We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Somerset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Another Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here from 29th Dec to 5th Jan and had another lovely holiday. The room, pools, facilities and staff are amazing. Breakfast was good, but buffet evening meals are average.
We love Madeira and would definitely choose this hotel again because
staff are helpful, warm and attentive
rooms well furnished, spacious and spotless
pools, jacuzzi and bar great
Location good - lovely walk into city or towards Camaras de Lobos - through the tunnels to a great chill out bar, where kids could play on ipads and we could listen to sea lapping the rocks and drink cheap cold beer

New Years fireworks awesome
Meal at Reids Palace - unforgettable and worth every penny this time
Cable Car to Monte - fab

We had our honeymoon in Madeira and are so glad we did because it is so beautiful and every time we return we feel like we are on honeymoon again!!

Thank you Pestana for another lovely holiday - The Jones Family xxxx

Room Tip: We had 501 right near reception, big, quiet 2 bathrooms, separate bedroom, fridge, spotlessly clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest


We would like to thank you for posting your review in TripAdvisor.

It is always a good feeling to receive such good and polite words, especially more pleasing in knowing that you are returned guests and in no way the service was any different from your first stay in our resort.

It is especially gratifying to know that the entire resort was up to your standards and that in no way has let you down.

We hope we may continue to provide you with good moments which you may treasure always.

With that in mind, we hope to have your presence again in the near future.

Presenting our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    223
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
167
575
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Pestana Promenade last week and had one of the most enjoyable relaxing holidays of our lives. The hotel is beautiful with extremely comfortable rooms and beautiful grounds. Staff in every department were excellent and total professionals. We did have one concern and this was very speedily resolved by the Front of House Manager.

Although the hotel is around 30 - 40 minutes walk from the centre of Funchal, 5 day bus tickets which are extremely reasonably priced are available at the Reception desk. In addition, staff will book excursions and when we asked about taking flowers back to the U.K., this was organised for us by Reception. They could not have been more helpful.

We will certainly be returning! Many thanks to all staff at the Pestana Promenade.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a full seaview room - the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for posting your review in TripAdvisor.

It is with great contentment to hear that you have enjoyed the most of your stay in our resort.

We will be sure to pass on the good remarks given in this review so to all staff to be aware that they are in the right path to exellence and to keep up with the good work.

We hope you may visit us in the future, as we will be delighted to welcome you back on a return visit.

Presenting our utmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose this hotel for our Christmas and New Years stay. Madeira overall was a wonderful experience and we feel as though staying here added to that experience. The hotel is not the most centrally located but this does mean that it feels very peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle. We also liked the fact that there was such a wide range of nice restaurants close by to be able to get lunch or dinner. The walk to central Funchal is not a difficult one and it is extremely safe, you never feel as though you are at risk of any harm coming to you. Breakfast at the hotel is probably not the greatest ever but there is enough for you to be able to pick and choose different things on different days. Especially enjoyed the waffles once that had been given an extra couple toastings, and Champagne for breakfast on Christmas Day and New Years Day were a nice touch, the staff in the restaurant are lovely and go out of their way to engage with the various families having breakfast, real difference makers.. The staff at the front desk were equally wonderful and were always willing to do the little extra to get your the help/information that you needed. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the internal jacuzzi is great. All in all this was a wonderful base for our first visit to Madeira and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the pool from your verandah area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you greatly for posting your review and support to Trip Advisor holidays reviews.

We are sure such comments conveyed concerning your stay will be entirely looked upon in order to keep up the good work.

We will undoubtedly convey your good and polite words to all staff so they may continue with the level of dedication and attention in their daily jobs and continue to exceed the expectations of all those who decide to visit us and gracious with your presence.

We hope you may vist us in the future.

Until then we present our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hotel is in a great location by the sea and a 40 minute walk to the centre of Funcal (5 minutes by bus) with many shops (including 2 supermarkets) and good restaurants on the doorstep. Staff were friendly and helpful at all times, great choice of food, fantastic pool and gardens.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank your for your recent visit to our country and Island and we are gratefull for providing us your travel experience.

It is with great hapiness, a sense of fulfillment and a small dose of relish that we become aware that you have truly enjoyed your stay in our resort.

We will be sure to forward such good comments provided to all members of staff so they are aware of their good actions.

Looking forward for your return visit.

With our kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcos de valdevez
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I spent a week on the promenade. The Staff at the reception is excellent. The hotel is magnificent. The view is breathtaking. You see the ocean. The indoor pool is good.
The air conditioning is noisy and leaves no sleep: I had to send off.
The room was never cleaned thoroughly. The maid left, the room always dirty with dust and hair. The same happened to the bathroom.
I had to take the sheets to the maid had to realize that the change would only stay a week with the same sheets.
The breakfast is very, very weak: the coffee is of poor quality, the kettles were not washed, the jams were of poor quality and very dirty bottles. The fruit was of poor quality, only knew the sugar and the bread was also very weak. The breakfast was frankly very weak.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your last visit to Pestana Promenade and to our Island.

It is by providing your travel experience that we may become aware what changes need to occur and in what points we must and belief to continue to excell.

Therefore we thank you for pointing out your experience in our resort and we safeguard that such less positive points will be evaluated so proper changes may be made in the future.

We hope you may visit us again in the future, insomuch we may set forth the good service and facilities that we are knowed for.

We present your kindest regards

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent hotel, big rooms, nice pool area, good breakfast. No coffee making facilties in the room. However, the biggest drawback was the restaurant and cafeteria services: the hotel does not offer cozy restaurant, pub, cafe or lobby, customers leave the building to find them elsewhere. The design of the existing "business style" restaurant is cold and unappealing, like an airport corridor.

Room Tip: Pool level was suprisingly nice: direct connection to sauna and pool through the terrace door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you your recent stay in our resort and for providing us your travel experience.

It is with great satisfaction to hear that your stay in Madeira Island and in our resort has been an enjoyable one.

We are delighted to receive your comments concerning your stay in your company.

Concerning the less good points, please rest assured such points will be fairly addressed.

We take the oportunity to inform that the resort provides in the rooms coffee and tea facilities, which may be required at the front office of the resort.

Presenting our uttmost regards and looking forward for your next visit.

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Pestana Promenade is located in Lido area, which is couple of kilometers from the center of Funchal. However, majority of newer hotels is in Lido area and there is a good bus connection to centre, so it doesn't really make difference. Hotel is new and modern. Our sea view room was good size and there was a kitchenette that was kind of surprise for us. Noise cancellation wasn't too good and you could even hear steps from other rooms and dark corridor. Luckily our neighbors where quiet kind, so it didn't matter. Pool is nice and it has a good view to sea. Breakfast was typical continental style but there seemed to be a bit lack of resources, which lead to some shortage in selection from time to time. As breakfast table was in a corner of the restaurant it lead quite a hassle when people tried to pass each other on way to there and back. Service behind the front desk was sometimes a bit slow and you even needed to wait someone to show up. In overall this is a good choice to stay in still. Stayed for 4 nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting this review and for your recent stay in our resort.
It is with great satisfaction to be aware that your stay in our Islnad and resort as been an enjoyable one, enabling you in the future the possibility to visit us again.

Concerning the minor points, we will pass on such comments for review so we may change if needed in the future.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.