel, therefore the water temperaturte will always vary depending on the climate temperature on the day.

Once more we thank you for your last visit and for your testomony in this review.

Peresenting our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Pestana Promenade, which is located in the 'hotel area' just outside of Funchal itself. Overall this is a lovely hotel, with good facilities and service.

Pros:
- Location is good with several restaurants within easy walking distance, and Funchal Old Town a short taxi ride away.

- Very clean and well presented, in all common areas, poolside and rooms.

- Staff are excellent. Very friendly, helpful and genuniely want to ensure you have a good stay. Any requests made, for extra towels, booking taxis, etc. were met with courtesy and in a timely fashion.

- Restaurants and bars are modern, clean and comfortable. The bar and waiting staff are friendly and speak excellent English. We only took breakfast in the hotel and this was well laid out, and plentiful. Some may consider the selection limited, but it had everything you could want and dishes were refreshed by the chef regularly.

- This was the first four star hotel I have visited where the gym was actually usable and the equipment was of a good standard, clean and maintained. I find most hotel gyms very disappointing!

Cons:
- Some of the bar and snack prices are on the high side, but in my opinion, this is common is most hotels of this rating. However, the bar does offer a daily 'happy hour' which makes it more affordable.

- The Pestana Group do offer 'vacation club/time share' accommodation, which in many ways is a positive. It means facilities are well maintained and you do feel you are getting more for your money. However, you will see parties of people being shown around the Hotel, so it can feel a little intrusive. Also, this does mean that if you are staying on another basis, you do need to be prepared to be approached by the vacation club rep with a view to selling you their offer. This did happen to us, but I have to say the rep was not pushy and when we made it clear we were not interested he did not pester us.

- The beds were large and the matresses comfortable, but all the pillows in our room were terrible. They felt very old and lumpy and it made it difficult to get a comfortable nights sleep.

- There are no concessions made for children beside high chairs in the restaurant and access to the swimming pool (although I knew this on booking, so it isn't really a negative). So if you are looking for lots of activities for children this is not the place for you.

On the whole, I very much enjoyed my stay and would not hesitate to return. The facilities are a step above the average and the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view or partial sea view, but ground floor rooms offer easier access to hotel f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for sharing your review and for your interest in both our resort and Group.

It is always of good interest to us to have your feedback concerning your last visit, which enables us to improve in the service and facilities at disposal.

Please rest assured the less positive points conveyed in this review will be fairly adressed so to better serve you and others in the future,

With our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Third time in a Pestana hotel - loved it. Wish we'd asked where our room was as we overlooked the back of the kitchen and the car park but to be honest we weren't in the room much but breakfast on our balcony could have been prettier. But - staff, food, facilities, pool, bar, everything was just perfect, with half price happy hour cocktails thrown in for good measure.

Room Tip: Sea view would have been preferable - we overlooked the car park on the shady side and above the kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for submiting your review through this website and we cannot thank you enough for your continuous belief in our resort and group.

Concerning the room allocation, we apologize ourselves for its location. Nonetheless, on your next visit, if you do not find the room up to our standards, please do let us know so we may present other options.

We will be sured to convey such good remarks to all staff, so to keep up the good work.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have been staying here since it opened in 2009. Originally we stayed for a week each February and then we decided to stay in November and February.

We love the place!! It has become 'home from home. The rooms, staff and facilities are excellent.
Because we stay in an apartment we have not used the restaurant for breakfast or evening meals so cannot comment on the quality or standard of food.

The Hotel is well placed for local restaurants and supermarkets and the walk into the centre of Funchal takes around 30 minutes.

We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for continuous loyalty to Pestana Promenade Hotel and for writing such a positive review, following your recent stay here with us.
Your recommendation is greatly appreciated as are your compliments regarding our Staff and exelent rooms and facilities.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Yours Sincerely

Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at Pestana Promenade the last week in Dec.-12 together with our son and daughter in law. Both the young ones and us loved the stay in all ways. Service,pesonal and food.
Therefor we returned in febr.-13 with our daughter and grandchild. We kan give the same conclusion this time. We hade even free Wi-Fi both times. This hotel I strongley recommand to all our friends. We love Madeira so much so we now plan to tent an apartment to stay there next winter. Our gests will be booked at Pestana Promenad

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Pestana Promenade with the TripAdvisor community.
We are delighted to that you loved your stay in all ways and decided to return 6 weeks later with your daughter and grandchild.
Here at Pestana Promenade we strive to deliver exceptional service therefore your comments regarding the great service and our friendly staff are greatly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully again in six weeks ?!

Yours Sincerely

Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good choice of hotel for our week away to celebrate my birthday, very modern decor with clean and comfortable rooms.
Particular mention to all the staff at every level from reception to the cleaning lady, very friendly and efficient who are all trained to a very higher standard and a credit to the hotel.
Breakfast with good choice of hot and cold buffet but did not try evening meal as we prefer to go out with bars and restaurants which would highly recommend in the local area.
However "happy hour 5 to 7pm" at the bar was enjoyable, hic!
Lovely pool area but unfortunate our visit was out of season in February therefore not used but also an indoor pool and spa facilities.
Location away from the centre which was a decent walk but regular bus transport and taxis readily available.
Overall would recommend as excellent hotel in good location with great facilities and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for choosing Pestana Promenade Hotel to celebrate such a special occasion, as it is your birthday.
We are flattered that you take the time to write such a fantastic review following your stay with us, and to hear that you found the hotel to be excellent and our staff very friendly and efficient.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Tânia Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.