We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madeira and the Pestana Promenade Hotel in January” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Storrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Madeira and the Pestana Promenade Hotel in January”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have visited Madeira before and find it to be one of the most peaceful and orderly places on the planet. It is certainly the tidiest country we have ever visited and the pride the population takes in their land and their own homes is truely admirable. We were there for the second week in January 2013 and were very fortunate with the weather - warm and sunny virtually every day, we came home relaxed and sun tanned! How cool is that when we returned to a snow covered West Sussex!

After much research and reading other Trip Advisor reviews, we chose the Pestana Promenade for our January winter sun holiday this year. We don't usually stay in these large characterless monster hotels but in the light of the reviews, we took the risk and were not disappointed.

It wins on customer service and the very caring but unobtrusive attitude of ALL the staff. Probably the best we have encountered in a large establishment. Everyone we spoke to was happy, with a ready smile, proud of their hotel and eager to help and answer any of our questions or problems. We were very impressed and congratulate the hotel manangement and its staff.

The hotel situation is delightful and we stayed on 7th Floor, with a perfect sea view. It is worth paying the extra for this, as the views are stunning.

Two criticsms:

1. Despite the very modern buiding and excellent design, the sound proofing between rooms is appalling; we could hear everything the couples were doing next door - and I mean everything....... Not good

2. The food was very bland; a critism that applies to just about the whole island. Breakfast was generous but the standard hotel buffet and just bland - everything was bland! You need to do lots of research to find good restaurants - which do exist but dont expect your taste buds to be tickled. In essence, you go to Madeira for the weather, the beauty and the walking, not the food.

Room Tip: 7th Floor with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent stay in our resort and for subtiming your review through this website.

We present our gratituide for such polite words and good comments.

Concerning the less remarkable points, we hereby assure you they will proper adressed so we may change in what is required.

We hope you may visit us in the future.

With this in mind, we present our uttmost regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    223
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
167
576
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stopped at the hotel for one week in early December 2012. From the moment we arrived I knew we had made a good choice. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and although we had arrived late in the evening, everything was perfect. The room was large and clean and comfortable. We had free use of a refridgerator and safe. Goodies were in the bathroom for use. The food during the week because the hotel was quiet consisted mainly of a la carte meals. These were delicious, well cooked and always hot. Waitress staff and maids were very particular about the service given. I liked the idea of choosing an employee of the month, and the fact that this is a family run hotel, run to a very high standard. Will be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Go for an upper sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for your recent stay in our resort and for taking your time in posting this review, enabling others in the future that wish to visit us to decide in doing so.

It is a excellent feeling to receive such good comments, it shows that we are on the right path to excellence and to a continuous give in of an great service.

Thank you for entrusting in us as the “Home” away from Home.

Presenting your kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at this superb hotel from 31st December to 7th January, all the staff were friendly, particularly the lady that did our room each day (1421) and the receptionist that showed us around the room on arrival. Unlike many London Hotels all the staff I spoke to understood English. The room had a great view of the sea and caught the sun from sunrise (guessing) to about 4.30pm (fact).
The new year dinner was excellent, but then I am a fan of lobster and fillet steak, and the arrangements made to see the fireworks by coach to the Pestana Casino Hotel was very well organised with rivers of champagne. I did offer to drive the coach back but the other passengers didn’t seem too keen on the idea.
We did walk into Funchal once, it’s about 40 minutes at a dawdle but a taxis is only 6 to 7 Euros, earlier comments said it took about 20 to 30 mins, they must have had the stamina of Mo Farah.
The weather was excellent (very warm) for 5 of hour days and cloudy for only 2.
The only advice I can give is at the airport, go through security but don’t go through passport control until called to do so, there is nothing on the other side of passport control other than a stuffy waiting area.
We will be going back for the next new year but then I prefer 21 in the shade to 5 in the sun.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you don't like the room, I didn't need to (room 1421)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your review in this Travel Review Website.

We are Thrilled that you have enjoyed the utmost of the New Year's in our company.

We will be sured to convey such good comments to all staff envolved, so they may be aware of their good work in this endeavour to achieve Excellence.

