We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Winter Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights stay at the Promenade and was impressed by the overall quality and standard. We had booked for bed and breakfast and have no problems with the variety and quality of the food available. Only slight problems are that a) there is only one inefficient toaster and the food area is small. Thankfully it wasn't too busy during our stay but I can forsee problems if a lot of guests arrive at the one time.
We had one evening buffet and I was a bit disappointed with it. The meat, which was being freshly cooked and carved was a bit tough and the selection of vegetables and salad, while OK was nothing startling. Considering the food we experienced at nearby restaurants, this was secondrate and overpriced.
Facilities were excellent and the grounds were very neat and well maintained.
One sad point is that entertainment was provided every night, yet hardly any guests attended. It must have been soul destroying for the artists. It was on rather early so perhaps this is the reason.
Only other gripe: apparently we were "upgraded" to a seaview room. However our room was on the ground level and our only view was of a large bush and the indoor swimming area. If the windows of the pool were not steamed up, which sometimes they were, you could just make out the Atlantic and no more! We pointed this out and were offered a move. However as we liked the rooms location and being able to step out into the gardens we opted to stay. I do believe that they are using the wrong terminology for this particular room.

Room Tip: If you must have a sea view, you need to be up one floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you taking part of your valuable time in posting your review.

It is with great satisfaction that we become aware that your stay in our resort has been an enjoyable one.

As for the less positive remarks , we assure you such will be forward to our management for their knowledge and for future changes if they become needed.

We would like to have the pleasure of your return visit once more in the future.

Until then,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    622
    226
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
163
569
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull east yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Fantastic hotel - immaculate - beautiful and stunning surroundings. Pool area - amazing - so many gorgeous flowers everywhere. Lovely rooms (we stayed in a superior room). Very friendly and accommodating staff. Exceeded expectations!! Lots of WOW factors!! Would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break away from the stresses and strains of everyday life. The spa facilities were great as well. Breakfast was plentiful and we sat out to eat on the decking in the sunshine at the end of January!! It is a 40 minute walk into the old town but it is a pleasant walk (plenty of hills though!). We also walked the opposite way into the fishing village which is a good walk to a quirky little village. Thank you very much to all the staff at Pestana Promenade for making our holiday so memorable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your travel experience, as I am sure it will be of big help to others who may be yet undecided towards visiting our Island and resort.

We thank you for the good remarks provided to our staff and facilities. It is extremelly rewarding to receive such polite words from your behalf, as it fills us with pride and stamina to keep up with the good work.

Looking forward to your return visit,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a lovely hotel and the staff were exceptional. I had never been interested in staying along the hotel zone in Funchal but my mind has changed and would be more than happy to return to this hotel again. The room was lovely and big with a superb view of the sea and the promenade. We could not hear anything from the rooms around us, it was so peaceful, maybe we were lucky. The maid knew when we visited the breakfast room and ensured our room was ready on our return. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff and the staff at breakfast were great in teaching us to improve our Portugese. They really do appear to appreciate if you can at least say 'good morning' in Portugese.The breakfast had a varied selection of hot and cold food. The indoor pool was lovely and warm 26*c and the jacuzzi pool was excellent at massaging those muscles that from time to time can be troublesome. We do hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting this review and for your support to this travel review website.

It is with great pride and increasily satisfaction that we come upon this travel experience review from your part.

We will surely convey all polite words and remarks concerning both the service and staff performance to all envolved.

Hoping you may visit us again in the future,

We present our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here from 29th Dec to 5th Jan and had another lovely holiday. The room, pools, facilities and staff are amazing. Breakfast was good, but buffet evening meals are average.
We love Madeira and would definitely choose this hotel again because
staff are helpful, warm and attentive
rooms well furnished, spacious and spotless
pools, jacuzzi and bar great
Location good - lovely walk into city or towards Camaras de Lobos - through the tunnels to a great chill out bar, where kids could play on ipads and we could listen to sea lapping the rocks and drink cheap cold beer

New Years fireworks awesome
Meal at Reids Palace - unforgettable and worth every penny this time
Cable Car to Monte - fab

We had our honeymoon in Madeira and are so glad we did because it is so beautiful and every time we return we feel like we are on honeymoon again!!

Thank you Pestana for another lovely holiday - The Jones Family xxxx

Room Tip: We had 501 right near reception, big, quiet 2 bathrooms, separate bedroom, fridge, spotlessly clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest


We would like to thank you for posting your review in TripAdvisor.

It is always a good feeling to receive such good and polite words, especially more pleasing in knowing that you are returned guests and in no way the service was any different from your first stay in our resort.

It is especially gratifying to know that the entire resort was up to your standards and that in no way has let you down.

We hope we may continue to provide you with good moments which you may treasure always.

With that in mind, we hope to have your presence again in the near future.

Presenting our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Pestana Promenade last week and had one of the most enjoyable relaxing holidays of our lives. The hotel is beautiful with extremely comfortable rooms and beautiful grounds. Staff in every department were excellent and total professionals. We did have one concern and this was very speedily resolved by the Front of House Manager.

Although the hotel is around 30 - 40 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal, 5 day bus tickets which are extremely reasonably priced are available at the Reception desk. In addition, staff will book excursions and when we asked about taking flowers back to the U.K., this was organised for us by Reception. They could not have been more helpful.

We will certainly be returning! Many thanks to all staff at the Pestana Promenade.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a full seaview room - the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for posting your review in TripAdvisor.

It is with great contentment to hear that you have enjoyed the most of your stay in our resort.

We will be sure to pass on the good remarks given in this review so to all staff to be aware that they are in the right path to exellence and to keep up with the good work.

We hope you may visit us in the future, as we will be delighted to welcome you back on a return visit.

Presenting our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose this hotel for our Christmas and New Years stay. Madeira overall was a wonderful experience and we feel as though staying here added to that experience. The hotel is not the most centrally located but this does mean that it feels very peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle. We also liked the fact that there was such a wide range of nice restaurants close by to be able to get lunch or dinner. The walk to central Funchal is not a difficult one and it is extremely safe, you never feel as though you are at risk of any harm coming to you. Breakfast at the hotel is probably not the greatest ever but there is enough for you to be able to pick and choose different things on different days. Especially enjoyed the waffles once that had been given an extra couple toastings, and Champagne for breakfast on Christmas Day and New Years Day were a nice touch, the staff in the restaurant are lovely and go out of their way to engage with the various families having breakfast, real difference makers.. The staff at the front desk were equally wonderful and were always willing to do the little extra to get your the help/information that you needed. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the internal jacuzzi is great. All in all this was a wonderful base for our first visit to Madeira and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the pool from your verandah area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you greatly for posting your review and support to Trip Advisor holidays reviews.

We are sure such comments conveyed concerning your stay will be entirely looked upon in order to keep up the good work.

We will undoubtedly convey your good and polite words to all staff so they may continue with the level of dedication and attention in their daily jobs and continue to exceed the expectations of all those who decide to visit us and gracious with your presence.

We hope you may vist us in the future.

Until then we present our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel is in a great location by the sea and a 40 minute walk to the centre of Funcal (5 minutes by bus) with many shops (including 2 supermarkets) and good restaurants on the doorstep. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times, great choice of food, fantastic pool and gardens.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank your for your recent visit to our country and Island and we are gratefull for providing us your travel experience.

It is with great hapiness, a sense of fulfillment and a small dose of relish that we become aware that you have truly enjoyed your stay in our resort.

We will be sure to forward such good comments provided to all members of staff so they are aware of their good actions.

Looking forward for your return visit.

With our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelBookers, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.