We sincerely hope you may visit us again in the future,

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early November 2012. Just our luck that the weather took a turn for the worst for our weeks B & B! However, you cannot blame the hotel for the weather so I'll get the negative points out first:
1) After arriving at the hotel we were last to be seen regarding checking in. This is generally a bad sign as the staff wish not to have a scene in front of other guests checking in. It turned out thet we had been double booked. By whom, we shall probably never know but I tried and succeeded in getting some compensation. The room we were given for two days (out of 7) was okay but didn't have a pool/sea view as paid for and there were no curtains on some windows so the public could see into our room (the hotel is like many others whereby it is built into the sloping terrain and the reception is on the third floor out at the front entrance).
The only other fault I could find was that there were only 2 lifts for the whole hotel. I think this needs to be changed as just about all guests moaned about the length of time they took to arrive. There was one floor dedicated to time share apartments but this didn't impact on the holiday.
One other point: The sauna and steam room are switched off at certain times of the day. I think the corridor to them should be taped off OR guests should be told by the indoor pool staff.
Good points:
2) We were offered 4 nights meal vouchers at the restaurant as compensation. We were also given robes (normally an extra charge) so that was acceptable as I didn't know if it was the booking agent or the hotel that had got it wrong. I cannot fault the staff, service, food or facilities. Happy hour bar great value for cocktails. Beautiful views over ocean and pool. Poolside very attractive with good planting. There was a promenade walkway along the coast either way with several restaurants dotted along. You could walk into Funchal and the harbour but it was a good 20 to 30 mins. There are many varied restaurants near the hotel, into town and many in town as well. There are big ocean liners in the harbour virtually every day but the passengers don't normally use the restaurants. Good markets and shopping in Funchal. Would definitely go back but in the Spring as I want to go on a sleigh ride! (they were too wet and dangerous to use when we were there due to the rain on the cobbles). Also want to see the rest of the island as it is beautiful for walking.

Room Tip: Book poolside and next two upper levels from poolside if possible. Avoid rooms overlooking car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting your review in this Travel Review Website.

We are overjoyed to know that you have had a good time in our beautifull Island and in our presence.

As for the downsides that you have came upon, we hereby inform that we will do our utmost to change in what is needed.

We will be looking forward for your return visit,

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Pestana Promenade is a quiet, good quality hotel in Lido area. There is an almost unnoticeable access to Lido Promenade and short distance to necessary services. All employees are very friendly and our room was big enough for two persons and big luggage's. View was almost perfect (I could have enjoined more sea) and pools swallow end was far enough (I love children, from a distance:-) The Spa is small, but at least during our stay there was enough capable resources. The restaurant isn't very cosy but there are lots of good restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you providing feedback in this travel review towards your travel experience in Madeira.

We are delighted to know that you have had an enjoyable stay where the facilities and level of committment of our staff were up to your standards.

We will be looking forward to welcome you again, until then we will do our best to keep up the good work and improve more and more in what may be needed.

With our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed at hotels throughout the world, the Pestana will always feature at the top of the list
for quality,standards,service and attension to detail.I had one small problem when checking in with regard to the veiw from the room this was soon resolved by the guy on reception and the porter without any extra cost.
On Christmas eve to my suprise Thomson gave their guest a complimentary dinner,this followed a excellent Madeira childrens choir who entertained the guest for an hour.
Being a lone traveller I met some really nice people at the bar in the evening,thanks also to Loise in the cocktail bar for his prompt service (my nomination for employee of the month)
I would also like to thank Happy Tours for arranging my three trips East ,West and Nuns valley tours if you want to find out the history of the island dont miss these super days out.
Once again thanks to the management at the Pestana for such a pleasant Christmas

Room Tip: My room was on the ground floor advantages short walk to the sun loungers,pool and spa centre disadv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for posting this travel review in TripAdvisor.

We are overwhelmed by your kind words in regards to featuring Group Pestana in the top of the list for “quality, standards, service and attention to detail”

We will be sured to continue to keep up the high standards and excellent level of service and attention.

Looking forward to welcome you back again in Madeira,

For now we present our kindest regards,

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Schweiz
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent one week at Pestana Promenade in July 2012. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Food, service, friendliness of all employees, location, interior design and architecture, live music at night, pools and gardens: It could not have been better.

We felt also very welcome with our two little daughters. Even when my daughter painted the wall they did not get upset, the wall was clean again two hours after. The pools are perfect for little children and even for babies as it is very warm. They also have one pool with floating armchairs inside, which was funny and special.

I hope to be back one day. Thanks for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaPromenade, Front Office at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for the support in posting such travel experience in this travel review site.

It is with great pride and high level of satisfaction that we become aware that you stay in our resort has been to your level of requirement.

We will be sure to give awareness to all the staff to keep up the good work, as it assured by you review that committment, stamina and a good working environment always rewards those who make this as a life's motto.

We hope you may visit us again in the future, we will be delighted to welcome you again

Until then we present our kindest regards.

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia, 31, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.